We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locationwise Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Locationwise Perfect”
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We stayed here on a last minute booking, and after reading some of the bad reviews i was a bit sceptical of how the weekend was going to go..

To be fair the hotel is dated, very dated in places. The bathroom in our room was a mix of shocking tiles and terribly dated suite and fittings. the room was very large and had everything you'd need although the decor here was also a few decades behind, with pipework boxed in all over the room, and therefore the constant sound of water running through the pipes day and night.

That said. We really enjoyed our trip to the newforest. All the staff we encountered were happy polite and helpful, everything was clean and tidy, and the service and breakfast was excellent.
The location is great you're right on the edge of the town with the small town centre an easy stroll away for local shops and pubs. whilst your far enough away to hear no road traffic of a night. and you can also walk straight into the new forest, with all the horses, dear, cows and the odd pig just a gentle stroll away..
A perfect location to explore the forest, which is really why you've come to visit the area !?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaze79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    190
    109
    73
    79
See reviews for
129
278
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My husband and I decided to have a short trip away in the new forest with our two and a half year old daughter. He chose this hotel on the internet due to its location. Having not been to this part of the country before we were very pleasantly surprised. We had three very busy days, including a 17 mile bike ride through the forest recommended by the hotel staff, and we also took our daughter to Paultons park which is an expensive day out but well worth it. After our busy days my husband and i relaxed in the beautiful hotel gardens whilst our daughter roamed around very contentedly taking in all the suroundings including deer coming into the garden one morning!

The staff were all very friendly and the food was fantastic, we chose to eat in the bar each night and our daughter was very well catered for! Very good selection of food and the breakfast was superb!

The only critism I have to add is I feel the rooms need updating. (we stayed in room 28 overlooking the garden). Damp patches were on the walls and the furniture abit shabby. Lastly the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned to the standard they should have with hairs found in the bath and sweet wrappers on the floor behind the bathroom door.

However, overall a lovely stay and great for kids and we would return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentCamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Although not the fanciest hotel I have stayed in the Forest Park Hotel is welcoming and convenient. The huge plus for me was that I could take my dog with me. I let them know I would be bringing the dog before we got there and when we arrived they gave us a room with patio doors straight onto the garden and a dog basket and waterbowl had been left for our use.

As it was March and had been raining it was quite muddy so I would advise anyone to take plenty of towels for wiping muddy feet as the carpet was quite light in the room.

We had room service while we were there for dinner as the dog was not keen on being left alone and the food was very nice. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the weather over the weekend was kind to us on Saturday and Sunday we had dry sunny weather.

The staff were very nice at the hotel and I would thoroughly recommend the Tall Trees Trail about 2 miles from the hotel which was beautiful. Overall a thoroughly good weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Lovely rooms, (105 & 107) clean and spacious overlooking the garden . Had to turn the heating down and open the window and this in November. The reason for our stay was a weekend break to enjoy the New Forest location. We ate in the restaurant, the food was fab, the service very good, attentive but not intrusive. We finished off the evening in the little bar beside reception with a few drinks. Very pleasant indeed. I hope they don't refurbish this little gem of a hotel, it may ruin its ambiance and character.
We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PO33816X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Stayed 2 nights here in October on a special Autumn Forest break including a talk and 2 organised walks in the Forest (but the second walk wasn't in Forest at all it was at New Milton on the coast!) The hotel is pleasant but the decor especially in the bedrooms is very tired and in need of a complete refurb and had it been any colder the electric room heaters would not be adequate. The food was good and the service friendly and helpful.The walk was good and the leaders very interesting about the Forest, but it was a shame we had to drive from the hotel to the start of the walks even though we were right in middle of the forest! The pub lunch on the Saturday at the Sir Walter Tyrell was a marathon...but that deserves a separate review...A good weekend but not one I would repeat here. Allowing pets is NOT a plus for me when a dog in next room starts barking...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalDude2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Our family stayed at the Forest Park to de-stress after the anxiety of children's exams. We had a wonderful relaxing time exploring the joys of the forest on foot and horseback which the reception staff kindly helped us to arrange. Our rooms were cozy and spacious and the hotel food both in the restaurant and the bar was superb.
We will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay, lovely room, 106 1st floor, large bay window overlooking garden at back. Quality furnishings, fabulous clean bed and bedding, plenty of hot water for baths and showers, this was a standard double, but had room for desk, chest of drawers, wardrobe and two comfortable chairs to enjoy the view. Food was good, lots of fruit for breakfast, warm fresh pastries - haddock, kippers!

Service 100% - everyone was so friendly and helpful, a really pleasant, easygoing atmosphere.

This is an old fashioned, comfortable, country hotel where wellies and boots are acceptable, families welcome - there is a cosy reception, bar and lounge with scrabble and other games, for rainy days, overlooking the garden.

The location is wonderful, can walk into the forest - 2 minutes at front, Brockenhurst station 15 minute walk, country pubs nearby and Brockenhurst village 10 minute walk. Some minor parts of the hotel do require updating, but if you can overlook these, it is a great place to stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satyrinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
681 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing