We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woucher Deal Break for two nights”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked two rooms on a woucher deal which was fantastic value. After reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive about the ongoing work that was being done but when we arrived we were greeted by a really lovely receptionist that made us feel so welcome, it could not have been a better start to our break. We stayed at the back of the hotel In rooms 102 and 103 with doors straight into the garden...very clean and comfortable with lovely views...shower is a great power shower and the water was very hot all the time we were there...we ate in the bar the first night and the food was great. The hotel was full and had a great atmosphere but not too loud you had lots of seating lounge areas to relax. There is work that needs to be done and is being done but this did not hamper our stay in the slightest. The breakfast is fantastic plenty of choice hot and cold and the American gentleman serving us was a delight. The hotel is in a fantastic position and has great walks and other local pubs in the area. I would recommend this hotel and will be back..the staff are lovely and the whole experience was just what we needed comfort and relaxation. Thanks so much to the staff and owners who are doing a fantastic job...the hotel will only get better

Room Tip: Book the back of the hotel...lovely views and really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTPManagement, Front Office Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hello Maria R.

Thank you for your very kind review and recommendation.
I am glad you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and the food in the bar in the evening and our wonderful breakfast! I have passed on all your comments to the owners and the rest of the team and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Before I go further I should say that we had a voucher deal for two night stay so paid about half the going rate. So no complaints from that point of view.
The hotel has several things going for it including a lovely setting in the middle of the New Forest, very helpful staff and good food. However it is desperately in need of refurbishment and small changes could make a big difference. For example making sure the floral display in the hall is not dead, removing the abandoned mock Jacobean furniture strewn in random fashion in the corridor outside our room and planting a few spring bulbs in the flower beds outside to cheer the garden up. Our room was large and quiet, looking out over the garden. It was also very, very tired. Ditto the bathroom where the loo seat was wonky, extractor fan burnt out and shaving light not working. There was also no toilet brush. Both the bathroom and bedroom were clean however. I mentioned the bathroom faults to reception and when we got back the loo seat had been tightened, the light bulbs were "on order" (quick trip to B&Q ?) and there was nothing to be done about the extractor fan until the bathroom is refurbished.
The hotel seems stuck in a 1960s time warp, although the dining area has been refurb end and is pleasant. The main Foresters Bar was also friendly and pub like with some friendly locals and their dogs using it.
In conclusion, for what we paid we do not feel ripped off especially as the staff were so nice but I would proceed with caution until the place is fully refurbished.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank R0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Got voucher for afternoon tea. Lovely lounge and helpful staff. Loads of tea. Nice sandwiches and cake. Not masses of it but full up just the same! Lovely view of garden. Not much parking as carpark seemed to have work going on. Right in the forest

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Saffydaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTPManagement, Front Office Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi SaffyDaffy.
Thanks for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and our beautiful surroundings of the garden and the New Forest right on our doorstep.
I hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm Regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a perfectly OK hotel, but you get what you pay for. The location is very good for the New Forest and walks are available direct from the hotel. The restaurant is good but not very imaginative and the bar feels more like a saloon bar in an urban pub. The whole place desperately needs refurbishment and updating. But the staff are good and there is a sort of old world English charm about it. We would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erskinemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTPManagement, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Erskinemay

Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you liked the location and the access to some of the great forest walks available in Brockenhurst ,Our refurbishment plan will be on going, so on your next visit I hope you will be pleased with the improvements

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We visited the hotel on Friday for Afternoon Tea, after a long walk in the forest.It was a birthday treat for our friend.The hotel is old and full of character and very charming and is undergoing modernisation.There was a wonderful smell from the log fire in the hallway and a very friendly greeting from the man on reception.I ordered a bottle of fizz which arrived as the birthday girl sat down,a selection of sandwiches,warm scones,jam and thick cream,carrot cake and lemon cake were clearly homemade and superb,an excellent chef without a doubt ! Lots of tea and coffee.We sat on sofas overlooking the garden,the lounge is ready for a make over but it's comfy and homely,we had excellent friendly service and a superb afternoon tea,we couldn't eat it all so they put the leftover cake in a bag for my friend to take home,thank you,we'll be back 10/10 .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTPManagement, Front Office Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Jenny L,

Thanks for your excellent review and visiting us for Afternoon Tea!
Glad yourselves & the birthday girl enjoyed the afternoon. I will pass your comments on to our Chef & the staff who will be delighted!
Kind Regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers great value for money with very reasonable rates, excellent food, friendly helpful staff in a wonderful location. The hotel may be in need of some modernisation but it's very charming and full of character unlike some soulless hotels I've stayed in. The room was clean, a very comfortable bed, huge bathroom and just so relaxing. This was a second stay here and it won't be the last!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emski777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTPManagement, Front Office Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hello Emmjfell,


Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the atmosphere & character of the hotel and had a relaxing stay with us.
I look forward to seeing you again!
Kind Regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I returned to the Forest Park for a one night stay, choosing on price only, and was interested to see how the new management had progressed since my last visit. Overall it is clear that some of the previous issues with the state of the property had been addressed, but they still have quite a bit to do. There is building work going on that has meant much reduced parking, but there is also evidence of a new broom and improvement.

My first issue was booking on the website - screen does not show all fields that need to be completed without zooming in and nowhere that I could see to advise that I was bringing a dog. On arrival the receptionist was less than engaging and not very forthcoming. Our room was one of the older ground floor ones and shows its age, but clean and comfortable. Bit offputting though to have a bathroom plastered with notices (the same one three times screaming at me to use the toilet responsibly). There was no hotel details in the room; we had to seek out a bar menu for ourselves.
Breakfast was good, apart from the chef spoiling the sauté potatoes and mushrooms with an unnecessary blanket of salt. Service prompt and cheerful.

Would I go again? At current prices it offers good value but I suspect once renovations are complete these will fall back in line with other New Forest establishments and I doubt that the Forest Park will be able to complete on quality alone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTPManagement, General Manager at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your review, We apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay and we will do our upmost to rectify those issues, as you are aware it is work in progress, with regards to our room rates I would hope they will always reflect good value money and stay inline with seasonal changes and our competitors, I am sure we will be in touch with a great offer for you in the near future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,119 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
841 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,704 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £48 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing