We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luscious Lunch”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luscious Lunch”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Wow what can I say....We ordered a Pork fillet with mash for lunch and it was one of the best dishes I've eaten in a while. Each mouthful was devine....we didn't want it to end! After lunch, we decided to relax in one of the lounges, where we felt very much at home. One member of staff was very friendly and attentive by lighting the candles, turning on the coal fire and he also gave us an opportunity to sample taste a selection of their fine beverages. We felt very welcome and the service was fab! Would highly recommend The Pig.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieFanatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    374
    192
    126
    52
See reviews for
245
904
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Visited for lunch with family, including a four year old grand daughter. She was very well catered for from a children's menu and enjoyed playing on the swing later. .The food was excellent, and staff very friendly and attentive. .Altogether a memorable lunch in a wonderful setting and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahs1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went to the pig after a number of strong recommendations from friends.
Sadly I was very disappointed with my stay. The room was well furnished and the bed was comfortable but the room smelt strongly of sewage shortly after arriving.
This was pointed out to the hotel who stated that this happens when it rains heavily! I would like to have known this before arriving please, plus no compensation was given for this foul smell, there was an attitude of get on with it. They did visit the room three times to put cleaner down the drain and eventually the smell did go but I found this totally ruined my stay.

The one redeeming feature was the excellent breakfast hence 2 stars and not 1.
I will not be recommending this hotel to any friends and I feel the hotel is new resting on its reputation.

Room Tip: find out if rain has affected the drains before going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spoonman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have visit here several times to eat and sleep. Food is beautiful, nice relaxed atmosphere and good for a nice walk in the Hunters they provide for guests after filling your belly. The actual pig is pretty cute too!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Amazing location, fantastic restaurant with the most incredible atmosphere. Lunch was just perfect, cooked to perfection. Very attentive staff and a really good selection of wines to suit just about every kind of food. As a vegetarian the selection was plentiful and exciting, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Visited for lunch on Monday 21st Oct. This was booked by the wife as a surprise, on arrival was promptly greeted by friendly staff and shown to lounge/ bar for pre meal drinks in front of fire. We were able to order our meal from here and when seated at the table was served by friendly helpful staff. Food was fantastic ( pork belly salad for starter and venison pie) after dessert we were given the option to be served our coffee in the lounge/ bar. Although busy we weren't rushed and service was still exceptional.
Will defiantly visit again, next time we'll be booking a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A group of ladies met at The Pig for a glass of Champagne & canapés. The glass of Champagne was good , as was the service BUT the meagre, all pork based canapés were hugely disappointing. The room was pretty but not conducive for sitting and socialising - the cost at £20.50 per person was definitely over the top for a bowl of piggy nibbles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,687 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing