We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“girlie lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“girlie lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

looking forward to lunch unfortunately very disappointing it was a lovely sunny day but we weren't allowed to order sitting on the terrace we had to go in to our table trying to balance menus,champagne and water glasses! table service very very slow! puddings ok! wish it was better however going to try again in a couple of weeks for dinner! fingers crossed! will let you know but so far disappointing! :((

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at The Pig, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us, this kind of information is really important to us and helps us to improve the overall experience for our guests.
We're sorry that the service wasn't up to our usual standards on the day that you came to eat with us, we hope that when you return this has improved and that you have an enjoyable dinner....the brock eggs, Lyme Bay Diver Scallops and the New Forest Pigeon salad are firm favourites.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    367
    191
    121
    53
See reviews for
237
891
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Having stayed at Lime Wood last year we have been looking forward to the opening of The Pig. A visit to the boat show seemed an excellent opportunity to visit and we booked three nights in a comfy room. Although our booking was slightly last minute, the reservation staff were brilliant and made sure we had three nights in the same room rather than having to move round. The comfy room was just that - plenty large enough, and oh so comfortable!! The monsoon shower was probably one of the best we have experienced and the gowns were snug and capacious!!

We love good food and the menu at The Pig is interesting and varied. This is not about fine dining but good old fashioned food with a modern twist. Yum.

As a previous reviewer noted there is music all the time. With such a beautiful setting I'm not altogether sure it was necessary, but you tune it out after a while! The actual fabric of the hotel is detailed and if all you want to do is chill this is the place. We loved the fact that breakfast was served until 10.30am on Saturday and Sunday and no one was in a rush to do anything. There were signs of activity - Wellington boots and mountain bikes, but the general vibe seemed to nod more towards reading newspapers sat on squishy, comfy sofas in front of open fires. What a fantastic way to spend a Sunday morning!!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at The Pig, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate the feedback, it's a great help for us to ensure that we are doing everything we can for our guests.
We're please that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and had a relaxing weekend.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbridge, suffolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is perfect to 'get away from it all' and just relax, much more like an old Friends house in the country than a formal hotel. There has been a tremendous amount of effort put into the very smallest detail of furnishings, tableware and glasses etc which are all eclectic and lovely. The beds are enormous (we had a comfortable room) and the shower is the best I have ever experienced. I would recommend that you leave plenty of time for just relaxing as the environment is just stunning both inside and out. If you want a weekend in a country house with big fires and delicious food to return to after a long walk through the woods then this is most definitely the place to be. If you are lucky enough to get the chairs next to it, the outside fireplace is the most wonderful place to have the last drink of the day and wind down after dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at The Pig, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
We're really pleased that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us here at The Pig! We really appreciate you taking the time out to write a review and give us your feedback.
We hope that you will come back and see us again sometime soon.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a hotel which has had a great deal spent on it lately. It's charming and shows great attention to detail and does a good job of hi-lighting the surrounds and showcasing the wonderful food. The staff are keen and make you feel welcome straight away.

+ves
Wonderful location & easy to find. Impressive looking property.
Quiet with lovely rooms and I'd recommend to pay for a mid-sized room if your budget allows. The small rooms must be very cozy indeed.
A very comfy bed and a lovely, large bathroom.
Smart organic amenities but surprisingly (deliberately?) lacking the 5-star look.
Absolutely the best bathrobes.
Fancy minibar and posh nespresso (tick). A nice biscuit to go with that cuppa would get people raving
Breakfast and dinner excellent.
Super that guests can walk around the kitchen garden

-ves
No little extras which make you feel like your premium priced weekend is complete. Like a biscuit for my tea in the room for example, or some neatly placed olives when the drinks arrive at the bar (don't worry, people will still order the piggy bits).
The service is good but the staff need some more time to settle in. Consider getting some more mature/experienced role models?
The prohibitive cost of an outing with the forager - 100 pounds. Seriously?
The terribly out of place Hotel Costes/Cafe del Mar sound track at all hours. Perhaps have one of your creative staff to put together a more suitable and eclectic playlist to add to the ambience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browniecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at The Pig, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for reviewing us here at The Pig, it's extremely helpful as it enables us to constantly improve our services.
We're glad that you had an enjoyable stay with and thank you for all of the feedback - we will be sure to look the points you mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

What a wonderful hotel deep in the New Forest, a place where you could stay forever and not get tired of the sumptous and relaxing environment. Its a place that you would want to be at throughout the year and experience the four seasons in the forest. The food is top class but but but we have been several times and the menu for the main courses in far too limited and does not vary. When you pick up the menu you instantly think wow, its vast however delve deeper and the main courses are limited to 5 dishes...yes the scallops are wonderful, even the rissotto was delightful but I have had those and next time I'll have no option but to go for the steak. So please Pig people add a couple of new items to the menu...pork or lamb. Surprising, for an establishment called The Pig, that the only Pork on the menu was on the Piggy bits menu! And they are wonderful.

The staff are really friendly and welcoming as though you are old friends visiting time and time again BUT they are overly attentive; we had 5 different people come to us in the bar checking whether we were okay....there is attentive and there is attentive...they became a nuisance in the end. This over attentiveness spilled over into the restaurant too, they were coming and going from our table every few minutes. Give us one waiter or waitress, that's all we need!

We'll be visiting again but the menu has to be more diverse otherwise we'll prefer the gastro pubs in and around Brockenhurst.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at The Pig, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review for The Pig, your comments are greatly appreciated by the whole team.
We're glad you have been to the hotel so much and enjoy eating with us, our menu changes on a daily basis depending on what we find in the garden and what our producers have for us on the day. Depending when you last visited we have changed the menu and added new main course dishes from Portland dressed crab, New Forest partridge to Venison and damson pie.
We hope you'll be back soon to try it all out.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for one night (Sunday 11 September) and had the most wonderful room. It was one of the largest rooms with triple aspect, a large bathroom and a dressing area. The bathroom was fabulous - big walk in shower with lovely tiles and huge shower head on one side and then a rather splendid stand-alone bath in which to wallow.
The bed was huge and probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Lovely white linens on the bed, great green waffle and towelling robes and fluffy towels in the bathroom. Here comes the first quibble - having used the bath towels that evening before dinner they remained hanging in the bathroom overnight for us to use again the next morning. We would have liked to have had them changed and nice new fresh ones ready for us to use the next day.
The lighting in the bar was perfect - down low and some great music playing. Cocktails arrived and were drank quickly. Dinner in the restaurant was very good - not fantastic. The service was a tad erratic - issue with wine not arriving in time for the starter and a couple of gentle reminders. Our table was also a bit out of the main restaurant area so we felt we were looking onto the other diners. As with a previous review it seemed that the service was trying to be efficient but it just wasn't joined up enough. The restaurant is a great space and very Petersham Nurseries-esque.
Breakfast was a feast - some lovely granola and other fresh goodies. Quibble number 3 was the separate pricing for the breakfast - it would be much better to have a B&B rate. Also, I didn't like to have to toast my own toast - if you are paying for a cooked breakfast then toast should be a part of the package.

Overall though a fabulous country house hotel in a great location. The design and use of antiques and fabrics throughout the house is well thought through and the use of organically homegrown fruit and veg makes a big difference. Will definitely be back when the turn down service has begun!!

Room Tip: If you can, go for the larger rooms - lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lordluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria_gibbs, Marketing Assistant at The Pig, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate any feedback as it ensures that everyones opinions are heard and allows for us to then act on them.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your room so much as well as the interiors throught the hotel. Your comments will be passed on, so thank you for helping us improve our services.
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Fabulous lodge for weekend break in the heart of the New Forest. So many snug corners to relax in, the hardest decision was deciding which room to sit in for afternoon tea! Would definitely recommend for people looking for reasonably priced, friendly, cosy and beautifully presented hotel. With forest walks, bike trails, tennis courts on your doorstep. Thoroughly enjoyed the 15 mile radius menu, and great to see so much support and passion for local area. Thank you Piglets for sharing your gorgeous home!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which open directly onto courtyard in summer as will lose privacy as soon as you open do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari_girl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing