We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pig
Nearby Hotels
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,771)
Filter reviews
1,771 results
Traveller rating
929
424
216
142
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
424
216
142
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbath chapcomfy luxe roomhen housemonsoon showerkitchen gardenwithin a mile radiusrestaurant with roomsmile menuporkdrawing roomvegetable gardenflatbreadthe main housenew forestroll top bathyoung staffcomfy sofas
Filter
Updating list...
1,109 - 1,114 of 1,771 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff and comfortable bed in a pleasant room. A good range of beers and wines and a great outdoor bar. The restaurant prides itself on locally sourced foods and the dishes are uncomplicated and well executed.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank GnosticDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A wonderful game keepers lodge in the heart of the New Forest. Tastefully decorated and a relaxing atmosphere combine to make the perfect weekend getaway treat. Rooms and beds are very comfortable, everything you need including bedside books, a nice touch.
The restaurant is a delight, situated in an old conservatory with plant pots on and around the tables. Delicious food all locally resourced. Would compare to The Shed in Notting Hill, London. During a pre dinner drink in the bar having a lethal dry Martini, waiting staff slightly patronised us by suggesting we should not eat too many bar snacks. Err...as adults/customers I think we know our limits food and booze wise! A meal for two cost more than the room for the night.
Only one slight hiccup, we had to ask the reception to empty a bin in the bathroom. Not a big deal but at the prices charged, small details like this count.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and may return in the future, not to stay but definitely to eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is set in a fabulous location in the New Forest. A stylish country house with rambling roses and everything you imagine a country house hotel to be. This is not grand and splendid but is as they say laid back and shabby chic.

We stayed in their entry level "snug" room which was perfectly fine for a night, well appointed with a small ensuite and excellent monsoon shower.

If you want to sharpen your appetite for the excellent food, make sure to take a walk around the grounds to take in the walled kitchen garden, the greenhouse and the chicken and pig runs beyond. You will probably see the herbs, salads and vegetables that you'll be enjoying later.

And now to the highlight - the food. Our entire dinner was superb. One highlight was the hotel's own smoked salmon prepared in their own smoke house to the chef's own cure. Our two local fish mains were very enjoyable and well prepared and presented. The other highlight was the rhubarb indulgence for dessert: hazelnut rhubarb crumble, rhubarb sorbet and a rhubarb mousse cake alongside large succulent pieces of poached rhubarb. Heavenly! All accompanied by wines from the comprehensive and well priced wine list.

Service was excellent, delivered by a young, friendly and professional team. Their dress might be casual but their service certainly isn't.

We would highly recommend this hotel and fully intend to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a really wonderful little hotel & restaurant in the New Forrest. The house is lovely, with great bedrooms, and charming common spaces (the bar, the library, the drawing room, the courtyard, etc.). Facilities are limited to a tennis court, the massage "shed", the veg. and herb garden, the farm, and the surrounding grounds, but they are all beautiful. We spent a whole day in the courtyard garden, enjoying its impressive outdoor fireplace, and supping on wine and flatbreads from the outdoor pizza oven. My only criticism is that the highly rated restaurant disappointed us a little, but i might put some of that down to poor ordering on our part. What do you expect when you order half a Pig's head, sliced down the middle, teeth included! I love pork belly and thought it would be similar.....but it was not. Never again. The roast chicken however, on the next table, looked wonderful. Oh, and did I mention the lovely staff?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertie_Boy_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a gem beautiful Hotel, wonderful restaurant, amazing food and fantastic weather. Fully enjoyed by adults and children. FAB! Travelled on the train was a good walk but well worth it. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank A9100VGKarenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews