We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days away”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have just returned from a four day break at the Balmer Lawn, Brockenhurst. From the moment we arrived until our departure, the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

Our room's were beautifully decorated and well equipped for a most comfortable stay. The restaurant service and food was excellent, as was the food in the lounge bar area. We enjoyed the spa area and the beautiful grounds. All in all it was a just what we were looking for, a relaxed break in a beautiful location with attentive staff. Will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so the view was not great but this did not detract from a good stay. Woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent 4 day break with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and I do hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,239 - 1,245 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

It was my sisters birthday and my brother in law arranged afternoon tea for 4. What a lovely civilised way to spend Sunday afternoon - complete with a glass of bubbles and the calm elegance of Balmer Lawn in the heart of the New Forest!. The tea was very enjoyable, the service was as you would expect - polite, unassuming and soooo not in your face. A great place to "Take tea" and forget the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent afternoon tea with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed it, and I do hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

After a lovely weekend away at the Balmer Lawn hotel I do not have any complaints. The room had recently been refurbished and was lovely, well equipped with everything we needed. The evening meals were absolutely amazing along with the service and friendly waiters.

I look forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 515Lwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent weekend break with us at the Balmer Lawn.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We really hoped this would be a great place, as it is convenient for London and well located for walks / biking etc in the New Forest ... but unfortunately we were underwhelmed.

Good points:
* Location
* Some rooms have good views
* Dinner was pretty good (the food anyway)
* Generally friendly staff

Bad points
* Overpriced for what it is
* Does not really compare to other 'Luxury' / 4 Star hotels we have stayed in
* First Room was not clean
* Some rooms and general decor are very dated
* Dinner service was very slow (and manager a little rude!)

We did tell the hotel that our first room was dirty, and we were moved to a second room that was a great improvement (and clean). The general / hotel manager was actually very good and sensible. Overall, its an OK place it you want to go to explore the New Forest and don't have a car as it is within walking distance of the station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dean_sew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

My apologies that you found your stay with us to be disappointing. As a family owned hotel refurbishment work is done as, and when business allows. This is why we devised our Look Before You Book facility to offer complete transparency with bedrooms individually priced with regards to their decor, view and size. We are a Country House Hotel, probably with a more relaxed atmosphere than many city 4 star hotels that you may have stayed in.

I am sorry that you found the manager to be a little rude at dinner, this was due to fact that your children were unfortunately causing a bit of disturbance in the restaurant so he thought it prudent to offer you your desserts in the lounge for the comfort of your children and also our other diners. He by no means meant to be rude in any way.

I do hope that we may get the chance of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Booked a Superior Room with a balcony for the weekend. The room was clean, if a bit dated looking, and the service from staff lived up to it’s 4 Star rating. It cost us £500 for two nights, B&B. We booked a balcony room, as I smoke, my husband cannot tolerate smoke, and obviously the rooms were non smoking. I was assured that it was fine to smoke on the balcony.

However, we have stayed in many 4 star hotels, and really expect that, at this price, the room would include enough sockets (this room had 2, both of which were in use for the TV and phone), a small fridge or chiller, a personal safe, and a TV that was younger than we are, (!) with a proper sized screen and controls that worked – this room had none of these things.

We were also left bemused by a member of the reception staff knocking to ask if we could smell ‘burning’ – we couldn’t, but as my husband has severe breathing problems, and can tolerate neither burning nor smoke around him, this led to a certain amount of worry about how well the alarms would work, if they need to knock and ask the opinions of guests!

Anyone booking this hotel would also be well advised to check there are no weddings going on – Saturday led to screaming kids running everywhere, up and down stairs and along corridors, inebriated guests shouting a lot, and barking dogs doing their nut because of the noise. In the evening, two guests left the bar area without ordering dinner, as they couldn’t take any more, and we were very near doing the same. There also appeared to be a group of hob nail boot dancers above us, leaping around – not very restful!

The food was well cooked, but, we think overpriced, for what it was. Room service was reliable.

There was nothing poor enough to make it worthwhile complaining, but it wasn't quite up to scratch for us.

We do intend to come back to the area in September, but have made alternative arrangements for our stay.

All in all, I would class this hotel as more of a good 3 star, than a 4 star, but it was pleasant enough if any deals are available to make it more realistically priced for what it offers. It was in a lovely part of the country, and for possibly a mid week break, with no weddings or children around, it would be quite restful..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

To gain a 4 star status hotel bedrooms do not need to have fridges or a safe. However we do offer this facility at Reception should you wish anything to be put in the safe, or kept in the fridge.

Reception had been made aware that there was a smell of smoke coming from your bedroom, hence further investigations were made. The smell of smoke was certainly apparent in the corridor, however there was not enough smoke to set off our fire alarm system. We also have newly installed heat detectors in every bedroom should there actually be a fire so there is no need to worry about the alarms not being triggered in case of emergency.

You were actually made aware that we had a wedding in progress, and were offered a quiet room on the top floor, but these rooms have no option of a balcony to smoke on, so you chose to stay in your initial bedroom. We do our best to allocate wedding guests onto the first floor as a rule, and our other guests on the top 2 floors away from any possible noise disturbance.

I do hope that you enjoy your stay in the New Forest in September.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for accomadation in the New Forest then look no further. We have just returned from a relaxing weekend break at the Balmerlawn and will definitely be going back. This quintessential British hotel hosts a range of attributes from its superb cuisine to the stunning views from our top floor modern bedroom. We dined both nights in the hotel restaurant and were presented with friendly accomadating staff and mouth watering courses. The location of the hotel enabled us to undertake the short walk into Brokenhurst where you can get the train into Lymington. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnfx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope that we might get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We have recently stayed at the Balmer Lawn for the 3rd time and were not dissappointed. The Hotel is in a lovely position and the rooms have recently been updated. The staff are very polite and helpful and the food in very good. If you want a hotel that offers excellent value for money then try the Balmer Lawn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I do hope that we may get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

K Birrell - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,813 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,245 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £117 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing