We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgance Spa Day at Balmer Lawn”
Review of Balmer Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Indulgance Spa Day at Balmer Lawn”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What can I say! An absolutely fantastic relaxing day. Welcomed by such friendly staff and given coffee then shown around the spa facilities. With a facial at 11.00 and a chocolate mocha body scrub in the afternoon the day was ours to enjoy the inside and outside heated pool, steam room and gym facilities. Not to mention the lunch and afternoon tea that was provided. I really recommend the experience of such a lovely day with lovely staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerstarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to Saltus Spa at Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that we had the whole Spa experience just right for you including all the other services you experienced in bar/ lounge. I am delighted that you commented so positively on all my staff, a great asset to the hotel. I am even more delighted that you enjoyed your treatments at the Spa. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    414
    132
    84
    49
See reviews for
372
778
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bramley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited for Sunday Lunch and to listen to the Jazz.

Had pre lunch drinks in the bar, service good, but had to go up to order.

Lunch was excellent and had the Roast Beef and Pork, good helpings at the carver. You can order other food served at the table. Prices reasonable.

Not very large grounds and outside seating is close to its private road

Would certainly visit again soon

Room Tip: Only had Lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your Sunday lunch visit to Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our offerings for Sunday Lunch Carvery very much. Unfortunately we stopped the Carvery over the summer period and replaced this with our great Jazz BBQ, maybe something to try? Apologise for the bar service: we aim to give table service if possible, unfortunately when extremely busy it does not always work. I am delighted that you enjoyed all our good food and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is probably the best location to explore the New Forest. It offers direct forest access and some of the best views of any hotel in the area. We have teenagers and there was so much for them to do with both indoor and outdoor pools, gym, tennis and squash courts. Our room was a superior family room which was great and we were able to select our actual room from the hotel’s website. When I looked through there are lots of different room types and styles of décor so it is well worthwhile to have a good look around the website and book the room you actually want. All the staff are great from reception to the bar, the head-housekeeper was a real character and has been at the hotel for over 16 years which is great. We were lucky enough to be there for the first of their Summer BBQ’s, the chef pulled out all the stops and the display of food looked fantastic, the Jazz Band Ad Lib (I think were sensational a great way to finish off a fantastic weekend. Although the outside needs a lick of paint you can see they are working on the front of the Hotel – don’t let this put you off, this is a great hotel give it a whirl!!

Room Tip: Use the "Look before you book" feature on the hotel website to choose the room you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had such a great time and made use of all our facilities on offer. I am glad that you used our great feature “Book your room” and could choose your rooms in advance. I am even more delighted that you experienced our first summer BBQ and enjoyed what you could see and taste very much. Many thanks also for all your complimentary comments about the staff especially our head housekeeper. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Recently stayed in the hotel for a friends Wedding nearby. The hotel is situated in a fantastic part of the New Forest and with good weather it really did feel like we were on holiday. We stayed for a few nights and had a chance to relax in the hotel, the spa was really nice and seemed well looked after (Everything looked brand new pretty much). The hotel reminded us of Downton Abbey a bit, it had that country feel to it and the grounds were amazing. They also played music in the beer garden which i thought was a nice touch. The staff were all really polite to us and I would definitely recommend to other couples going to visit the new forest :)

Room Tip: I used the look before you buy facility on their website. Really helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your visit to Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time and came away very relaxed. I am even more delighted that the weather played into your hands and you could make use of our great outdoor area. Many thanks for the complimentary comments about our friendly staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I recently booked a party of 36 guests into the hotel for a corporate event hosted by my company, I dealt with a lady called Francesca from the Events Management Team, she was extremely helpful and efficient, the event ran smoothly the food was good and all the guests were happy with their stay at the Balmer Lawn. This is the second time I have used the hotel for a corporate function and would have no hesitation in using them again or recommending them to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your corporate event held at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that we were able to have your event running successfully and you enjoyed all our home made food as well as our service. Many thanks also for your comments about Francesca, my very efficient event’s organiser, definitely an asset to our business. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding in Sept 2012 to attend a wedding at the hotel. We were very impressed with the quality of the restaurant and the service was absolutely first class. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Would love to return here again if we get the chance to travel to the UK again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel whilst attending a wedding. I am delighted to hear that we had got the whole service experience right for you and you enjoyed the party very much. Many thanks also for the complimentary comments about my friendly and attentive staff. Should you travel to the UK again in the future I would be delighted to welcome you back to the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently took my elderly neighbours (Mollie & Tom) for Sunday lunch at Beresfords Restaurant in Balmer Lawn Hotel to celebrate Tom's 90th Birthday. From the time we arrived to the second we left it was all just perfect! Arriving early because two elders are quite difficult for me to manoeuvre on my own, we were greeted Front of House by Randy Gomez, the restaurant Manager and seated in the lounge area. We had an aperitif and went through to the Sunday lunch Carvery. For two oldies, they certainly knew how to eat good food! 3 courses and not a scrap left on their plates. The food and of course, the service was excellent, Randy was attentive and has impeccable manners, as did all of the staff on duty that day. Tom and Mollie were made to feel really special. The pianist was playing and Randy announced Tom's 90th birthday and everyone sang Happy Birthday to him, after which Tom stood up and took a bow! he was presented with a plate of home made chocolates with 'Happy Birthday' in chocolate sauce on the plate. I am told the chocolates were excellent, I didn't actually get offered one as Mollie and Tom tucked into them. They were both overwhelmed and shed a few tears of happiness. I cannot thank Randy and his staff enough for making their day and can recommend Beresford's highly especially if you are thinking of that special celebration. Superb food and service. My thanks to everyone at Balmer Lawn.

I hear that there is a fantastic BBQ lunch on the terrace on Sunday's through the summer, so must give that a try next!

Room Tip: We did not stay, but do use the website to choose your room, then you know what you are getting and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your lunch visit to the Balmer Lawn. I am delighted to hear that we had the whole service experience right for you and your neighbours and you enjoyed all of the home made food we offered. I am even more delighted that you found Randy my restaurant manager very pleasant and accommodating and that he you’re your day. I am glad that we did get out of the way and gave you a little surprise with the announcement as well as the “Happy Birthday” plate. And I can certainly confirm that we have now a BBQ on offer for Sundays throughout the summer. But the carvery will be also re-launched in early autumn. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon either for BBQ or for Sunday Carvery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
5.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Property: Balmer Lawn
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good quality 4 Star Hotel & Spa set right in the heart of the beautiful New Forest National Park. We have extensive leisure facilities - indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, 6 Spa treatment rooms and relaxation area, tennis and squash courts and fully equipped gym. Beresford's our award winning restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes offers some of the finest locally sourced foods in the area. You can access the Forest directly from the hotel. We have 6 rooms suitable for private, wedding and conference/corporate use. The hotel is privately owned and managed and we pride ourselves on offering great service. Book directly with the hotel for the best rates and room allocations inclusive of a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing