We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled Vibe”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chilled Vibe”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at the Pig with friends back in December, was lucky enough to have room 15 one in the courtyard which is delightful, may be noisy in the summer with other guests, but in the winter was delightful, food was delicious as always. Also stayed at the Pig In The Wall on the same weekend. Loved it and would definitely recommend for a special weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Courtyard, though our friends had a family room and that was also gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richj497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    369
    192
    125
    52
See reviews for
241
898
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recently spent two nights at The Pig with my boyfriend. We stayed in The Dog House, a beautiful suite room complete with wood burning stove. We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights of our stay, the menu changes with each day so there are always some new dishes to choose from. The food was perfectly executed and absolutely delicious. Despite reading some criticism of the food from previous guests I can find no fault, the food is good, simple, British cooking, perfectly fresh and seasonal. The restaurant and bar staff were incredibly attentive and helpful.

I have just two small criticisms. As helpful as the hotel staff were, when asked for pub/walk/local transport recommendations their local knowledge was rather poor. Secondly, and this is something that many people have commented on, we thought it inappropriate to charge an additional £16 per guest for a cooked breakfast. The Pig is not cheap, the rooms in particular are priced very highly, it would not hurt to have breakfast included in this steep price. There are no other breakfast options in the vicinity, you have to, and want to eat breakfast there.. so please Pig, throw breakfast in!

Otherwise.. thank you for a most lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to The Pig as a family for a birthday meal. It was my first time in going but not for my family. All I can say was that it is beautifully decorated, and a lovely atmosphere. We didn't feel rushed at all, enjoyed the views from the dining room. We decided to share a few little light bites before our main (5 between 6 people) and they were all lovely. For main we all had something different which were all beautifully presented. I, inparticular had the venison, and it was stunning!! Cooked beautifully. Only one negative, and I hate to say negative as it's such a strong word.. Is that it was incredibly difficult to get hold of any staff for more drinks etc whilst at the table and when we did it took quite a fair while. However, this has definitely not put me off returning and I shall do very soon.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VAR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Fantastic stay. Room very nice; staff very very helpful and pleasant; lovely log fires add to the overall ambience, with a lovely atmosphere to both the bar and restaurant. Did we mention the restaurant ... simply superb. We won't say more ... try it for yourself ... Your challenge, should you wish to accept it, is to find any fault!!! We couldn't!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beta4David_Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hitchin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for a long weekend & on first impression was looking foward to our visit. The room we had was really nice, the bed gorgeous but thats the upside done with! Most of the communal areas looked like a film set, the interior designer having combed salvage yards for interesting items which did'nt ring true. Food was average to good & the young staff did their best but were a bit rigid in attitude.On a purely personal level i found the clientel a bit "metrosexual" for my taste, young, urban and would not give you the time of day, sorry but i don't think i have stayed in a more unfriendly place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stopped for one night at The Pig as we had heard lots of good things about the restaurant and, being at the end of a family Easter break, we were in need of a grown-up dinner.

As we only booked the day before the 'family' room, which has an interconnecting door was unavailable so we opted for rooms 4 and 5 on the first floor of the main house. Both rooms are generously sized and come with everything you need, including brilliant showers, huge faultless beds, and country house chic but homely decoration.

The children were greeted with homemade cookies in a personalised box and could easily share the sumptuous bed. As soon as we got to our rooms we noticed how warm they felt, even into the cool evening. In the afternoon we explored the grounds complete with family Oak tree swing (reminding us of Babington House...), kitchen gardens, fish pond, chickens and... pigs. All great fun.

With the dinner tucked-up in bed with the DVD babysitter we went to the bar and restaurant. Service in the three large lounges was excellent and the wine list interesting and varied. This was followed by a meal that I would describe as very good gastro-pub standard - real food from local ingredients - in a very busy a large restaurant. Again service was very good.

The only problem we encountered was regarding our bedrooms, which (although heating was off) were unbearably hot and uncomfortable - not the kind of thing you need after a big meal and a few drinks. In room 5 we had both windows open and were still sweating, room 4 was even more airless and hot. We all had a very poor sleep despite the supplied fans, that indicated to us that this was not an unusual event.

The reception staff didn't charge us for the breakfast but by then, with only a few hours sleep, the least they could do.

The Pig is a lovely place. Unpretentious, very British, friendly and reasonably priced. I would not recommend staying the night however until they resolve their temperature problems.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4 and 5 and check with reception staff about cooler rooms. And avoid staying there in Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motughosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been coming here since it first opened and other than a few initial teething problems it has always been consistently very good and our lunch last Saturday was no exception.

Staff are friendly and service is attentive but not over the top and the food is always top notch.

Just be careful not to order to many piggybits (difficult as they are lovely!) before your meal as you may end up too full to try a dessert!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing