We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A late review, but we found it excellent”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed in 2009 so can only base this review on then. The hotel at that time was three stars and looking at getting four, it was a little shabby around the edges ie holes in lamp shades and tired old carpet on the amazing stairwell... BUT that is what we loved about the place, it was charming and relaxing and we took our old dog so we weren't on edge about all that stuff! Beware, don't get drunk and go out on the drive as you may fall down the cattle grid as I did or get kicked by a horse... Not the fault of the hotel and all added to the experience. Love this hotel, really hope I can get back there someday.... Oh and the food in the restaurant was AMAZING!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us a number of years ago.

I am delighted to hear that you have such great memories of your stay and I do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to the 4* Balmer Lawn in the future so you can witness for yourself all the huge improvements that have happened since your last stay!

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
There are newer reviews for Balmer Lawn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

A very good experience. We booked this hotel at the last minute, to visit a friend in hospital. The staff were without exception helpful, friendly and courteous. The immediate impression was of an efficient and well run hotel. Our room was on the small side, but well appointed and a very comfortable bed. Food in the restaurant was excellent, well cooked and imaginative. The breakfast as good as aBritish breakfast can be. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was comfortable and welcoming, family and pet friendly. There is a good indoor pool, and I noticed tennis courts, and squash courts as well as a good sized outdoor pool for the summer, and then there is the wonderful forest on the doorstep, which looks beautiful even in a soggy February. We would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and hope to return again. My only reservation is concerning in the dining room which is cold and does nothing for the decor, it looks so much better at breakfast.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if the weather was a bit damp!

My apologies that the restaurant was cold while you dined. With the fluctuating weather temperatures we've been experiencing lately, it has been very hard to get it right!

I do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We were part of a large birthday group staying over a weekend. The hotel was chosen for this event because in our party there were adults, children and dogs and none of this fazed the hotel and all were very welcome!
The birthday dinner on the Saturday evening in the private function room went without a hitch, excellent service and the food was good. Even a birthday cake that we suddenly produced which was then served and eaten inbetween courses did not cause a flap. The breakfast the following morning was equally good and afterwards our group either went for a walk in the Forest (literally outside the front door), or to church (nearby), swam in the hotel's indoor pool or just relaxed with a coffee by the fire. It suited all ages and the staff were always very accommodating with all the different requests we heaped upon them. Our party also stayed on to have the Sunday carvery with a live Jazz band playing background music, which was a nice touch. Lunch was a little slow, but that was partly our fault with the size of the group and varied ordering.
Our room was good and the bed comfortable. Take advantage of the view and book system online. The one thing, in our opinion, that lets this four star hotel down, is the very dated decor in all the main reception rooms, stuck in a time warp of the Eighties! It would really benefit from a revamp along the lines of 'country house' style, which would suit the hotel and it's history. However, it did not detract from a very pleasant stay and guests are made to feel very 'at home' and welcome.

Room Tip: Use online 'view and book' system.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your weekend with us.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome and beautiful room overlooking the new forest. the restaurant was fantastic with excellent food and good service. A very relaxing weekend! We even treated ourselves to breakfast in bed which was outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisonflash2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of treating you again in the future!

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Recently had to visit the New Forest Area on business and stayed at this hotel, firstly loved the location, it is situated in between two beautiful villages Brockenhurst and Lyndhurst - slap bang in the middle of the New Forest, and whilst we never got the chance to visit the forest on foot, as i checked out in the morning an enormous herd of deer ran past the front woodland part of the hotel (not the car park obviously !!) this was really lovely. We dined in their AA rossette restaurant and were not dissapointed, the steak was perfectly cooked and lean and my wife loved the trio of pork, all in all really nice, i also really enjoyed the cheeseboard after dinner with a couple of local cheeses including New Forest Blue Cheese - delicious, i believe the head chef was a lady which made a refreshing change, she is talented........ finally the staff could not do enough for you particularly the General Manager 'another lady no less' great attention to detail all around .. well done !!...Will definitely visit again perhaps when the weather is a bit better...

Room Tip: they all have a super view so i wouldnt worry too much.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superjas9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, albeit brief!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

There was a small confusion over rates which we resolved satisfactorily before arriving (with a final conversation at check in). Although not the ideal start to our stay, the staff at the hotel did a super job in looking after our group (thanks Agi, Mark and the rest of the team) and managed to make the entire experience very good and we will definitely stay again.

The superior rooms were fine, the mini pool was fun for young children and the food was actually very good.

Overall a good hotel with even better staff.

We left my daughters swim goggles and these are being sent back to us (thank you), but charging £7.50 to post them is I believe a silly area to make profit in the hotel trade. It still gets a 'very good' rating though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that we managed to turn round, what could have been, a total negative experience, and that you all enjoyed your time with us.

With all the problems of obtaining the correct price for posting items back, we recently came up with having 2 standard charges, one for a small item and one for a large. However you have proved that this is something that we maybe need to review.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel was nice, the suite was excellent but our friends room was a bit tired.

Breakfast - Very Good
Drinks - Watch out for spirit prices £4.50 a shot.............bit expensive one thinks.
Bar Area - OK
Swimming Pool - Ok

Location fantastic, but was it value for money.........get a good deal yes.......but otherwise NO

Room Tip: Get a Suite..........
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIREMANSAM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

As a family owned hotel refurbishment is done as, and when, business allows. So, with this in mind we devised our 'look before you book' facility on our website. With this you can actually chose from our 54, individually designed, and priced, bedrooms.

We actually serve our spirits in 35ml measures, rather than the standard 25ml that pubs tend to use, hence the price.

I do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,740 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,869 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#5 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £120 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing