We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay, clean, comfortable, very cosy, 100% customer care”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay, clean, comfortable, very cosy, 100% customer care”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay, lovely room, 106 1st floor, large bay window overlooking garden at back. Quality furnishings, fabulous clean bed and bedding, plenty of hot water for baths and showers, this was a standard double, but had room for desk, chest of drawers, wardrobe and two comfortable chairs to enjoy the view. Food was good, lots of fruit for breakfast, warm fresh pastries - haddock, kippers!

Service 100% - everyone was so friendly and helpful, a really pleasant, easygoing atmosphere.

This is an old fashioned, comfortable, country hotel where wellies and boots are acceptable, families welcome - there is a cosy reception, bar and lounge with scrabble and other games, for rainy days, overlooking the garden.

The location is wonderful, can walk into the forest - 2 minutes at front, Brockenhurst station 15 minute walk, country pubs nearby and Brockenhurst village 10 minute walk. Some minor parts of the hotel do require updating, but if you can overlook these, it is a great place to stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satyrinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    192
    109
    76
    80
See reviews for
129
284
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ash Patel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2009

1. Room - good size, but dated and not very clean. The bathroom was awful (dirty and very dated). Nice big bed, large windows ensured a light and airy room. Hotel has a swimming pool, but considering the state of the bathroom we chose not to use it.

2. Location was excellent only a few minutes walk into Brockenhurst.

3. Some parking outside the front of the hotel, other parking available around the back of the neighboring stables - not much help really

4. Breakfast was good, didn't eat dinner at the hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Patel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Had a great stay in this hotel. Lovely bar with very friendly locals. Our room had two flat screen TV's, plenty of room and the cleanest bathroom. In fact the only hotel I have stayed in with out any mould around the shower/bath is the Bath Spa Hotel other than this one. We enjoyed this place so much I have just booked another weekend in March.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

I visited here with friends as a weekend base to visit the New Forest.
Our room was clean and well furnished, including a plasma TV, and the bed was large and comfortable enough for a decent night's sleep. From my friends' descriptions and reading other reviews, I get the feeling that the layout of individual rooms is fairly heterogeneous.
We ate in the restaurant our first night and the food was average from a rather dated menu. The buffet breakfast, however, was much better and I would definitely recommend taking the opportunity to fuel up for a day's walking.
The decor of the hotel is best described as faded charm, with the many period pieces and artworks dotted about conjuring up a lost scene of pre-war opulence: you'll probably either love it or hate it.
The main problem we found with the hotel was the poor level of service by the reception desk. As an example, we booked a taxi in the morning to take us that evening to a local restaurant. We were told it he had been booked both in the morning and in the evening 30 minutes before it was due - only to discover that it hadn't been. There were similar other unnecessary niggles faced by our group during our stay.
In conclusion, it's worth staying here if you like period-style hotels and won't need to rely on the reception desk during your stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Reception
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoxenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Just returned from a weekend in this hotel, it has a superb location and good friendly staff, although all of an eastern european origin.

The hotel is badly in need of a refurbishment with the paintwork being in a particularly poor state of repair, with a little care and attention this could be a great little hotel.

We had room 106 on the first floor which was clean and comfortable but showing signs of wear and tear. The main problem was with the shower which went from being cold to scalding hot (literally) with the minutest change to the hot water tap (it couldn't be controlled by the cold water tap), this could be a problem for children.

We ate in the hotel both nights and found the food very good, the main bar is cosy and is well used by locals and had a TV where I could watch the rugby (sorry dear).

When we left we asked for a vistor feedback form but was told that they didn't have any and that although they used to have a visitor comments book it is no longer available as children used to draw in it.

  • Liked — The localtion
  • Disliked — The smell oif wet dog
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. Were really impressed by the family room (No.33). It was large, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Nice selection of tea, coffee, biscuits to make you feel welcome and large fluffy towls. Bathroom was spotless. We looked out onto the lovely gardens and pool. Staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is situated in the heart of the New Forest and a lovely base, just a few minutes walk into the village of Brockenhurst. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Just returned from the Forest Park Hotel and have to concur with a number of earlier reports. Very overpriced and we paid extra for a so called Premier Room! The hotel is looking very sad and in desperate need of updating both from the outside as well as the interior e.g. paint peeling off and a general run down feel throughout. Our room was shabby and dirty, the bathroom came direct from the 1970's with a smell that has to be experienced to be believed ! The bathroom was a cupboard in the corner of the room with poor facilities and no lock on the door ! Unlikely to recommend this hotel and certainly would not return. In its favour the staff were polite and breakfast was of a good standard.

  • Liked — Very little but staff pleasant
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManofKent2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing