We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay for large group.”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay for large group.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had a great stay with family and friends for a double 50th birthday celebration. Stayed two nights. Weather was fantastic. Suitable for all age groups. Food was excellent. Freshly cooked and very tasty. All staff were great and made us feel very welcome. Added bonus was a dog could stay in a few of the rooms. Good location as right next to entry location into New Forest, so able to go running. Also enjoyed the indoor pool and sauna.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johntravelsoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed your birthday celebrations. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our great homemade food as well as our service. I am glad you enjoyed all our fantastic facilities and appreciate the special offer to allow our four legged friends to stay with their owners. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    413
    129
    84
    49
See reviews for
369
770
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great hotel a mixture of old style service with upto date rooms first class food and facilities. Will certainly be going back. The location is great as it is central to all the attractions. There is good parking as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn. I am delighted to hear that you had such a good time and you did enjoy all facilities of the hotel. I am convinced that your next stay will be as enjoyable as the last one. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

On our wedding anniversary we went for a special lunch as we no longer go out much in the evening. It was a beautiful April day and we ate on the terrace. The staff were very helpful and friendly. As expected lunch was very modern (there was also a bar menu with several traditional pub dishes). What my husband describes as Chef School, but the pork was excellent, sliced and piled up on some spinach with sliced potatoes. Not what my dietician would describe as a balanced meal even with the side dish of vegetables that we ordered. This is not exclusive to Balmer Lawn, I know. We're not vegetarians and love meat but appreciate vegetables as well. The food was very tasty and quite filling and with a pleasant glass of the house wine we were well content. Balmer lawn is a lovely location in the forest with a wide view from the terrace and the main road is far enough away not to be obtrusive. There were several families staying in the hotel, most seemed to be enjoying the river across the road where there is a bit of a beach. We were told that the hotel is family owned which is perhaps why it was so calm and happy. We discussed staying here when the summer holiday rush is over and were offered a tour of the hotel which we declined, not being fitness freaks. All we would need are the hiking boots as we love the forest. We were mis-delivered an early cream tea which looked very, very interesting. Can't wait. Only real nig is the music playing on the terrace, we'd rather have been able to hear the birds. Lovely place, reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your lunch at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our home made food as well as atmosphere on the terrace. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about great staff. I am convinced that we will live up to your expectations again upon your return visit. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Balmer Lawn Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights with husband and baby and we had an excellent time. The room was upgraded for and we had so much space! Everything was spotlessly clean. The pool was fantastic. Breakfast delicious and lots of choice, fresh pastreys, fruit, full english etc. The staff were really really friendly, I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, and it is also in an excellent location so we could go for some bike rides.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that we had the service experience right for you and your family. I am glad that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade of the bedroom as well as the quality of our fantastic breakfast food. Many thanks for your complimentary comments about our staff, who are a real asset to the hotel. I look forward welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Reception staff were very welcoming. The room was lovely and the bed really comfortable. The breakfast buffet includes fresh fruit, home made cereal and cooked breakfast. The staff are attentive but not over the top. We didn't use the pool but it looked very inviting and we will definitely return to make full use of all the facilities. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_rache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed the food. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about our staff especially my receptionists. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night, to celebrate my birthday. We could not fault the hotel at all. All the food was amazing, especially the steak!! and the buffet breakfast in the morning was one of the best we had tasted, so much choice. We made use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi and found it all to be spotlessly clean. Special thanks to the girls in the Spa, whose back, shoulders and neck massage was pure bliss.....We stayed in room 31 and was very impressed at how clean it was and the balcony was an added bonus. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others,if they are looking to book a special break in the middle of the New Forest, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrschallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every detail of your stay with us. Many thanks for the much appreciated comments about all of our food and the service you received as well as all of our facilities. I am delighted to hear your especially complimentary comments about our girls in the spa. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at balmer lawn last July during the new forest show, short walk from the show ground so ideal location friendly staff and most of all table service outside into the early hours of the morning :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRtravin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you appreciate our location especially the short distance to the New Forest Show. Many thanks also for your complimentary comments regarding our service on the terrace until late. I look forward to welcoming you back for this year’s New Forest Show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,144 reviews
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,021 reviews
7.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,767 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing