We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms - shame about the restaurant”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for a night to celebrate my birthday. Greeting was warm and welcoming. We were shown to our room (number 8) by the helpful receptionist. The room wasn't vast but it had everything we needed and it was quiet with no noise from neighbours and it overlooked the gardens. Fabulous bathroom - roll top bath, huge waterfall shower, lovely great big fluffy towels and gallons of piping hot water. The public rooms are lovely - very "country house". We went down to dinner, had a drink in the bar and then were shown to our table. Now, I had been really looking forward to this meal - I'd read all the rave reviews and was quite excited but it was a bit of a let down. Firstly the restaurant area. Well, I'm all for mood lighting but we were actually sitting in virtual darkness - the only light was coming from a tea candle on the table. I had always thought that sight was an important sense with food - that's why presentation is so important but this was more like those trendy "blind" restaurants (where you sit on purpose in a pitch black room). It wasn't just us - the couple of the table next to us kept tipping their plates towards their candle to see what they were eating!

I'd ordered the lamb tortellini for starters. 3 tortellini turned up - one was crispy where it had been kept under the passe lamp too long and the other 2 the wrong side of al dente. I'd completely forgotten that there was speck drapped over them only remebering when I tasted it (couldn't see it because of lack of light). Mains were plaice (covered with capers - a problem as I hate them and they weren't mentioned on the menu - had to ask for another candle so I could pick them off - and there were a lot of them. Came with 3 halves of new potato which when we'd been advised not to order a side was a bit annoying). and the short ribs (dry and chewy - very disappointing chips were good though). Desserts passed muster (although so unmemerable I can't remember what I had). So all in all not the best gastronomic experience. Breakfast (which is charged extra to the room rate - bit naughty), was OK. There was lots of choice but my tea came in a pot with held barely a mug full and the coffee wasn't much better. My husband had a bacon sandwich - came with the rinds still attached which had they been crispy wouldn't have been too bad but they were flacid so not nice.

All in all, I found it over priced and came away feeling a bit let down. The restaurant appears to be riding on the coat tails of it's reputation - it needs to be careful and buck up it's ideas, the public are fickle and they won't get away with it for long.

Room Tip: No 8 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The setting is perfect, the food was amazing and we all had a fabulous lunch! We went to celebrate our daughters 18th Birthday, so we had a wide age range within the family, but we all agreed the food was superb. If I had anything to criticise, it would be the service initially was a bit hit and miss, especially as there were lots of waiting staff, so it shouldn't have been an issue. That said, it improved and we all had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JAB532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We found this purely by accident whllst out in the New Forest. What a find. The whole character of the restaurant is lovely. plenty of space to sit down , & a fabulous Cocktail range.. The food is wonderful. pleasantly served, and very well cooked. The Idea of everything being local, also impressed us. all in all a lovely place, you could take Children there as there are lovely grounds they can play in. The seating inside The Pig, is most welcoming with , large settees and comfortable chairs for you to relax and have your coffee in any of the large reception rooms. we. couldn,t fault anything .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Visited for lunch and the drive of over an hour was well rewarded.

Love the informal bar and the pre lunch nibbles. Great locally sourced menu and the excellent service; nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Will be back yet again very soon.

Looking forward to the opening of the Pig on the Beach in Studland, as it will be only 10 minutes drive.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeyL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had a fabulous time, the atmosphere on arrival was so inviting and the food was delicious and so fresh! The staff were plentiful and attentive. After dinner we had coffee by the fire in a cosy lounge area, everyone was so content and relaxed, a very special place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBungle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at The Pig for one night with two friends for a girly break away. We stayed in rooms 4 & 5 in the main building, and they are beautifully furnished. The bathrooms are particularly well done in my opinion! The only downside of the rooms are the noise from the downstairs bar which continues until midnight, but other than that, they are lovely. Luckily we were up until that time so it didn't really bother us, but if you're an early sleeper, perhaps go for a room in the outer buildings.
As for the food, it's on another level. The chef really knows what he's doing with fish, meat, and a variety of home grown herbs and vegetables which you can see growing in the Kitchen Garden in the grounds of the hotel. We had dinner and then breakfast the following morning, which is equally amazing. £10 for all you can eat from a delicious array of breakfast delights...home made granola, yoghurt, fruit compote, eggs that you can boil yourself to your preferred time, and other bits and pieces.
I would definitely recommend The Pig for a romantic break away, but perhaps stay in the outer building in one of the slightly more expensive rooms. Also good for a group of friends as The LImewood Spa is just down the road and you can use all the facilities for £40 for the day. Gorgeous spa and well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the outer buildings for peace and quiet, although they are pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chubunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

friends of ours recommended us to come here for a meal as they stay here regular. beautiful place... food fantastic and service top class. looking to book a weekend stay here. thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,782 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £154 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing