We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Amazing location, fantastic restaurant with the most incredible atmosphere. Lunch was just perfect, cooked to perfection. Very attentive staff and a really good selection of wines to suit just about every kind of food. As a vegetarian the selection was plentiful and exciting, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    367
    191
    121
    53
See reviews for
237
891
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Visited for lunch on Monday 21st Oct. This was booked by the wife as a surprise, on arrival was promptly greeted by friendly staff and shown to lounge/ bar for pre meal drinks in front of fire. We were able to order our meal from here and when seated at the table was served by friendly helpful staff. Food was fantastic ( pork belly salad for starter and venison pie) after dessert we were given the option to be served our coffee in the lounge/ bar. Although busy we weren't rushed and service was still exceptional.
Will defiantly visit again, next time we'll be booking a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A group of ladies met at The Pig for a glass of Champagne & canapés. The glass of Champagne was good , as was the service BUT the meagre, all pork based canapés were hugely disappointing. The room was pretty but not conducive for sitting and socialising - the cost at £20.50 per person was definitely over the top for a bowl of piggy nibbles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We went with some friends for dinner, havent been for a few months, we had the most amazing dinner, the pork fillet was amazing as was the pork belly! The staff are fantastic and the hotel is fabulous! Last time I went I had a little moan as I found it irritating that you could only order at the table, this has been changed and we ordered sitting in the lounge by the fire! hooray, cant wait to go back, would go every week but its fully booked!:{

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

No vege option - best they could offer was taking out the meat from a meat dish on the menu. And a boring soup to start. Whoopee! A very underwhelming restaurant not worth the hype. On the plus side, New Forest location was nice - but then there are plenty of other New Forest restaurants...

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesj47jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Celebrated a friend's birthday at short notice. We could only get a table for 21:00 but arrived earlier for drinks in the bar. With winter just around the corner, the evening was dark & wet outside but this just added to the atmosphere inside.

The service was probably the most attentive I've experienced at The Pig and it has never been poor by any stretch of the imagination! After we finished cocktails, we were seated (early - result!). The restaurant was packed which just added to the ambience.

The food was amazing. A friend had the pig-chap (half of a pigs face inc. jaw & teeth). No what I would chose but presented with finesse and he loved it. I however started with black-pudding salad with a ducks egg, followed by Isle-of-Wight blue cheese risotto. Both were out-of-this world....

The meal finished with coffee which was served in the study. A perfect end to a perfect evening.

We left full, contented and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Pig was amazing - the food was delicious and the service was impeccable. We wish we had stayed there as well as eaten there but there was no vacancy. If you are reading this review then stop, make a reservation, and enjoy. You wont be disappointed.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TRICIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing