We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed for a night & had supper in hotel restaurant.
Here's a quick summary of positives:
Very welcoming and helpful staff throughout our stay. Room (a short walk from main hotel) warm, super decor, spotless, comfy king bed. Supper in hotel conservatory restaurant - it's bistro / shabby chic in style. Not overly expensive, good quality local produce, reasonable choice of decent wines but it was very, very busy. Cosy lounge areas with log fires, to have a drink before or after supper. Breakfast was excellent - eggs royale cooked to perfection!
A few niggles (only minor details) local train runs at boundary of hotel grounds and can be heard from room. If guest had mobility issues -need to check which room they'd be in as the walk from the piggery rooms to restaurant was a bit hazardous in the dark. It was quite an expensive night away - £300+,

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Such a wonderful stay at The Pig. From the moment we arrived, the service was friendly and attentive. We stayed in the 'Hen House' which had the spacious bathroom with the roll top bath upstairs. In the afternoon I went for the De-Stress massage with Heidi in the cosy 'Cows Shed' which was amazing and very relaxing. It's a must if you are staying there, I would visit again just to see her!
Now the food, which was definitely the highlight of our visit. We had lunch when we arrived and sampled some of the 'Piggy Bits' and the 'Game Pie'. Dinner in the evening was even better, the best pork chop I have ever eaten! We thoroughly enjoyed our entire stay and will definitely be visiting again. Lastly a mention to Morgan and Dorota who made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The fourth time of visiting and the Pig maintains its reputation with us for the absolute benchmark of quality, attention to detail, professionalism yet friendliness of staff without ant stuffiness or pretention. Our one night stay in a Comfort Luxe room was as enjoyable as ever, the food outstanding, the ambience spot on - we wanted to move in permanently! Absolutely terrific!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 17 for a Monday night in November for my husbands birthday. Reception were very welcoming. Our room was nothing special, but at £185 for the night it was OK. The bed was terrible. Please change the Super King mattress - you roll into the middle of it constantly. Went to the bar for pre dinner drinks and had to wait 10 minutes to be served. Very over priced but a very impressive wine list. We were then squashed in to the dining room, but at least we got a table for 2 as a 2, and not sharing a table! The food was over priced but very nice - apart from the crab which had absolutely no meat in it what so ever and was sent back. DON'T HAVE THE CRAB! Choose from the bar snacks for the starters very very good especially the pig crackling. Service was OK, nothing special. Had our coffee in the library and how the coffee stayed on the wobbly table I do not know - but in fairness, the waiter did warn us the table was dodgy. Get rid of the table then! Eventually found another table to sit at. Don't expect the waiters to come and ask if you would like another drink i.e. Brandy after your coffee would of been nice! Breakfast which you pay for extra was not good. Went for the full English at £15 each and big mistake, fatty bacon and nothing special. You really should include breakfast in the room rate. Would I return - probably not. Much prefer the Balmer Lawn Hotel - rooms nicer, food better, staff more attentive and won't break the bank. Very expensive at The Pig and definitely over rated.

Room Tip: Don't have room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Plodaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place is immaculate. A big focus on the food, and very porkie. All delicious. Great sommelier who recommended some outstanding wines to us. The Pig Chap was slightly scary but tasted incredible. Comfy beds, attentive staff, lovely grounds, with some very peaceful nearby walks. Book well in advance and don't take the kids.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had heard about The Pig in Brockenhurst from various locals so my partner booked us a table for my birthday meal. I have to say the place looked amazing in the dark with all its lights on and a christmas tree on the lawn. We received a warm and friendly welcome as soon as we arrived and were taken straight to our table. The table was very rustic and we even had a potted beetroot plant on it, along with smoked salt, herb infused oil and butter, for the warm fresh bread that soon appeared. The staff were attentive but not interrupting, knowledgeable about the menu and delightful. The wine list or should I say lists was huge, A3 size and two off! The food itself was very good. We had the sirloin steak and the pheasant, both highly recommended to anyone visiting. As the evening when on the restaurant got busier with a good atmosphere and the food was quick to arrive despite them being busy. Realising it was my birthday, I was brought a pig shaped biscuit with happy birthday iced on it and a small carafe of desert wine, very thoughtful. All in all a great place to have dinner with friends and enjoy the fabulous house and its welcoming staff. Back in March for my partners birthday and maybe an overnight stay as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb_Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel, and had a wonderful time. The food was superb and the staff were exemplary: friendly and attentive without being intrusive; professional and courteous without seeming over-formal. I can honestly say that we enjoyed absolutely every aspect of our time at The Pig, and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 916Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,226 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,677 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
6.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £153 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing