We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs a lot of work”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 21 August 2014

if this place was refurbished to its full potential it would be double the price! As it is they have work going on but if you accept that and are prepared to put up with substandard plumbing and an average menu you won't be disappointed. I wasn't, I read the reviews and their managements honest replies and that's exactly how it was.

The location is fantastic if you like to walk in the forest.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the huge garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The people working at this hotel are very interested in making your stay enjoyable, the food is good but the dishes are not ambitious, but it's location in the middle of the New Forest is excellent for cyclists and walkers. The hotel changed hands a year ago and a big refurbishment of the rooms is scheduled for early 2015, this is really necessary but it is still worth a visit now.

Room Tip: Only used 1 room so not qualified to comment but was told that the hotel would shut in the New Year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Tonight we were tempted by the 241 main course deal offered in conjunction with Gates of Brockenhurst.
The first courses were good. The Cajun chicken I ordered was very dry and after getting my husband to taste I sent it back. The waiter told me that the chef had checked it and it was fine but he was sorry if it was not to my taste! I asked him if he or the chef had tasted it and of course they had not. I am sorry that our opinion, having tasted is worth less than the staff who did not
He still charged the same and failed to understand my problem and went on arguing until I left.
Very poor understanding of customer service.
tan

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Purple_J_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we just stayed the one night and given previous reviews were a bit uncertain. However we were given a lovely bright spacious room on the ground floor at the back (no 2) overlooking a beautiful garden. Granted the decor was slightly dated, (and it could really do with a new shower curtain) but everything was clean. It could do with some areas refurbishing, but it more that makes up for it with the location. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast which I thought was a tad expensive at £12.50- but I think it was probably the going rate for hotels in the area. We didn't dine there as we were meeting family elsewhere. It has the potential to be a great place

Room Tip: room 2 ground floor overlooking the garden- large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nortongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely reception on arrival an idyllic location a lovely family run hotel under new management where nothing was too much trouble. Food was superb lots and lots highly recommended. We look forward to returning very soon thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you are the sort of person who requires corporate conformity and slick but impersonal service, then this is not the place for you. We have just spent eight wonderful days at this comfortable, friendly and beautifully located hotel and will be returning there in the very near future. True, the hotel is under relatively new management and is undergoing a programme of refurbishment and upgrading - but this does not mean that the rooms are currently awful. They are far from it, especially the elegant and airy rooms in the older part of the building - we stayed in a lovely clean room which overlooks the beautiful gardens, The bathroom was perfectly serviceable.
The food at the Forest Park is very good and represents great value in this expensive part of the country. It is served by staff for whom nothing is too much trouble and who addressed us by name by the end of the second day. We would like to thank the management and staff for our wonderful, restful break. See you all in October!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank warksteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a Wowcher deal paying £120 for two people for 2 nights B&B including cream tea on the second day. Which represents excellent value for money for the New Forest. On arrival we were duly informed we were saving half price.

On seeing our rooms our hearts sunk. The room had stained walls and were in desperate need of redecorating. The bathroom was large but old. It was obviously made for disabled people with a horrible wall in shower with a mildewy shower curtain which stuck to you. The bathroom needed to be redone but served its function for the visit. On the bright side everything was clean and the bed was comfy.

The rest of the hotel was lovely and beautifully decorated. The staff were friendly and happy to help. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice.

The cream tea was scummy and it was really nice to eat this out in the large gardens.

We also had dinner at the hotel which was brilliant value (£30 for two for 2 courses and a glad of wine).

Room aside I would throughly recommend this hotel as the staff and service were friendly but thoroughly professional. Judging by the other lovely rooms I would like to think they are getting round to renovating the bedrooms. If they do this I would happily give 5 stars.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,105 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,683 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £59 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing