We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Festive Extravaganza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Festive Extravaganza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife, mother in law and two children (aged 5 and 4) stayed at the Balmer Lawn for two nights over Christmas eve and Christmas day. We were a little reluctant not having stayed away before over the Christmas break, however, we had no need to worry. The hotel itself along with the staff had a fantastic festive feel and an amazing atmosphere. We enjoyed carols with a local choir on Christmas eve and a visit from santa Christmas day much to the children's delight. Christmas lunch comprised 6 courses and there was plenty of champagne on tap at the reception. The hotel has great facilities including a pool, spa and sporting facilities. The food and drink were excellent and the bar/lounge was cosy. The rooms are well maintained with a big comfortable bed and all of the usual comforts. The location is particularly nice being in the heart of the forest. We discovered there are many guests who return year after year during the festive break and I can see why. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had a superior family room which had a small adjoining room with bunk beds for the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complementary review of your experience at the Balmer Lawn Hotel while staying for our Christmas Package. I am especially delighted to hear that you commented on almost every aspect of our program, especially our facilities for the whole family. Hopefully you will have the chance to come back in summer and see the other facilities you could not use in December. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    407
    125
    84
    48
See reviews for
353
763
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just returned home from 3 days at the Balmer Lawn from 24th to 27th December 2013. We were so impressed we have already booked to go back for 2014! The staff were so friendly, professional and nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was excellent and we definitely did not go hungry during our 3 day stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Rooms superb. My only regret - we could not have stayed a day or two longer (family commitments). The children, husband and I are already looking to returning very soon. Thank you for a fantastic Christmas.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade with a Forest View, it is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plodaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience at the Balmer Lawn Hotel while staying for our Christmas Package. We do put a lot of thought and effort into setting this package up and also making it work. I am especially delighted to hear that you commented on our superb staff and the good food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely country hotel in an amazing setting in the forest. Have been here a few times and never disappointed , staff so friendly and helpful, afternoon tea fantastic , rooms with views of the forest, breakfast really good, food in bar area really good, cosy lounge area with log fire, piano music and newspapers. Can't wait to go back soon. Well done Balmer you have it so right.

Room Tip: Can choose older traditional rooms or new renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience at the Balmer Lawn Hotel especially complementing our staff. I am delighted to hear that you felt everything was just right and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My family love the Balmer Lawn. We have been coming to stay at the hotel for at least 15 years now - about 13 years for the New Year Celebration; for my 60th birthday party and now for the past 3 years our family Xmas lunch. There are about 30 of us and the hotel gives us a private room and all the trimmings for a very reasonable price indeed. The food is excellent, as you would expect with a 4* hotel, and the service is prompt, friendly and attentive. We have space to spread out and for the children to step down from the table. The bar and lounge is available for pre and post lunch drinks and of course outside the door is the New Forest for anyone who wants a stroll to burn off the calories. Its a magical place at Christmas and I recommend the hotel to you very strongly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeeneSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your lunch at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed the food. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about service and our great function space. I look forward to welcoming you back at New Year’s Evening and all of you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Went for lunch here yesterday, six adults and two dogs. Although obviously not allowed in the main Restaurant we were mad ever welcome in the Lounge Area. We all had a lovely Sunday Carvery. Staff very pleasant and nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glassman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyMonkcom, Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your lunch at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you, your friends and of course your dog had a lovely time and enjoyed the carvery. I look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have just returned from a family wedding weekend at the Balmer Lawn. The hotel and staff were perfect. At this busy time of year and with other events also taking place their attention to detail was first class. The staff were effecient and attentive, the food was delicious and the location outstanding. Unfortunately we did not have time to try out the spa and pool facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55Jackie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyMonkcom, Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience at the Balmer Lawn Hotel while celebrating a family wedding. I am delighted to hear that you felt everything was perfect and look forward to welcoming you back in the future to try out our leisure facilities and enjoy an indulgent treatment in our Saltus Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Finally getting round to writing a review about this wonderful Hotel and it's staff! Me and my Husband got married at The Balmer Lawn in July and well what can I say it was everything we wanted and so much more!

From looking around the hotel until picking up missed bits and pieces after the wedding we were given 5* attention and treatment, I always felt looked after! Nothing was ever a problem or too much trouble for Wedding Coordinator Fran, Jonathan or any of the other staff involved!

Everyone commented what a great day they had saying how attentive and polite all the staff were from waitresses & waiters, bar staff, receptionists, also the great food, and the ease and relaxed nature of it all!! Which is exactly what we had wanted no stress and to just enjoy every minute!

The food was fabulous again all our needs catered for! The venue was beautiful and clean and tidy! I have nothing but praise for the hotel and everyone that works there I could go on forever!

They most definitely made it their priority to make our most important day as fabulous and special as it could be! And it was just that, The Balmer Lawn will always be a special place for us.

Thank you SO much to you all again, you are doing such a great job in your hotel completely first class!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyMonkcom, Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review about your wedding here with us at the Balmer Lawn Hotel.
I am delighted that we were able to be part of your very special day and that you had the most amazing experience.
I do hope that you will revisit us on your anniversary to celebrate with us again, and in the meantime, we would like to wish you both many congratulations and the best of luck for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing