We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but very average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but very average food”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Whilst the bar is whimsical and the greenhouse setting of the restaurant interesting, the food was disappointing, especially for a restaurant who places such high regard for local and kitchen garden produce. No problems with the service (as others here have suggested), but we found the presentation of the dishes a little clumsy and overall, lacklustre in taste.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkling17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    366
    190
    120
    53
See reviews for
235
891
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We've just come back from a stay in room 5 at The Pig. I very much enjoyed the whole package although we did not try out the treatments because you can only have them done individually and we like to have them done together when away.

The various chill out rooms e.g. the bar and the lounge are fantastic to just sit in with a drink and read the papers or a magazine. The service in the bar is better than the service in the restaurant even though there's a relatively-new South African waiter who single handedly makes up for any shortcomings by being attentive yet discreet, knowledgeable, polite and always smiling!

Our room was not huge but the bed was! Although it faced the front of the hotel it wasn't noisy and we slept with the windows open (this morning a horse calling its friends woke us up!). The shower is fantastic, being big and powerful.

The food is also very very good and the restaurant is lovely, half set in the conservatory. The location is also great if you fancy exploring the New Forest and surrounding areas. However, the Red Lion pub/restaurant that the hotel recommended was actually not very good, so I would go elsewhere if you are looking to eat out at some point. The toiletries are OK but not great so make sure you remember to bring your own. The towels though are very very fluffy and soft.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Go for something away from the 'communal areas' as sound can travel and any music can be hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federicaontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I went here for a late lunch on Friday with two friends on our way to a gig at the BIC. The menu is amazing and we recommend everyone to try some "piggy bits". We particularly enjoyed the Crackling and the Brock Eggs. Members of our party had the Pork Belly. the Plaice and the Bream. All good ingredients very well prepared. Side Orders ware also delightful. The staff were attentive, friendly and very much added to our experience. We want to come back as soon as possible and also will come and stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Tried to book a room here but fully booked so instead headed down for lunch on a Friday en-route to the coast.
Very nice spot, lovely converted old victorian pile with quirky features and splendid conservatory/dining room. Staff eager to please and the food was 1st class. I have never tasted cracking as good as they serve here, yes its their speciality but my god they get it right, just dont go if you are on a diet !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

spent the week end with friends and children . it was a great experience. hotel is in the centre of the new forest, the decoration is absolutely charming, the bedrooms are lovely, the service is great and accommodated any request, the food is very good and innovative. what helps was probably the 2 days of blue sky !!!!

Room Tip: ask the for the rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruno t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

We spent the night yesterday. Our room was a converted old stable and had been thoughtfully and sympathetically converted. The bed and bedding was excellent. The food in the restaurant was well received by all four in my party, the breakfast was totally unusual in its selection of fruits and cereals . We stay almost exclusively at five star or occassionally boutique hotels and in every aspect, this was a match for the best in its bracket. Thoroughly recommended

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank A1sportingspeakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We visited The Pig for lunch and spent time walking around the grounds. The entire place is lovely, with a high-end English Country feel. The grounds are beautiful and the food was just delicious. Inside the hotel the common areas are very relaxed and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank American_in_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,115 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing