We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spring break package”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good spring break package”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Booked the step into spring package for 2 nights, booking was easy and the receptionist was very helpful on the phone although after an initial email conformation with a set price I was then sent another for a higher price this was resolved quickly too. Check in was quick, lots if parking spaces. Our room was ok and quite tidy a bit grubby in places stained ceiling, some dirty tiles in the bathroom, loud fan running from the room upstairs also an awful shower with a temperamental temperature! The rooms view was outstanding though and this made up for the little flaws.The 4 poster bed looks grand but was squeaky and had a hard mattress all bedding was really clean and room dust free though. Good range of breakfast and again good staff. Our cream tea experience was poor due to nearly an hour's wait and lots of confusion over our order with the waiters-these compared to the other housekeeping and reception staff did not seem to know what they were doing the manager was just as clueless and preffered lining up business cards at the front desk rather than attending to customers needs!Sauna and Jacuzzi were lovely pool a little small and cold.Again shabby in places dirty windows, grubby tiles,rust.The Saltus spa was AMAZING a fantastic treatment and friendly staff this was the highlight of the break.Overall a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting, a little tweaking and this place could be
something very special.Thank you to the lovely staff who made it a great weekend (mainly the females!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evielou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I am sorry to hear that we made a mess of your cream tea; normally an easy item to deliver but if the organisation of the service is not right these things happen. I would like to apologise for this sincerely. We will work very hard to improve our service in the future. Many thanks for the complimentary comments about our great staff and your spa experience. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    413
    129
    84
    49
See reviews for
369
770
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A most relaxing couple of days, with my wife, on a special deal B&B at the Balmer Lawn. Hard to fault it. Arrived to find a scenic approach with cricket green and ponies on one side and the chateau-like hotel on the other. Lots of free parking for guests. Got off to an excellent start with an upgraded room offered by the reception staff. Very welcome to find a lift to our room on the third floor - very spacious, clean, tidy with a huge, comfy bed. Smallish bath but superb shower and modern, wall-mounted TV - No Sky. Dinner and two breakfasts at the hotel's Beresford Restaurant. Delightful dining area in this historic building. Attentive and charming staff, mainly Eastern European who looked after us very well. Breakfast excellent - great quality sausages and bacon and huge stainless-silver rotating food holders to negotiate at breakfast to find delights such as black pudding. Found the spa a bit small and dated, the jacuzzi a bit grubby, but the kids were all loving it. Good value stay and great location for activities in the New Forest or further afield.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet. See if you can get an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed our great facilities. I am pleased to hear that we were able to upgrade your room and give you a bit more comfort for free. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about all of our staff, the service they give as well as our great home cooked food. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Got engaged here 19 years ago so went back for memories. Much modernised, good room and had excellent evening meal which is worth booking as part of dinner,bed and breakfast package. Breakfast was also very good and staff helpful. Certainly worth the money and very well located for getting around the forest.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HTTcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your wife were able to refresh the good memories you had from the hotel in the past. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our good home cooked food. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Balmer Lawn Hotel, we stumbled across this hotel whilst looking for overnight accommodation prior to a cruise.What a good find, the location was perfect 20 minutes from the cruise port yet right in the heart of the New Forest, we walked into the back garden and there were the ponies-amazing.
The hotel itself is individual it was very comfortable different(in a good way) from your normal predictable chain.Very friendly and helpful staff with excellent food.
We will return for a longer stay very soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that you were positive surprised about our hotel and the difference we created to being part of a hotel chain. Not many people realise that we are actually well located towards the cruise port in Southampton. I do hope you enjoyed your cruise as well. Many thanks for all your good comments especially about our great staff as well as our good home cooked food. I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed last Sunday evening we arrived about 3 pm had a lovely swim, the pool wasn't busy, then jacuzzi and sauna . It was so nice to just get away and relax, We had a lovely room, we had an early dinner which was beautifully cooked and presented all the staff were very efficient and helpful. We will definitely be returning

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Borderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed all our facilities. Many thanks for all the complimentary comments about our home made food, good service and especially our staff. I am glad that you felt everything was right and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My husband, daughter and myself took an old friend here for a light lunch in the lounge. The waiters were initially very attentive but once we had drinks and ordered had to wait three-quarters of an hour for our food to arrive. We then ordered dessert and asked for coffee to be served afterwards. Instead coffee arrived first and dessert did not arrive for another thirty minutes. A further annoyance was that we were asked to pay 65p per person for soda water for spritzers and staff were using the lounge to conduct banqueting discussions. Whilst we enjoyed our time at Balmer Lawn we won't be rushing back.



Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your visit to the Balmer Lawn. I am surprised that it took such a long time for your food to arrive. Occasionally the weekends can be a busy time for service as well as kitchen, yet this should not have any effect on any visiting customer. Should we have a backlog of orders at any one time we usually are proactive enough to make customer aware of this.
Unfortunately a misunderstanding between staff affected your dessert and coffee service as well. Not really the positive experience we want to create. I would like to apologise for this sincerely.
Our Lounge space is a great meeting area for several different guests including guests which are planning a function at Balmer Lawn Hotel. In order to meet and discuss details of this function we use our lounge bar as is common practise in all hotels.
I hope you will give us another chance to prove our good service to you and look forward to welcoming you back to Balmer Lawn Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel as it was my birthday weekend and also my partner starts his radiotherapy in April and we wanted a relaxing weekend together. We booked a 3 night bliss package which included a wonderful afternoon tea on arrival on the Friday afternoon. We had a 1 hr spa massage / reflexology treatment each on the Saturday morning and another 45 mins on the Monday morning - we cannot thank the spa staff enough they were just great especially with my partners illness- just wonderful.

All the staff from arrival to leaving we're friendly welcoming and made our stay just what we wanted.

We did have a few problems, a leak from the ceiling on our 2nd night whilst getting ready for dinner which required a move to a standard room for one night and then we were moved to the luxury honeymoon 4 poster room for our last night. Not quite our plan for my birthday night finishing dinner and quick pack and move but It was an unusual way to see 3 types of room though- it was one of those things and could not be helped but the staff were very good.

All in though I preferred our 1st room which had a balcony and was bliss sitting out there on Saturday afternoon with a pot of tea in the sunshine.

The food was really good, plenty of choice for breakfast and pleasant service.

The pool, sauna and spa tub was especially nice on the Friday as not busy at all but the Saturday to many children for me, so when we come back, which we will, it will be during the week so it is quieter.

This is a wonderful hotel for a relaxed enjoyable stay with some walks from the hotel (useful to take a walking map) and easy to drive around.
Looking forward to coming back.


Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daisiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your experience at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your partner had such a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed all our facilities as well as the home made food. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about service and especially all my hard working staff. They are a great asset to the hotel. I am glad to hear that the little “mis-happening” did not affect your stay in a totally negative way and you had the chance to see more of the hotel then a normal customer would on a single visit. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,144 reviews
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,022 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,767 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing