We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place & friendly staff”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at balmer lawn last July during the new forest show, short walk from the show ground so ideal location friendly staff and most of all table service outside into the early hours of the morning :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRtravin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you appreciate our location especially the short distance to the New Forest Show. Many thanks also for your complimentary comments regarding our service on the terrace until late. I look forward to welcoming you back for this year’s New Forest Show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

First visit and what a charming place. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were greeted with smiles, helpfulness and courtesy. The food, the drinks, the room, the atmosphere were all beyond reproach. The leisure facilities were brilliant. Over looking the lawn, cricket pitch and the ponies and horses.

Room Tip: Advise the reception before arriving if it is a special occasion and they will no doubt assist
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer. Thank you very much for your complimentary comments about our great friendly and helpful staff. They certainly are an asset. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had a lovely time here and in the New Forest generally, the room was lovely, splendid view, enjoyed the pool and the wee fitness room, my only reservation would be the food which was workmanlike and overpriced. Get yourself into one of the nearby towns to eat and you will have a great time here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Denis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all our facilities. Your comments about the food are noted and I am delighted to say that we are actually working on introducing a different style of food for our lounge/bar in the near future. If the menu in the bar had nothing to offer for your dinner, you could have looked at the restaurant menu. We also offer the complete restaurant menu in our bar as alternative to our bar food. We believe that the food we create is of good quality with no reason to go out to eat. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights & had a wonderful time. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The food in the bar was lovely & well priced. We were upgraded to a suite which was amazing with a huge bathroom & gorgeous 4 poster bed. We stayed here with our 1 year old & were all made to feel very relaxed & comfortable. The swimming pool & jacuzzi were also very nice. On the first day the pool was freezing cold which was a shame because our baby couldn't stay in there long but the second & third time it was lovely & warm. Overall I cannot fault anything & would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseeker450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely time and enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel. I am especially delighted about your lovely comments about our staff and their friendliness. Many thanks also for the appreciated good comments about our room facilities and the upgrade you had got. One of our policies is, to upgrade customer to higher room categories if the situation allows. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel. We booked for one night only for a birthday treat. They upgraded us to a suite which was really appreciated. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely. The drinks at the bar were good and about average prices. The really sad thing about this hotel is the food. Really underwhelmed. We thought we would eat in the bar area and we ordered the pie. What came after some time was a vol au vent , three small potatoes and over salted vegetables. So sad this place could really do well if they sorted out the food. My husband did point out they last had an award for food five years ago!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayneleephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed all the facilities the hotel has to offer. It saddens me to hear that your food experience in our lounge/bar was not as expected. I can assure you that we are permanently looking for changes to improve our food offerings for our customers and will take your comments certainly very serious. We actually still hold the award, your husband mentioned to you. And it was awarded to us very recent, 2 month ago. We just seem to run out of space on our wall to display them.
Many thanks again for all your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a double bed which was SO small and short. We are two slim people, but just could not fit in. My husbands legs were hanging off (he is average height) .

The bed was also very uncomfortable. We just could not sleep((( The mattress was perhaps as old as the hotel. Yes, and the room was just tiny.

Extremely Disappointing experience, for what was meant to be a romantic bank holiday weekend away! Love New Forest, but never again in this hotel. There are better options for GBP 150!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 46 for sure
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Kindza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your comments about your visit to Balmer Lawn Hotel. The room you mentioned is actually advertised as small double standard room and contains therefore a standard 4’6’’ bed. It is in a very good condition as it has been refurbished to a high standard not long ago. The room is located with beautiful views on to the open forest. Overall I think your view of the hotel and its rooms is very unreasonable and not justified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As you drive in and the hotel appears behind a cricket pitch the building looks impressive and luxiourious.
The decor is beautiful and each room is individual, you can actually view every room on the website and request a specific room before you stay. We did not request but got the room we wanted :-) number 56, 2 double beds and a sofa bed.
The room was decorated beautifully and was spotless, the only downside was the water pressure in the shower was really low.
The room came with a huge TV and integrated DVD player, a really nice touch,
The gym was a bit crowed with equipment and looked a little dated but was functional which was nice. The jacuzzi and pool were both warm and inviting, but the sauna was so hot I burnt my leg on the wood as I sat down,
We did not order fro the restaurant as we went out for dinner but afternoon tea was great with a good selection of cakes.
The staff were all really warm and friendly especially Laura on the bar.
All in all we had a really great stay and I would love to go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank brinbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed all our facilities. It is also good to see that customer start taking note about our honesty when it comes to room bookings as you can look at pictures of the rooms you want to stay in. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about service especially in our lounge/bar. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,833 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Park Manor
New Park Manor
#8 of 10 in Brockenhurst
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £155 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing