We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't get married here in 2012 - they're fully booked. You can't get married in here 2013 either.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You can't get married here in 2012 - they're fully booked. You can't get married in here 2013 either.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I read a review on The Pig regarding booking a wedding there which said "So if you're just an average couple, with money to spend, you should feel very privileged if they let you in, let alone let you stay. Disgusted. Shocked. Aggravated. But ultimately not surprised" I completely agree. I called in January and spoke to Sue in their Events dept. having told her the bare minimum of details and without mentioning a date I was told "I don't think your wedding would work here" and was told they were fully booked for 2012. When I asked about booking for 2013 I was told this was not an option as they were reviewing the whole thing. Sue assumed I just wanted a ceremony and reception, but I would have been happy to hire the venue exclusively regardless of the cost. I'm quite happy to spend my money elsewhere now. Maybe they should advertise that they are fully booked for 2012, or just be honest about what they offer and who they offer it to.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    361
    188
    118
    51
See reviews for
233
878
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Following months of waiting to get in for dinner, we eventually managed to book in this past Friday 20th January 2012.

On arrival we loved the whole ambience and atmosphere and we were all really looking forward to a lovely evening.

Thats about it for the good experience!

We ordered drinks, or shall I say tried too! There seemed to be a massive language barrier, the French speaking barman struggled to prepare 4 drinks for us.

Following a brief drink we got taken to our table, the waitress didn’t offer to take our coats, it was only when one of us asked if it was a possibility she offered to take them off us!

After taking a further drinks order at the table we got offered a basket of warm bread, a lovely idea, however we had no side plates on the table, is it normal to butter and eat your bread off the table?

We all ordered starters and 3 out of the 4 came out, we asked the question as to where the 4th starter was and it was almost to the waitresses amusement as she thought all the starters had arrived! By this time as we waited, the food started getting cold!

The mains soon followed, the pork belly salad we ordered was over seasoned and over powered by the mustard, the pork was all fat and was slapped on the plate, the baby squid may have just been a plate of garlic! These two plates were left uneaten. As for the pork belly and Pie at the Pig these dishes were acceptable but didn’t wow us by any stretch of the imagination!

During our mains we got rudely approached by a member of staff who asked if we wanted to try the Red wine, it wouldn’t have been a problem however, 1. We were already half way through our main meal and 2. We never ordered a bottle in the first place. Now it’s not the biggest restaurant, is it acceptable for a member of staff to get something like this wrong! A poor effort in saying sorry was barely heard!

Throughout the evening I must have had 3 -4 people bump into the back of my chair, never an apology! It was a struggle to get the attention of staff for another drink!

All in all, although it was a busy evening the general service and food was extremely poor, the staff seemed young and inexperienced. The food never lived up to expectations and we left still very hungry, not feeling at the money we spent was worth a penny of it!

Such a major disappointment on our behalf as we had heard such good things about the restaurant!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank icekin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Went to this new restaurant to celebrate wife's birthday. The service was first class and they went to great to great length to inform us that much of the food was grown on site. The food was good but they grossly overcharged on the drinks. £9.50 for a large glass of Shiraz and £6.00 for a martini and lemonade is diabolical.and does not include service charge. We really object to paying £86.00 for a 2 course lunch whatever the quality and ambience. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at The Pig for Christmas Eve through to Boxing Day and loved every minute. The atmosphere is totally relaxed and laid back yet you feel very 5 star.
The food was just to die for. Every crumb was loaded with flavour and cooked to perfection. The staff are knowledgable and know how to look after guests.
We woke up on Xmas morning to a suprise hamper outside our door which was so unexpected.
The room was clean and very comfortable.
The person who designed this establishment deserves to win awards.
The eating area design is one of the best we have experienced.
We absolutely can not wait to visit again.
Well done!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Pig is a unique hotel, subtle but quirky, classy yet with no pretensions, and definitely out of the ordinary. We stayed between Christmas and New Year, and the hotel was full. Despite that, service was attentive, but not overpowering. Everything you could want for a relaxing break was available. It’s a beautifully designed hotel, understated in every way, yet full of touches that you immediately appreciate and make you smile. Really comfortable rooms, good mini-bar with Nespresso machine, excellent bathrooms (massively heavy water pressure for the shower). Downstairs a choice of menus, both snack and restaurant, listing food with proper provenance for once, and plenty of different cosy areas (lots of open fires) to settle down in and while away the time. The bar is very relaxed, and feels like a private study. Dinner was excellent, and you don’t feel as though you are being treated as a captive audience as in some hotels where they know they can charge the earth and deliver very little. Breakfast, unusually, was a treat; as they are clever enough at The Pig to leave you to do most of your own foraging around the room, so you never feel as though there’s a danger you won’t get fed or looked after. There’s a great choice on the buffet, which, once again, is rare. Children are also fairly catered for – kids’ dinners and breakfasts are half the price of the adults and just as good. So throw in the attraction of their own vegetable gardens, pigs, chickens and lack of apparent “rules” and you have a wonderful alternative to the lazy approach of so many of our country house hotels. At The Pig, you know they are really trying to offer something that is guest led. And relatively, The Pig is not expensive. Don’t expect formality and subservience – you won’t get it. Equally, don’t search too hard for chintz, doyleys or fish knives. They must have thrown them out when they closed the previous hotel that stood here. And what a relief.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were recommended The Pig by a friend and it absolutely didn’t disappoint. The best description I can give is something they offer: the hiring out of Hunter wellies! Hunter are obviously very prestigious and expensive with a real bent towards the ‘rural’. That’s exactly what The Pig offers. Not having any expectations, the bumpy drive way doesn’t give much away. When you see the multiple nice cars parked outside though you quickly realise this is a place that has something special about it. We got a drink in the beautifully appointed bar on some comfy sofas and nice dark wood bar. The restaurant is basically in the conservatory and has a real quirky feel. All of the tables and chairs are different and potted plants are lined along the wall! Could be a little ‘grandma’s house’ but they’ve achieved a high-quality finish with a rustic feel. Food was good. Possibly not quite worth the £16 for the pork loin but it was superb and ultimately you pay for the fantastic interior too. My advice; forget the money, it’s not too bad anyway and just enjoy the ambience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Recently spent two nights at The Pig. Had courtyard rooms as originally were going to take dogs but decided against it. The rooms were beautifully furnished and spotless. However, the railway line behind the courtyard became a little irritating after a while but it was only a minor inconvenience.

The food, albeit expensive, is second to none. There were 5 of us eating one night and we all loved our choices. The venison was spectacular.

I cannot fault the staff. We were looked after the moment we entered the hotel. All staff very willing and very knowledgeable.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionamaidofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing