We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant country hotel with lots of shabby chic”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff and comfortable bed in a pleasant room. A good range of beers and wines and a great outdoor bar. The restaurant prides itself on locally sourced foods and the dishes are uncomplicated and well executed.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank GnosticDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

A wonderful game keepers lodge in the heart of the New Forest. Tastefully decorated and a relaxing atmosphere combine to make the perfect weekend getaway treat. Rooms and beds are very comfortable, everything you need including bedside books, a nice touch.
The restaurant is a delight, situated in an old conservatory with plant pots on and around the tables. Delicious food all locally resourced. Would compare to The Shed in Notting Hill, London. During a pre dinner drink in the bar having a lethal dry Martini, waiting staff slightly patronised us by suggesting we should not eat too many bar snacks. Err...as adults/customers I think we know our limits food and booze wise! A meal for two cost more than the room for the night.
Only one slight hiccup, we had to ask the reception to empty a bin in the bathroom. Not a big deal but at the prices charged, small details like this count.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and may return in the future, not to stay but definitely to eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is set in a fabulous location in the New Forest. A stylish country house with rambling roses and everything you imagine a country house hotel to be. This is not grand and splendid but is as they say laid back and shabby chic.

We stayed in their entry level "snug" room which was perfectly fine for a night, well appointed with a small ensuite and excellent monsoon shower.

If you want to sharpen your appetite for the excellent food, make sure to take a walk around the grounds to take in the walled kitchen garden, the greenhouse and the chicken and pig runs beyond. You will probably see the herbs, salads and vegetables that you'll be enjoying later.

And now to the highlight - the food. Our entire dinner was superb. One highlight was the hotel's own smoked salmon prepared in their own smoke house to the chef's own cure. Our two local fish mains were very enjoyable and well prepared and presented. The other highlight was the rhubarb indulgence for dessert: hazelnut rhubarb crumble, rhubarb sorbet and a rhubarb mousse cake alongside large succulent pieces of poached rhubarb. Heavenly! All accompanied by wines from the comprehensive and well priced wine list.

Service was excellent, delivered by a young, friendly and professional team. Their dress might be casual but their service certainly isn't.

We would highly recommend this hotel and fully intend to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a really wonderful little hotel & restaurant in the New Forrest. The house is lovely, with great bedrooms, and charming common spaces (the bar, the library, the drawing room, the courtyard, etc.). Facilities are limited to a tennis court, the massage "shed", the veg. and herb garden, the farm, and the surrounding grounds, but they are all beautiful. We spent a whole day in the courtyard garden, enjoying its impressive outdoor fireplace, and supping on wine and flatbreads from the outdoor pizza oven. My only criticism is that the highly rated restaurant disappointed us a little, but i might put some of that down to poor ordering on our part. What do you expect when you order half a Pig's head, sliced down the middle, teeth included! I love pork belly and thought it would be similar.....but it was not. Never again. The roast chicken however, on the next table, looked wonderful. Oh, and did I mention the lovely staff?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie_Boy_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a gem beautiful Hotel, wonderful restaurant, amazing food and fantastic weather. Fully enjoyed by adults and children. FAB! Travelled on the train was a good walk but well worth it. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank A9100VGKarenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went here on our minimoon. The rooms are lovely, The food is very very good (most of it comes from there gardens & farms). It's basically a lovely Georgian country house where you feel like you can put your feet up - it's not too up itself. The only complaint is that the service was very, very slow when we went. After asking for a bottle of wine to go with our dinner (3 times), I eventually left the restaurant to order it from the bar. however, the staff are so charming, that when you point out the bad service, you almost forgive them immediately. To be fair to them, it was very busy when we went, and they did give us our drinks for free to say sorry.

My wife is still reminiscing about the massage she had in their wellness centre.

Great place. Go there. Oh - we loved the fact that they give you hunter wellies to go on a country walk.

Room Tip: We got the cheapest room, which was still amazing. However, mates of ours have paid silly money for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mashykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Enjoyed our family lunch after much looking forward to it after the reviews on TA and from other members of our family. Arrived early for a walk around the vegetable allotment and greenhouse where we were able to chat to the gardeners who were very interested in their work.

In the restaurant, the waiting staff all seemed interested in their work too which made them attentive with a friendly approach. The surroundings were comfortable even though the room was very busy. Lovely rustic style conservatory. The food was something special and everyone in our group was delighted with their choice. A big improvement to my enjoyment of the meal would have been to have served my main course on a plate instead of in a bowl. Even fish on the bone was served in a bowl – Why?
Tables by the window would be better during the daytime as the other end of the room is a bit dark.
Ended our meal with coffee on the sunny terrace - a simply beautiful location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank YorkshireHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,782 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £154 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing