We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I recently had an overnight stay at the Balmer Lawn hotel with an old friend to mark a milestone birthday. It couldn't have been better. Started the day with a soothing massage in the new Saltus Spa, which I would highly recommend. The hotel is not ultra modern, however it is full of character with wonderful surroundings and the staff staff were absolutely brilliant. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Jayne M, Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a great time celebrating a special birthday with us and it's great to hear that you had the opportunity to indulge in our Saltus Spa.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Balmer Lawn Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    403
    124
    83
    49
See reviews for
342
749
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked the Balmer Lawn quite last minute towards the end of the summer and stayed for 4 wonderful nights. Our two youngish children (8, 11) were well catered for and there was a lovely, relaxed family atmosphere within the hotel. The staff were really helpful and accommodating, right up to the manager (we were disappointed with our room as it really didn't meet the 'modern and elegant' description, it was quite tired and shabby. The manager was very helpful and offered to move us to two separate rooms, next to each other, but without an adjoining door as it was the only thing available. We were uncomfortable with this set up so we declined. The two rooms offered were finished to a much better standard and the manager explained that our room was one of the last in need of refurbishment.)
The hotel is set in a glorious position with a cricket ground adjoining it and a stream that's fed by the River Mead, much to our children's delight who spent hours leaping into it from the tree swing. The outdoor pool was heated, surrounded by sun loungers and beyond and was a welcome place to cool off in the afternoon sun. The indoor pool was also loved by our children and they flitted between the two, happily and safely unaccompanied (while we took turns and made use of the sauna and steam room) We even managed to get a game of family tennis in.
Breakfast was quite a treat and managed to satisfy us all happily, with pastries, fruits, hot plates with various treats or several choices from the menu. The food throughout was really good. We dined in the restaurant on one of the evenings but was quite sceptical about what the standards would be (this was due to shabbyness of our room) However, we were won over with a delicious meal that really was top quality and superbly cooked. There's also a pretty patio where families can eat in the evening sun al fresco, we enjoyed a few drinks while the children entertained themselves! We had an excellent family holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel. Where other family hotels can be a little pretentious, this hotel is welcoming and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Jayne M, Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

It is wonderful to hear that you had an excellent family holiday and that you intend to return to the Balmer Lawn. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room, as you have mentioned, we are in a rolling programme of refurbishment and re-decoration and this is one of the rooms on our list.

For future reference, we have a unique 'Look Before You Book' feature on our website which allows you to see each and every room along with the view and the en-suite so that you can choose a room to suit your requirements. This may be useful for your next visit which I am sure will make for an even better holiday.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Wendy Monkcom
Sales Manager - Balmer Lawn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've been coming here since 2010 when we held a massive corporate event. Since then I have stayed with both work and personal and have always found the staff friendly and approachable.
They really seem to be trying hard to raise the level of customer care.Whilst some of the rooms are yet to be upgraded the ones that have are well appointed, clean and tidy. The restaurant has recently been painted and looks bright and fresh. The lounge could do with some new wallpaper but its comfy and quiet. The location is just perfect however. Walks and cycle rides are all on the doorstep. The outside pool is clean and tidy as is the inside one. Tennis courts all good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Jayne M, Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to see that you are a regular guest both for business and pleasure, and glad that you appreciated the update to our Beresford's Restaurant on your recent visit. I am pleased to say that the refurbishment is planned to extend through to the Lounge area along with some of our function rooms so you should see a continued improvement.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Wendy Monkcom
Sales Manager - Balmer Lawn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 6 times this year, including a large part of the Summer holidays and Christmas term half term, both times with my young children. They, and I, love the family atmosphere of this hotel and the way that the staff look after us. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them, they remember the names of my children and greet them when we return and they make the children feel very comfortable. The hotel, the location, the rooms, the staff and the food are all first class and I cannot fault any of it. The new spa is a great addition and we will be returning many times in the future. If you want a quiet romantic break, a great holiday with the children or just a break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then I recommend The Balmer Lawn. It is one of my favourite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Go for the best room that you can afford, and try and get a forest view. I sleep with my curtains op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your many visits to the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your time so much with us, we certainly enjoy seeing you too!

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a new spa, and almost on my doorstep, so as soon as I heard about it I went along for a pre-holiday treatment. It is very pleasant indeed - quiet, calm and relaxing - extremely attentive and very knowledgeable staff who know what they are doing. Prices are competitive - I will use this spa again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ddn't stay at the hotel as it is close to my home, but the public rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent visit to Saltus, the Spa at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your treatments and that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the forest and not far from the sea either. Thank you to all the staff for being so friendly. A relaxing hotel with a great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to others and will revisit again soon ....

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight with my partner. What an amazing hotel. We enjoyed walks in the forest straight from the hotel where we saw pigs and horses. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would also recommend a relaxing treatment in the new spa. Perfect! Will definitely revisit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to try outour new spa.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing