We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Spot”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific Spot”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Every aspect of this "restaurant with rooms" was first rate, save one.* Our room was in the former stables and while not huge was more than comfortable, with enough pampering to make us feel special. My wife enjoyed a facial and I had a massage from the expert hands of Heidi, in the very unique potting shed.

The library and drawing rooms in the main building had roaring fires all afternoon and evening, as the weather was already a bit nippy. The food (and atmosphere in the dining room) were terrific with a lot of pig choices (natch) as well as seafood, and plenty of other options. Service was very good by the mostly young, eager-to-please staff.

*Our only drawback was the skill of the somewhat inexperienced bartenders. Also, other than the natural beauty of the New Forest area, the area villages were nothing to speak of. A two-night visit is perfect, IMO.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodmktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    369
    192
    125
    52
See reviews for
241
898
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have visited several of Robin Hutson's properties and are a huge fan of what he does.... however this hotel is now a victim of its own success.

We have stayed here on several occasions however our last visit last weekend, where we had taken friends, was a huge disappointment. Whilst the hotel/country house has a lovely feel to it and the staff are very welcoming and friendly, the restaurant, in particular the breakfast service, is hugely chaotic, random, disorganised and a shambolic mess. None of us have seen anything so badly managed. There was no management of the room, tables, nor service. The waitresses had no clue who ordered what, who was waiting on what. In a similar way to other comments on the site the it is indeed very noisy (which was compounded by badly behaved children) but the main issue is with very poor service and ill-trained staff - waiting 20 minutes for coffee/coffee refills, being served a large pot of tea with one tea bag, waiting +15 mins for bread for the toaster(we gave up), plates not being cleared but they keep bringing your order(s) to the table with no where to put the items, the cleared plates being piled high on the table by the juices for at least an hour, and plates not being replenished with pastries etc even with a half hour to go before breakfast finished provide a very un-relaxed and unexpected breakfast experience. On both days we and our guests left the breakfast incredibly stressed. For the prices being charged for breakfast this is an area that needs massive improvement.
The hotel also needs to address how in the noisy conservatory they handle large groups with small children. Both mornings we had 6 mis-behaving children with ineffectual parents. Several guest were clearly unhappy about the noise levels and the lack of handling about the situation. Three couples with 6 children on one table does not lend itself to a peaceful breakfast for the other paying guests. Obviously the hotel wlecomes families but it is ill-prepared to cope/handle them. By pandering to those with children you have ultimately got bad press from the other 20 rooms who were trying to relax.
It is after all meant to be a relaxing peaceful weekend break in the country!

Possibly the eye is off the ball whilst they focus on Bath and Pig on The Beach. Not an excuse. On a positive we did complain about the issues at breakfast and they refunded our breakfasts, but that's not the point is it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank gailtorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A six month wait for table builds up the anticipation to eat at the 'in place" - the venue is great, the staff helpful, but in the end it is all about the food, which was good but not great and failed live up t expectations - better dining awaits at other local venues.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyFormathorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Visited The PIg last weekend with friends and were greeted by a friendly waitress who showed us to the lounge for a drink, however several sofa's and chairs appeared to be reserved [something I have never seen before in a lounge area]. When we went through to the restaurant we were seated in a corner at a table that really was only big enough for 2 and a very tight squeeze for 4! Firstly the bread was brought to the table but no plates were supplied [this is the norm and you are expected to hold the bread in your hand whilst you spread the butter on it and then hold it all the time you are eating it?!? We all ordered starters and main courses, two of us ordered the same mushroom starter which were very nice my partners crab pasta dish was OK and the other member of our party said their trout was acceptable. Our friends shared a Lamb main course which they enjoyed, my partner had their specialist Pork Cheek dish which he also said was tasty, I however had ordered their home smoked pork sausage, unfortunately I could taste no smoke at all and they lacked flavour, the pork sausages from our local supermarket are abetter buy. The wine list is good and we enjoyed a bottle of Italian Red which was most enjoyable.
The Restaurant was very busy and noisy as the table were somewhat crammed in and we all said that this spoilt the evening for us as it was a struggle to follow all of the conversation.

All in all an OK meal but would not rush back as the price is on the higher end of the market.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vinecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We've now stayed twice and not been disappointed. Lovely relaxed vibe and fabulous food. We stayed in the main house both times. The room was small but perfectly formed. Great shower and toiletries, wonderful bed and beautiful sheets. But this place is all about the locally foraged food. And it's well worth the visit. Just save some room for breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison_Albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We just had a happy and relaxing stay in The Pig, and would like to come back, but are also keen to pass on some detailed feedback as the experience could be significantly improved. We stayed in Room 1, one of the cheapest 'snug' rooms, and were very happy with it. The bed and shower in particular were both fantastic. The main reason we chose The Pig was for the food and it wasn't as thrilling as we'd hoped. We had two dinners and two cooked breakfasts.

Dinner on the first evening was hit & miss - cavolo nero risotto starter, pork fillet main and ginger cake with plums all really delicious. But queenie scallops the most minuscule portion I've ever seen (I am aware they are small!), cheese too cold, and side dish of 'buttered mixed greens' really bad - tough and tasteless and barely buttered - when I had been really looking forward to the garden produce! Service also a bit strange - sherry delivered as 'your glass of port', and we had to ask to be told which cheeses we had been given. Breakfast on second day fantastic - buffet stuff great, and both cooked dishes very good - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and scrambled eggs on top of a wonderful mushroom - the only problem was that we were instructed to make our own toast, and didn't have time to do it before the food arrived, and then burnt it the first time as we weren't familiar with the toaster - so we totally failed to have warm toast with our hot food. Coffee good. Dinner on second night was a great success - pork belly with pickled fennel, t-bone steak, pigeon breast (not 'breasts' as advertised but it was big enough), ice cream & sorbets and crannachan all very well done. Service also really good - e.g. our order of carrots was forgotten and when we asked for it came quickly and was not charged for. Breakfast on third day a bit of a let down after that. We asked for toast to be made for us as a favour to arrive with our cooked food and it came covered in butter, which we had not asked for. So we made our own again . . . Scrambled eggs on a mushroom were very runny, and the poached egg with my (very good - but half the size of my neighbour's!) kipper was also underdone, with runny whites. And the coffee was much worse (very weak) - I reverted to tea.

Music in the restaurant - and elsewhere in the hotel - is a weird mix of pop and funk and country and club (and other genres I can't identify) - sometimes fab, sometimes cringey, sometimes intrusive.

Tea in the room good and fresh milk very welcome. They also had a nespresso (I think) machine which we didn't get round to trying. Mineral water in the room is £3.95 a bottle - so we got some tap water from the restaurant, no problem.

The wine list is bizarre - there are some great wines on it, but as it's not organised in any detectable logical way (e.g. by price, or region, or even grape variety which is the first line of how they are all described, however well known the appellation) you have to read the whole thing to find them. Too many are also just described as 'the most famous' etc - when it would be nice to have at least an attempt at a tasting note. We stuck to wines by the glass - of which it would be lovely if there were more, and they were all fine. The second evening we even asked to taste two of the wines - which was no problem and very helpful. The markups are on the high end.

The bar is beautiful and we were really looking forard to having a pre-dinner cocktail there on the second evening. And the cocktails we had were delicious - a Smack The Pony and a vodka martini made with The Pig's own fennel-infused vodka. But they were really tiny - the martini came only half way up an already small glass, the other revealed itself as very small when it became apparent the glass was full of ice. Maybe we are spoilt in London but this was a big disappointment and didn't incline us to order more. The only Champagne available by the glass was just ok, and came in assorted glasses one of which was not fun to drink out of (very thick glass).

We had a 'flatbread' (i.e a pizza) and two great local beers in the outside area for lunch on the last day, and left overall very happy despite these quibbles. I really do feel that with a few tweaks this place could be five stars all round! The location and general feel of the place are lovely.

Room Tip: Snug room - cheapest type - was very comfortable if you don't need a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolcetto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Visited for lunch in late September. Fabulously crafted and presented food in an elegant, garden like setting. High quality without pretension, the perfect symbiosis between natural surroundings, resources and the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeb1kinobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing