We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and nothing special”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 17 for a Monday night in November for my husbands birthday. Reception were very welcoming. Our room was nothing special, but at £185 for the night it was OK. The bed was terrible. Please change the Super King mattress - you roll into the middle of it constantly. Went to the bar for pre dinner drinks and had to wait 10 minutes to be served. Very over priced but a very impressive wine list. We were then squashed in to the dining room, but at least we got a table for 2 as a 2, and not sharing a table! The food was over priced but very nice - apart from the crab which had absolutely no meat in it what so ever and was sent back. DON'T HAVE THE CRAB! Choose from the bar snacks for the starters very very good especially the pig crackling. Service was OK, nothing special. Had our coffee in the library and how the coffee stayed on the wobbly table I do not know - but in fairness, the waiter did warn us the table was dodgy. Get rid of the table then! Eventually found another table to sit at. Don't expect the waiters to come and ask if you would like another drink i.e. Brandy after your coffee would of been nice! Breakfast which you pay for extra was not good. Went for the full English at £15 each and big mistake, fatty bacon and nothing special. You really should include breakfast in the room rate. Would I return - probably not. Much prefer the Balmer Lawn Hotel - rooms nicer, food better, staff more attentive and won't break the bank. Very expensive at The Pig and definitely over rated.

Room Tip: Don't have room 17
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Plodaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
There are newer reviews for The Pig
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place is immaculate. A big focus on the food, and very porkie. All delicious. Great sommelier who recommended some outstanding wines to us. The Pig Chap was slightly scary but tasted incredible. Comfy beds, attentive staff, lovely grounds, with some very peaceful nearby walks. Book well in advance and don't take the kids.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had heard about The Pig in Brockenhurst from various locals so my partner booked us a table for my birthday meal. I have to say the place looked amazing in the dark with all its lights on and a christmas tree on the lawn. We received a warm and friendly welcome as soon as we arrived and were taken straight to our table. The table was very rustic and we even had a potted beetroot plant on it, along with smoked salt, herb infused oil and butter, for the warm fresh bread that soon appeared. The staff were attentive but not interrupting, knowledgeable about the menu and delightful. The wine list or should I say lists was huge, A3 size and two off! The food itself was very good. We had the sirloin steak and the pheasant, both highly recommended to anyone visiting. As the evening when on the restaurant got busier with a good atmosphere and the food was quick to arrive despite them being busy. Realising it was my birthday, I was brought a pig shaped biscuit with happy birthday iced on it and a small carafe of desert wine, very thoughtful. All in all a great place to have dinner with friends and enjoy the fabulous house and its welcoming staff. Back in March for my partners birthday and maybe an overnight stay as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb_Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel, and had a wonderful time. The food was superb and the staff were exemplary: friendly and attentive without being intrusive; professional and courteous without seeming over-formal. I can honestly say that we enjoyed absolutely every aspect of our time at The Pig, and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 916Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I requested the Dog House room and was told i could have it as long as no dog owners needed it and thankfully that was the case.It is a fabulous room and we had no problem lighting the log burner which made it very cosy.
There was a problem with the hot water which was rectified and due to that we received a room discount without having to ask which I thought was great customer service.
it is easy (ish) to provide good service when things are going well but its when things go awry a good service becomes very much appreciated.

Please try Garry ( The Wild Cook) the forager. we spent a wonderful 3 hours mushroom hunting which was fun informative and great exercise in the New Forest. When we returned to the hotel we had our mushrooms served as a starter with a delicious ducks egg...perfection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hideaway : especially the Dog House.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet-tonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I'm amazed that we had to book so far in advance for our weekend at the Pig given my summary of our stay. We arrived late on a Friday evening and our greeting was warm and friendly. We were shown to a double room at the back of the main house. It was comfortable but not outstanding. More Laura Ashley than country house chic. The bed was awful and although we were away as a couple for some R&R, we didn't want to constantly roll into each other, down the slope in the middle, throughout the night.
Menus are given in the bar and orders taken there and not at the table which is rather formal. I don't know why this is and it means that when you arrive at the table, you have no relationship with your waiter. The food was ok but I struggled to find anything particularly appealing.
The public rooms at the Pig are very warming and lovely to sit in during the afternoon which we duly did on the Saturday. Some of the "piggy treats" from the bar menu were far superior to some of the starters on the main restaurant menu.
My husband and I had been looking forward all day to having a steak and chips for supper with a nice glass of red that night but when we were handed menus in the bar prior to dinner, we were informed that there was no steak! It was 7pm in the evening! A cardinal error on the part of the chef. Little apology was offered in response to this.
Breakfast at the Pig is a lukewarm affair and whilst their produce may well be local, it is arranged with little thought or care on the plate. The local bacon was so fatty it seemed almost undercooked.
The Pig does tick some boxes, adequately furnished bedrooms, nice public areas and friendly staff but it just doesn't hit the mark. Having stayed at Babington house and measuring most "weekend" getaways against this - The Pig has a long way to go - to be honest that's not surprising because it's much cheaper but it just didn't cut the mustard for us.
On the Friday evening at the end of our meal, instead of asking if we wanted coffee, the waiter asked if we were celebrating a special occasion??? What an odd thing to ask but as we scanned the room it was clear that The Pig is clearly a "special weekend away" for many other couply guests. I'm not being a snob here but it just wasn't that big a deal to us. Running out of steak on a Saturday night….wrong! Charging us for items from the mini bar on our bill which we did not have…..wrong! charging us for the weekend FT twice even though it was the same paper that was delivered on both Saturday and Sunday morning…….wrong! Is it a special occasion?….wrong! We just wanted to get out of London for a couple of nights. It may be expensive - but save your money and have a real weekend away at somewhere like Babington house or Limewood!

Room Tip: Avoid the room 17 as this appears to be located close to some extractor fans outside the restaurant...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We returned to The Pig for an overnight stay and dinner, having enjoyed a lunch there in the summer. The house itself is in a beautiful forest setting, and the grounds are lovely. There are some rooms in the main building, and others in converted stables etc. around the place. The kitchen garden is full of the vegetables used to prepare the meals. The rooms we had were interesting and well designed. The room was very hot, and we found the window tricky to open. The bathroom was enormous. The front of house team work well together and are efficient and helpful. We did not enjoy the food so much on this occasion. Two of us found our main courses not very nice, although the other two enjoyed theirs. When we mentioned this, the 'discretionary tip' was removed from the bill. Not a very 'discretionary' gratuity really. The cooked breakfast was tepid. We noticed others bringing this to the attention of the staff, and the replacements seemed little of an improvement.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JK5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,741 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £147 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing