We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I cannot praise this place too highly, it was simply lovely! Everything was perfect from the location, the decor, the food, the service... I can't think of a single thing that could be improved on. It is quite pricey, but I think you get what you pay for and this is a really special place to visit. We went to the Pig for a celebratory lunch, so can't comment on the rooms, but if they're anything like the main areas of the hotel then I'm sure they'd be excellent. I would recommend this highly as a place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janewrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    379
    194
    127
    54
See reviews for
253
913
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a lovely couple of nights here over Easter weekend. The hotel is lovely - great ambiance, lovely surroundings, rooms finished to a very high spec.
Given that the focus is on the restaurant however, we were slightly disappointed by the food. Nothing wrong but fairly average food. I had the beef 'salad' for main course and my husband the steak. Both dishes fine but we'd expected much more from what we'd heard.
I would definitely go back to the Pig, probably ordered differently in the restaurant though - the hotel and surrounding areas are worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic, staff super friendly, food was great and all local produce. Lovely setting, child friendly and fantastic swing in the garden....reasonable wine list spread across new and old world / lovely selection of deserts too ! We then retired to the front room and spent another 2 hours in front of a log fire and relaxed - perfect Easter Sunday (apart from the rain!!)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nickjcthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We ate there a couple of times, and the place never failed to surprise us! Yummy food made with mostly local ingredients, lovely atmosphere, pleasant grounds. I highly recommend this place both for business lunch and family outing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina_Sadarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a night in "the pig sty" in February, although we have eaten here numerous times before. The room was clean, well finished and has plenty of room for two adults and two children. The living room is well laid out and has a log burner, which was lovely as it was cold and wet outside. The master bedroom has a large, comfortable bed, with views over the open countryside. The second bedroom has bunk beds, which the kids loved. The food was excellent as usual, and the staff even let us have the private dining room to ourselves as we had friends staying with us.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay and eat - staff always friendly and a relaxed, not too formal atmosphere - not cheap, but certainly well worth the money.

Will certainly be back soon.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank x-jon-the-one-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the Pig today with parents and our two boys aged 1 and 2. Staff were attentive and very sweet with children. Lovely rustic decor and enjoyed the table set up with large chicory plant as centre piece. Outdoors area is beautiful and was easy to nip out with youngsters when they got a bit tetchy and entertain them with the large swing, model of pig and trains nearby. Our 2 year old loved his children's cocktail, what a nice touch when you usually just get a choice of fruit shoots when eating out. I am a vegetarian and was very pleased to get a separate menu; I had expected a very meat-heavy menu but the choice was vast and it all looked innovative and mouthwatering. I had a salad for starters with quails egg and rainbow beetroot. For main I had nettle fettuccine. Easily the best meal I have had out in the past few years.
We really enjoyed a walk around the kitchen garden afterwards.
Thank you so much, we will definitely be returning next year.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NearlyMrsGaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at the Pig with friends back in December, was lucky enough to have room 15 one in the courtyard which is delightful, may be noisy in the summer with other guests, but in the winter was delightful, food was delicious as always. Also stayed at the Pig In The Wall on the same weekend. Loved it and would definitely recommend for a special weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Courtyard, though our friends had a family room and that was also gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richj497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,041 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,597 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing