We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and drinks, nice setting bit overpriced”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Fabulous setting, friendly staff looks like great hotel but stopped for late lunch and although enjoyed overall experience, sandwiches were average and drinks rather overpriced. Would be tempted to try full lunch instead of just sandwiches but may need lottery win first!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our second trip to the pig, 2 nights for my wife's birthday. It is relaxed, shabby chic and a great restaurant.
Lovely long walk in the new forest on of the days.

Ends up being expensive by the time you pay the bill!

4 not 5 stars as restaurant had an off night on our second meal but well handled, I would prefer if the breakfast was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

An excellent 2 day New Year package was put together by The Pig,which included a fantastic 5 course New Years Eve dinner and entertainment, and made even more special by the outstanding staff who were with us throughout the 2 days.
Perhaps on other special occasions, the chefs could also join the diners as they truly deserved a round of applause. Congratulations and thankto everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Visited The Pig for dinner now quite a few times, every time has been completely faultless.
The food is outstanding, and the service is also great, lovely friendly waiters who genuinely care.
Thank you very much
Will definitely be back again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newforest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My and my new wife came here for our mini moon straight after our wedding before our honeymoon later in the year to get away and relax for 4 nights.

When we arrived it all started well and was greeted at reception by a polite young lady and taken on a short walk to our room out the back by the kitchen garden. The room was large comprising of a large bathroom, hall way and bed room. The bathroom was kitted out in top quality products from Aston Matthews with a roll top bath and large double shower with bare wood floors all over.
The bed was large and very comfortable, perfect for our stay.

The food is also excellent, the breakfast was exceptional with eggs cooked perfectly. We also ate here every night for dinner and the menu was perfect for us being food lovers with everything delicious. Also there are plenty of drinks to select from and I did enjoy sitting in front of the open fire in the library late afternoon with ale.

Overall I couldn't fault this accommodation and restaurant and would recommend to all, will visit again and would try one of their other hotels as we'll based on this visit.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Pig is a beautiful hotel hidden in The New Forest with perfectly decorated rooms, very good service and delightful food !! Be sure to enjoy drink and a few nibbles by the fireplace in the winter!!

Room Tip: I would suggest to choose a room with the front lawn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary the staff who greeted us on arrival were very pleasant and inviting. We were shown to a magnificent room I've even got some fan ideas for my house now :-) wonderful massage in the potting shed the lady (sorry could not remember her name) so so lovely the experience was just magical the setting of the shed such a great idea. The service we received when shown to the drawing room and food orders taken was 5 star and the food was amazing. The only small negative I have is the young man who served us in the restaurant was quite offish bordering rude that was the only small thing that tinged the night. The rest of the staff and hotel 5 star we will definitely come back

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCC_AUG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,813 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,988 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £150 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing