We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best food I ever had, great walks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
london
1 review
“Some of the best food I ever had, great walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The kitchen is second to none. Extremely full flavoured, authentic food, creatively presented. Menu is original yet includes comforty food. Simply amazing! After a long meal, a long walk is a must and the forest area around is superb. Endless walks. A very beautiful location. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. overall a superb stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    361
    188
    117
    51
See reviews for
233
876
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Overpriced rather plain food for all the hype and very annoyingly unprofessional service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LincolnTanyaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Having stayed at Limewood House for our first wedding anniversary we thought we'd give The Pig (Limewood's sister Hotel) a try for a Jubilee Weekend Treat.

The feel of The Pig is very different from Limewood. As the title suggests it's 26 bedroomed country rustic hotel in the middle of the New Forest. I use the word rustic in this review in the best sense as we felt they got this just about right. The emphasis of the hotel is all about the locally sourced and grown on site produce served in the Restaurant.

Talking of which, we ate in the Restaurant for dinner and also for breakfast (beware that the room rate does not include breakfast) - £10 continental and £15 'Pig Out' Full English. The quality of the food was very good as was the friendly service on both counts. The Restaurant is set out as if you are in a posh potting shed of a large country house.

The rooms are well appointment and sympathetically decorated in keeping with the feel of the hotel - roll top bath, rain shower, small dressing area and four poster bed in the Spacious Rooms, which we chose (room 17) and we were very happy with it. The mini bar offered among the usual items, sherbet dibdabs, black jacks, fruit salad chews etc. - a big tick and a nice touch from someone who is used to seeing the 'same old overpriced items' on offer.

It's not a cheap hotel albeit it's cheaper option than Limewood - given the choice where would be choose....Limewood House, but both offer a lovely weekend getaway and is definitely a place to stay or go for a meal if you are a 'foody'.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

There were so many reasons I wanted to write a gushing review of this hotel - mainly because they got so many things right and were very friendly to me, my husband and our two dogs. Pre- booking they were great and confirmed everything a few days prior to arrival.

The location is lovely . There is a main railway in earshot and the usual farm and country smells are added to by being close to a water treatment plant. Neither of these particularly bothered us though it's something to be aware of if you think this would bother you - certainly neither impacted on sleep or appetite.

Rooms were excellent, clean and well stocked, lovely bathrooms, great blackout style curtains and the most amazing bath and comfortable bed. Generally well designed and stylish.

There is a small village close by and lots of very English days out within walking distance including excellent cycling and walking access in the adjoining woods and it's probably here where there are a few small touches that could be added to make it event better.

For example reception told us to be very careful when walking to Brockenhurst as there is no path and people drive fast in the lane, we did actually find a path ourselves on our way back and when we mentioned it coming back another member of staff said " Oh yes, all the staff take that cut to come to work, it's much safer" - It's not tragic - it didn't spoil our stay but it would have been great to join up these two bits of info - and to maybe even offer us the map that we got the next day when we saw some others requesting one. Another nice touch would have been to offer the maps on check in for example. But they give umbrellas and wellies out so in the scheme of things it's no biggie.

In terms of attention to detail - another example would be it's a lovely dog friendly space but there is no where to put dog poo bags - we rather red faced had to give them to the cleaners as there was no bin - again another tiny detail and certainly not enough to cancel out the excellent service and welcome they gave our pets during the stay.

The restaurant is busy and draws lots of people to stay and just for the locally sourced and home cooked food - much of which comes from within a 25 mile radius. You can even visit the garden and see all the produce growing. There is a lovely courtyard restaurant / area too with open fire and wood fired cooking oven and smoking house. There is a well stocked and quirky bar and they make some great cocktails. Tables are in the greenhouse looking out over the grounds.

The booklet in the rooms describes the menu as changing by the minute according to what is available - a bold claim - we stayed two nights and the entire menu was the same both nights including the daily specials - again not holiday shattering and the choice and quality was excellent. I think it is the very high expectation that is set - you then feel like it doesn't quite match up - they'd almost be better lowering the expectation set as they do so many good things.

I would concur the staff is young and inexperienced but I'd also add I think they bring a great attitude and cope admirably with some very difficult clients. They may benefit from adding a more experienced front of house manager to help them through their initial establishment or perhaps I am missing the point - it's not supposed to be precise ?

Overall I enjoyed our stay but am not sure I'd recommend to friends just yet.

Room Tip: We had the dog house which is excellent for those with dogs as it comes with a dog bed, bowls and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cconta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Unusual hotel with a special feel for a weekend stay. The rooms were fairly small, sparse but beautifully styled in a trendy way. The bar and restaurant were extremely pleasant and made for a wonderful evening. Take time to walk through the gardens and see the homegrown vegetables that will be served later!
The swing in the garden is a hit with everyone, especially as two of you can get on it at the same time.
The staff were pleasant and always on hand to offer help on locations to visit.
Certainly will go back and have another relaxing weekend in the New Forest.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I had the most the lovely break here with my husband away from the kids for once! Thank you so much. We both had one of the best massages in the sweet potting shed in the garden and I just want to rave about the great Bramley bathroom products you have........ we both still smelt good when we got home, taking a little bit of the Pig with us!

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Comprising a former Victorian manor house discreetly located deep in the tranquil New Forest, The Pig is an understated, yet tastefully furnished small boutique hotel. Rooms are located in both the main house and in a number of converted outbuildings. The staff were all very kind and happy to assist and generally made our special occasion that bit more memorable with their good attention to detail. Bikes can be used (though not free of charge) to roam the forest and the grounds are exceptionally tranquil. The Pig is clearly aimed at foodies with much of its produce being grown within a walled garden. Otherwise all ingredients are sourced within a claimed 25 miles. The dining room is an exceptionally atmospheric conservatory and the standard of cuisine is both unfussy, not at all meagre and delivered to a very high standard. The wine list is extensive and Adrienne the sommelier was insightful and good fun. Massages treatments can be booked sufficiently in advance, but don't expect a spa. It's a potting shed (though one that is probably the most comfortable in which you will have been). Despite the high standards, I left with one particular gripe. The pricing. The hotel markets itself on an acceptable rate, but cunningly excludes VAT. Breakfast is also excluded. The wines were, on balance, highly priced, with little selection at the more value end. However, that was probably not of concern to the majority of the Pigs well heeled clientèle, but one to bare in mind if you are looking for a special few nights away but on a budget.

Room Tip: The Stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranger2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing