We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Overnight Stay”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having read some of the comments prior to arriving this weekend (5th Oct) we were not sure what to expect. It was a very busy weekend due to the Cycling even being held and as we booked very late our choice was somewhat limited.

We were welcomed at reception by a very nice young lady who was polite and efficient. Our room was on the ground floor with a patio door onto the garden terrace. Yes there were areas that really needed some redecoration but our room was clean, spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was really nice to have the door open as the weather was great.

We went out for dinner but returned to the hotel to find there was entertainment on in the bar with a lot of people in there having a great time, we had a drink in there and really enjoyed the entertainment.

Slept well, our package was for a Continental Breakfast, it was a little disorganised but there was a reasonable choice, it would have been nice to have some cold meats and cheese but in essence, it was fine.

I am sure once the new owners get to grips with the decor and maintenance of the hotel it will make a huge difference. In a lovely position with a glorious garden. Very polite staff too

Room Tip: We had room 101, we thought the room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarediamond20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    193
    109
    76
    80
See reviews for
130
284
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had supper in the restaurant with friends last Friday. Great to see that the new owners are making all sorts of changes to bring the Hotel back to it's former cosy and friendly standard. Staff very friendly, good food, and a reasonable bill. Welcome back Forest Park!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mummyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch, doing a recce for friends. Stunning location but the whole place feels tired, run down and in urgent need of a major refurbishment. It deserves it, it has practically limitless potential. Ate in the bar, which was deserted at lunch time, had to wait for staff to appear. Food was very average indeed. Unable to recommend to our friends sadly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Malco68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were attending a wedding nearby so booked a double room in this hotel for one night at the price of 85 pounds, and it's a good thing it wasn't pre paid because we did certainly not pay the full amount on departure.

The reception area was unkempt and untidy with all the filing cabinets and paperwork in full view from the other side of a counter, we however were promptly served by a nice, friendly receptionist and given the key card to our room. As we had checked in after the wedding ceremony we were in a rush to get to the reception so went quickly upstairs to drop our bags off in the room and leave to join the party. Upon walking in the room it was clear that it was only going to go down hill from here. I would have not sat anywhere or placed any of my belongings on the chairs or the floor because they were filthy and covered in stains, luckily the the bed sheets were clean so sitting on the bed was the only option. My boyfriend and I looked at each other and considered complaining there and then, but as aforementioned we wanted to get to the wedding reception and accepted we had just got a 'bad egg' in regards to the state of the hotel and it was only for 'one night'.

We left there and then and met some of our friends who were also staying in the hotel. To which we discussed it with them and they had said their rooms were not 'that bad'. We went on to the wedding and had a great time, only upon coming back to the hotel late in the evening did we properly inspect our friends hotel rooms, which seemed to be newly refurbished and in good order. The real kick in the teeth is that we then discovered they were paying 10 pounds less for exactly the same standard double room, and their room was clearly in much better condition.

We then returned to the room and inspected further, to list the problems:
- The bed sheets did not fit the bed properly.
- Stains everywhere on the carpets and the chairs.
- Only hot water came out of any of the taps.
- No kettle in the room, although there was the base of where a kettle once was.
- Wallpaper peeling off every single wall.
- Poo in the toilet on arrival.
- Bedside lights did not work.
- Decor extremely dated and drab.
- Cob webs and dust everywhere.

All of this, plus the fact that some of the other rooms seemed to be in better condition and cost less than ours left us feeling very annoyed, but it was now too late to say anything at reception so we decided to leave our complaints for the morning.

Then at 4.00am it was finally the last straw when we were both suddenly awoken by the boiler, which seemed to be placed in a room that was locked between the bathroom and bedroom. Extremely loud and consistent gushing noises which were impossible to sleep through, even for my partner who seems to be able to sleep through anything usually. After nearing 40 minutes of this noise we decided to call the night porter and ask to be moved to another room, which we were granted on the other side of the hotel. Finally after we got a couple more hours sleep we decided to approach the reception area on check out, to which they were expecting us as we had told the night porter we would be having a conversation in the morning.

I cannot fault the staff on their apologies, as they were very accommodating at this point and we did receive a large discount on the room and they apologised profusely. It seemed as though this situation had happened before, which begs the question of why they would let guests in the room if it was in such bad condition. I've stayed in my fair share of hotels, high end and also lower end such as premier inn or travel lodge, at least they are clean. We have also stayed in hostels in Europe which were cheaper and better condition than this '3 star hotel'.

In conclusion this is probably the worst room I have ever had to stay in at a hotel, I will not be returning any time soon, not even for one night. I suggest if you want to stay here then you should pre request a room which has been refurbished as to avoid staying in one like we had.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGS1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Nestled in the lovely New Forest village of Brockenhurst, the Forest Park Hotel has history and character. The mock Tudor building was built in the late 19th century as a vicarage and served as a military hospital for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps soldiers during the First World War. The interior has retained much of its olden features and charm and has a wide staircase with tasteful period prints lining the walls. My room was large with a high ceiling and looked out on the peaceful scene of the large hotel lawn over to the Forest beyond. The furniture was solid wood with plenty of storage space. The room was very clean and the ensuite was shiningly so, The girls at reception were very friendly and efficient and extremely helpful.
For those reasons I would return.
It took me a long time to fractionally adjust the two shower taps to get the temperature somewhere – anywhere – between scalding and freezing and, despite the high ceiling, the shower head is fixed to the wall at such a height that anyone much taller than my 5’7” would have to stoop to shower. The mattress was one of the hardest I have ever slept on which resulted in an uncomfortable and very disturbed sleep all night and a sore back next day. There were no coffee/tea facilities in the room for my morning coffee. Breakfast is from 8.00 to 9.30, an earlier start and later finish than other hotels I have stayed at, and while these hours might be fine for guests who are there for a morning trek through the Forest, they are not so fine for someone who was at a birthday bash the previous evening.
For those reasons I will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Gentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I recently had the pleasure of a 3 night stay at the Forest Park Hotel in Brockenhurst. This hotel is in the New Forest and the location is great for enjoying walks to shopping, restaurants and the open spaces to view all the free ranging horses, donkeys, cows etc.. The food at the hotel is excellent - the dining room and the pub. There is a beautiful garden where one can relax with a book and coffee. I highly recommend this hotel for your next visit to this area of beautiful England.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Having just spent a very pleasant couple of days at the Forest Park Hotel I would say that it is a shame that so many people find fault. Yes there were things that needed attention but to be fair the new owners have taken on a very run down property and are working very hard to improve things. The room we had had been refurbished and overlooked the garden which was very nice. The armchairs were a bit shabby and the shower hose did not fit into the holder so it had to be a hand held one and the taps on the wash basin would not fully turn off which meant quite a wastage of water. All that said the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the meals were good. There were no tea making facilities in the room but on request a tray was brought up at no extra charge. It is a place that I would return to give it a year for refurbishment to be completed as the location is ideal for the 'Forest' feel and only a 10-15 minute walk to Brockenhurst Village.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
776 reviews
6.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
New Park Manor
New Park Manor
#9 of 11 in Brockenhurst
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK and HRS so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing