We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would like to contact the owner”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I would like to contact the owner”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have not stayed as a resident at the Balmer Lawn Hotel but have visited twice for Lunch . The first time was with my husband and daughter for Sunday Lunch when visiting our daughter at Southampton Uni - We had a lovely lunch and the Jazz Band was great !
However we visted again recently and had a nasty experience to which the response from the manager wasfar from respectful- I would rather not post this on Trip Advisor I feel it would be fair to the staff and hotel to discuss this with the owners.The manager will know how to contact me as the incident was on Saturday 9th July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mia049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
I am sorry that you felt it necessary to put your issues with regards to your visit to the Balmer Lawn on Saturday 9th July in such a public forum.

After contacting me directly I then spoke with both the hotel owners who advised me on the content of my reply, and that your experience here, regarding the cricket ball, was beyond our control. Cricket has been played outside the Balmer Lawn since the late 1800s, with a dining terrace open for over a decade for guests to enjoy the game over an afternoon tea . It is played on Forestry Commission land by a private Cricket Club.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    418
    133
    84
    49
See reviews for
378
784
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Last year we stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed at the rooms we were given,so much so I wrote to the manager. Her response was quick, honest and offered a choice of compensation. We took the opportunity to give this hotel in it's lovely location a second chance. We are so glad we did. We were more than compensated for our initial visit, we will return and have no fear of recommending a stay to others. It shows that there are hotel managers that listen to their clientel and focus their business on customer focus. This year we had a fantastic stay. A big thankyou to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspire913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay here with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am so pleased to hear that we managed to 'get it right' for your repeat stay with us. As I am sure you are aware we have gone through a well deserved huge refurbishment programme this last year.

I really appreciate the chance to communication directly with guests as a hands on manager, rather than through a virtual medium, this gives me every opportunity to ensure that corrections and improvements are made, where necessary, for the benefit of future guests.

I'd like to express my personal thanks for you contacting me directly, in the first instance, to give me this chance.

I do hope I will get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed at the Balmer Lawn to celebrate my birthday. I am a frequent traveller through work. I found this this hotel to be exceptionally good and could not fault it in anyway. The staff were extremely friendly, helpfull and efficient.
Our room was a delight looking onto the lawn.
The food was really good, particularly the lunch, which happened to be on a promotion.
Their was plenty to keep ourselves occupied in the hotel, although the location was great, never to far from anything.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at the Balmer Lawn.

I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope we'll get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Recently returned for a stay at the Balmer Lawn and once again had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. We were given the same room as our last visit and it was obviously refurbished in the last year. It felt like we were staying in a five star!

Can't fault the service or the staff, very helpful manager and attentive team.

Looking forward to returning once again!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your recent stay at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great that you noticed, and benefited from, the extensive refurbishment work that has taken place in the last year. I'm glad you think these new rooms are of a 5* standard because we are all very proud of them here at the Balmer Lawn.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future, so you can witness the continued improvements that we're making.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We went to this hotel as we had often been passed it when in the area. I must admit after we had booked we read some bad reviews on Trip Advisor and were a bit worried. We needn't have been though. From start to finish our stay was exceptional. We arrived early and although our room was not ready I was allowed to change into more suitable walking clothes for the walk we were planning. On our return our bags were in the room, which was overlooking the New Forest. We had been upgraded to a 4 poster room which was absolutely lovely. The bathroom was very clean and very big. We went for a drink before dinner and the service was great. The restaurant was exceptional, food very tasty and staff friendly and efficient. I do admit there was some building work going on but this was not at all a problem. We actually found a voucher in our welcome pack for £20 for any inconvenience, of which there was none, to be spent anywhere in the hotel. Unfortunately we did not find this until we had checked out so were unable to use it. Please find out for yourelves what a real find this hotel is. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janyoung1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to put on such a kind review about your stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a four poster, something we do wherever possible, and that you found our staff to be both friendly and efficient.

I am relieved to hear that the building work, due to our extensive refurbishment work, did not marr your stay and I hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Enjoyed a three-night break here. All the staff very very friendly and helpful and quite a number were "home grown" - a nice balance between them and their overseas counterparts. Currently undergoing an upgrade. Our room was somewhat dated but we would rather have good service and food than swish modern furnishings and poor service and food. Remember it is a country hotel and don't expect your glitzy city type hotel. We would very definitely consider making a return visit. The hotel is also dog-friendly, a plus point for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muskateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you for taking to time to write such a complimentary review about your stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I'm sorry to hear that you found your room to be slightly date. We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme, with a total of 17 rooms to be completed by the end of this month. At this time we will be able to provide both beautifully refurbished rooms along with good service and food.

I do hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, along with your four legged friend!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This could be a lovely hotel, beautiful location, excellent attentive staff which could not be faulted. Good quality breakfast, although self service in general.

But the four poster room we stayed in for 2 nights was very tired and dark, with 1980's worn Ducal furniture. A good sized room with a sofa and chairs but only had one bedside table. The small en suite bathroom had no window and was only provided with 2 very small bottles of shampoo/body wash - very stingy for such an expensive room. We could not be sure, but suspect, that towels left in the bath to be changed were just folded and put back on the rack, if this is not the case then we were provided with fresh but damp towels.

The main problem I had was with noise, not from from a wedding which we had been warned about - this didn't disturb us at all, but from a constant slamming of heavy doors throughout the hotel. This, unfortunately, is not a quiet hotel to stay in.

My partner reported that the jacuzzi had a scum ring around it at 7:30 in the morning, so obviously not cleaned since the day before.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Balmer Lawn.

It is great to hear that you found the staff to be both attentive and efficient and that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. However, I am sorry you didn't find your room to be up to the same standard. We are currently under going a major refurbishment programme which will see the completion of 17 new bedrooms before the end of the month. This refurbishment work has included the replacement of all our bedroom doors to heavy oak doors which, when the door closer isn't adjusted properly, can leave them to slam. This is something I have addressed with the builders and I'm pleased to say that this problem has now been rectified.

I do hope these few negative points you experienced will not put you off returning to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,721 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#5 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing