We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmer Lawn
Nearby Hotels
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$251
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,802)
Filter reviews
1,802 results
Traveller rating
1,025
469
162
93
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,025
469
162
93
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsberesfords restaurantsaltus spathird floornew forestsuperior roomjacuzzi and saunaindoor and outdoor poolsleisure facilitiescomplimentary upgradeafternoon teaforest viewlovely hotelfour posterlounge areaspa treatmentsfamily roomrestaurant manager
Filter
Updating list...
1,216 - 1,221 of 1,802 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We love the Balmer, the staff are always great and make the hotel. This break was a little different however, with the Storm on the Friday followed a power cut that last around 12 hours, the staff did not panic and offered to find rooms in nearby hotels, or you could stay if you wished, we stayed and ate out at the NewForest Inn which they recommended and was very good. We decided to stay an extra night and left Monday morning. On the Friday night we ate in the restaurant which was fabulous on the Sunday we ate in the bar which was equally as good. The pool facilities are always hood too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely time even though the inconvenience of the power cut interfered with your stay. Many thanks for the complimentary comments about our great homemade food as well as our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at Balmer Lawn, with our two sons aged 7,4. Generally the staff were helpful and courteous however a couple of minor issues detracted from the stay. On arrival we waited a considerable time (10mins) for the check in process to commence, as the only receptionist was busy on the phone. We were eventually checked in to room 56, a modern and spacious room with two double beds and a further double sofa bed. The view was limited across the rooftops of other hotel buildings. The swimming pool was nice although the changing room lights were not working, making changing my two boys difficult, I reported this but the following day they were still not working. The breakfast was good, hot and plentiful spoilt slightly by a couple of matters, on booking into the breakfast room the maître d' informed us we had not paid for breakfast in our room tariff, not only was this incorrect but potentially embarrassing. Considering its four star status it was also disappointing to have cheap paper napkins and no table table cloths.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank WeaselMcbeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am really sorry to hear about your delayed check in procedure. We try our best to attend everybody in a reasonable time but sometimes the situation occur which can make this difficult. I am sure that my receptionist did acknowledge you when you entered the building.
It is unfortunate that we had problems with the changing rooms caused by the torrential rainfall. We were working on the issue for several days until we finally succeeded in fixing the problem. Everything is back in normal working order now.
We also prefer not to use table cloth in our restaurant as this lowers our impact on the environment. Our breakfast service is a more informal style. In order to match this we are using paper napkins instead of our formal fabric napkins.
I hope all of these little issues did not influence your stay to negative and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on Valentine's weekend, and had a complimentary upgrade, the hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic setting.
What really made it for us though - we were unlucky enough to have an incident with a flood, near the hotel, two hours waist deep in water pushing our now ruined car out - and I must say the staff were so charming, helpful and most of all sympathetic! Didn't bat an eyelid when we had to leave the car there after we left, and so on.
Even after a small question about our bill (overcharged us for some drinks or something) they were extremely helpful/
What we saw of Brockenhurst and the New Forest is beautiful too,
Definitely be returning - in drier weather!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaramaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. Sorry to hear about your car troubles but I am glad that we could be of service to ease the pain a little bit. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel as far as you could and also complimentary commented on our ever so helpful staff. I look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just got home after a house hunting trip,and stayed two nights at The Balmer Lawn Hotel.

From the minute we arrived at reception,we were treated with kind and attentive service.The hotel is gorgeous,clean,comfortable and perfectly situated in the heart of The New Forest.

Our room was lovely,super views over the gardens.Bathroom was well stocked with fluffy towels and great smelling soaps and lotions and potions.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night.The food was amazing,breakfast the next morning was superb,a light supper in the bar was delicious.

So,back home,having brought home some extra kilos,but many happy memories,many thanks.



Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Loustheplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you had such an amazing experience at Balmer Lawn Hotel and you enjoyed all the great facilities we can offer. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our good food. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Friendliest staff of any hotel I've been to in the UK. Also fantastic veggie main meal.
Location is superb for walks, cycling, pubs and train.
The food was a reasonable price and the wine list very good.

Very comfy room and clean bathroom.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrotomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our home made food, especially our Sunday lunch. Many thanks for the complimentary comments about our fantastic staff, which made your service experience so memorable. We look forward to seeing back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews