We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay in the New Forest” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay in the New Forest”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

Just returned from the Forest Park Hotel and have to concur with a number of earlier reports. Very overpriced and we paid extra for a so called Premier Room! The hotel is looking very sad and in desperate need of updating both from the outside as well as the interior e.g. paint peeling off and a general run down feel throughout. Our room was shabby and dirty, the bathroom came direct from the 1970's with a smell that has to be experienced to be believed ! The bathroom was a cupboard in the corner of the room with poor facilities and no lock on the door ! Unlikely to recommend this hotel and certainly would not return. In its favour the staff were polite and breakfast was of a good standard.

  • Liked — Very little but staff pleasant
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManofKent2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    186
    107
    74
    79
See reviews for
128
275
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

Had two nights at the Forest Park Hotel. Food was superb with an excellent choice.

Accommodation very good and the service was faultless.

Best cream tea ever with warm scones which was supplied in the afternoon free within the price.

Situation was good for exploring all the wonderful sights that the New forest has to offer and did see a deer in the grounds of the hotel, just once.

Also they welcome dogs and their owners!

Mr & Mrs G Fleming

  • Liked — The situation and the good food and good service
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiefleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

The hotel was in a great location for walking in the New Forest. It is right on the edge of the walk to Lyndhurst. Our room was very comfortable and kept clean and tidy for the duration of our stay. My only comment was that there was only a shower and no both - after a hard day's walk I would have liked to have a long hot bath (but that's my fault for not specifying my preference on the booking and the other rooms were full).

The hotel rooms look over either the forest or the grounds - ours looked over the grounds which I imagine would be very nice in the summer. We ate in the restaurant each night and the service was very good. the food wasn't anything special but was pleasant and a reasonable choice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

What a wonderful hotel!!

We had Room 102, on the ground floor, with french doors that opened out into the garden.

Was very worried after I read the reviews, and was wondering what we were letting ourselves in for, but all in all a super little hotel, staff very attentive (although some did have difficulty understanding English).

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank berkspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

i came from italy and was very scared by others bad reviews, almost willing to cancel the booking. on the contrary we (two young married couples) spent 4 fantastic days in august . the place is wonderful. the hotel is old and it's obviosusly a little tired in some parts, but it's greatly fascinating. i must add that staff, rooms and food were great. so what else needed for a very reasonable price?

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank oronzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

Booked by internet having read all the reviews but not finding anything with the same value/location combo. Had to smile when we were duly alloted .... you guessed it Room 22! Well I like to find out things for myself and yes, this room does get noise from the reception (in the morning) and to some lesser extent the bar in the evening. We found the bar closed at 11pm so not really an issue and if you go to the New Forest to lie in bed in the morning, you'll miss a great bacon and egg breakfast and time out in the great outdoors. Yes the decor is old but I wouldn't say it was dirty and the room is very big and regal with high ceilings and a large window. Nice view of the garden but similarly everyone can see in so if you are a bit of an exhibitionist you will get plenty of opportunity.
We rented bikes, spent a fortune on french cuisine (elsewhere) and had a thoroughly good time.
Go for it!

  • Liked — Outdoor pool
  • Disliked — Needs a lick of paint
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Trippertastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

We booked this hotel for one night and whilst it is in a good location the external appearance was an immediate concern, peeling paint and a generally poor state. Our room was also far from suitable, curtains hanging off rails, stains on the carpet, mildew round the bath, noisey water pipes and an extremely hard and uncomfortable bed and furniture that was also tired and tatty. This was a premier room for which we had paid an additional fee. On the plus side the staff were very helpul and the food was adequate and enjoyable. We spoke to Mr C; the manager who excepted our concerns, he also reduced our bill for DB&B by £20 To £169 for one night. We all agreed that the hotel needed a major refurbishment and if this was achieved this could be an excellent hotel in a very good location. In the meantime a thorough clean and tidy would be very beneficial.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Poor state of room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pipGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing