We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable charature hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable charature hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is till being smartened up, nearly there. My single room was comfortable, congruent with the feel an older character hotel, spacious enough, view to the forest, nice bath after a long days walking. Food very good, especially the local wild mushrooms; restaurant, lounge and breakfast room all lovely settings overlooking gardens. One major downside there was no heating! Supplied with a heater for my room so warm enough there, a log fire in the foyer but it was a bit chilly in the rest of the hotel. Location excellent for walking and exploring from the door the south and south east parts of the Forest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    190
    109
    74
    79
See reviews for
129
278
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Went away with my mum and 2 dogs , We were welcomed by a roaring fire as we walked through the door and pumpkins as it was Halloween , lovely friendly staff on reception who explained everything and offered to help with our belongings. We had a ground floor room no 104 which was on the end of the building so nice and quiet. We had double doors out on to the gorgeous gardens which are brilliant to let the dogs out for a run and go to the toilet, dog bins provided , Rooms lovely and clean décor was old fashioned but appropriate for the building.Clean fresh cotton sheets very comfortable beds. We had fresh towels everyday and tea and coffee refilled.We got a good deal on late rooms with continental breakfast included , this was nice warm croissants , fresh fruit, toast and cereals. Hot food available to order. Looking through the pictures on here I would say don't let them put you off it has been updated .

Room Tip: if taking dogs take towels s carpets cream
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This cosy hotel is really worth a visit.My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights .When you walk in , you are greeted by a lovely open fire.The staff are very helpful and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. They are also dog friendly having a few rooms on the ground floor for people who want to go walking in the forest with their dogs.Like previous comments, it does need a lick of paint, but that will soon be sorted. If you eat while you are there(which I recommend you do), the raspberry cheesecake is a must!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davekarenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Booked last minute ahead of Wiggle 100 New Forest Autumn cycle ride via booking.com and after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.

In short, our stay was comfortable, clean and without any dramas. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful; but it is clear as stated in other reviews that the hotel is undergoing some change. This is due to the last group owners leaving the property to run down with little investment; and as such the new owner (a local person I believe) is now going about setting things right.

So if you're happy with a little wear and tear, not the latest modcons - which we were and somewhere that's child friendly, good value and in a fabulous location to explore the wonderful New Forest - then look no further.

Refurb will take sometime and adjacent land had been sold to develop two properties, the proceeds of which will be reinvested into restoring the hotel to it's former glory. So give them a chance and your custom.

Room Tip: We had the top floor family room, 33 or 35 (sorry memory!), great size with double, two single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noakesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night for a wedding, and the hotel was everything we needed. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, arranging for housekeeping to clear the room first thing so that we could check in early. We also had no problem in returning to the hotel late in the evening. The room was spacious, airy, clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep in the double bed. Some people have said the decoration is tired or dated; I can't say that this affected the enjoyment of our stay one bit. The lady on reception did mention that they will be renovating and redecorating the hotel soon anyway.
Continental breakfast was provided and was filling enough, although full English breakfast or similar options did cost extra. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were also perfectly adequate. Overall the hotel was perfect for an overnight stay or weekend break in the New Forest, situated minutes from Brockenhurst. We took a taxi from the station to the hotel for speed's sake, but the walk back into the village on a clear autumn day was delightful.
I wouldn't hestitate to recommend this place, the price was very competitive amongst hôtels in Brockenhurst, the staff were incredibly helpful and for a short stay it really had everything you could need.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The reception staff were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. When I mentioned that the parking spaces were full, she offered to move her's to the road- even friends do not do that! Another member of reception saw me near the breakfast room and remembered a wedding I attended the day before and stopped in her tracks, on the way somewhere, to ask how it was. The breakfast was too carb-heavy. Usually a continental breakfast includes sone sort if cheese or cold meats to make up for the lack of inclusive cooked breakfast. Room was dated but very large. Carpet felt new and cosy. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would be keen to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having read the reviews before leaving for the New Forest, we wondered what we were going to ,first impressions , the outside, it does look a bit tired ,but upon entering the hotel the new owners have made a good job of the public areas, nicely done and inviting ,we were booked for two nights stay and on the first evening we were lucky enough to meet and talk to the new owner and his really friendly family who are local to Brockenhurst and have great plans for this hotel ,our room was no14 , it is in need of some minor work but was pleasant and comftable , all in all a great place to stay .
The staff are a credit to the hotel and will do all they can to make your stay a pleasant one .
We did make use of the bar and had a loverly meal and a few drinks which for a hotel was very well priced.
Considering the sort of clientele who use this hotel located right in the heart of the New Forest ,ie bike riders ramblers etc , we feel it represents value for money .
We will be back !! Can't wait to see all the improvements .

Room Tip: Toward the back overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Superbreak UK so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing