We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend at The Pig”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend at The Pig”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the most wonderful weekend at The Pig. It wasn't perfect but the staff try hard to make it so (thanks to Harry in the restaurant in particular) and the atmosphere is so relaxed and the environment so quirkily fantastic that the stress just melts away. We stayed in a hideaway room, Tamworth, which was decorated in a way I wish I could decorate my own bedroom and bathroom! The attention to detail was just great - from the books on bee keeping and pig keeping to the little notebook and super soft fluffy towels. The food was a little hit and miss - some of the best pork we have ever had, the meat, veg and eggs were so fresh and tasty but some of the pudding combinations just didn't work. However, when we didn't like something we were offered an alternative with no quibbling at all.

The rooms are expensive but the food and wine are reasonable and if you are looking for an instant de stress this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRHClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    368
    192
    125
    52
See reviews for
240
897
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We go to Brockenhurst every year for a weeks' break and we always make sure that we have at least one meal (preferably two - one at lunch time, and one in the evening) at The Pig at Brockenhurst. The hotel itself is amazing - full of quirky features like the wellington boots lined up in the hall, to the library with its comfy sofas, and then the most impressive outdoor fireplace and pizza oven with outdoor bar - there's nowhere else like it. We had first class service from Jack, who was very entertaining and treated us extremely well. The food is lovely from the home-baked bread to the Bath Chap. It is a little pricey, but worth every penny for the special service, wonderful surroundings and amazing flavours of the food. The cocktails are fab too - served in glasses which are all different! Our favourite part of the hotel is the beautiful conservatory, which is full of plants and herbs - really worth a visit just for that. Then after your meal, you can sit outside on the patio or sit on the two-person swing and just enjoy the garden. You must go!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulgb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lunch at the Pig was a 'memorable' experience! The location is beautiful as is the building. we walked through to the conservatory filled with pot plants and miss matched tables and chairs which was very busy with lunch diners. We hadn't booked after all it advertises itself as a 'pub with rooms', and there were empty tables. we asked for table for 2 and the waitress told us that we could eat only if we hurried up as the chef wanted to close the kitchen! (it was 2.10pm and I noted several other couples arrive to eat after us). Ordered our food and asked for it to be served on plates rather than wooden boards as I have a huge issue with the hygiene of wood. Jug of water arrived which when we poured into the glasses, had a film of dust and oil on the top. obviously the jug was dirty. Food arrived on boards and my husbands board was dripping with grease onto the floor as the waitress carried it. Asked for boards to be changed which took about 5 minutes. lunch was nice, I can only say nice as it was dressed in too much oil, even brushed on my steak, which I don't like and unfortunately gave me the most terrible upset tummy later in the day. The staff were all very young but worked hard and I must say I like the new uniform of pink shirts and ties however I didn't like the tatty jeans and dirty plimsolls, one guy had his jeans half way down his bum and really muddy shoes, a belt would have been more appropriate to hold up the jeans, trend or not, this is taking casual dining too far! even fast food outlets wear smarter trousers. On the whole it was a lovely place but let down by greasy food and staff who really shouldn't be telling the clients to hurry up so that the chef can close the kitchen!

Room Tip: We live locally so didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Pig is absolutely beautiful; lovely gardens with plenty of places to sit and admire the view (with martini in hand!). The building itself is stunning and has been decorated to a very high standard; lots of character and many comfy chairs.
We had a 'snug' room, so the expectation was that it would be on the smaller side. The room was nice, however it was very stuffy and despite a visit for the deputy manager to tweak the air con, remained a little too hot for the duration of our stay. So that, combined with the fact that the £179 price tag didn't include breakfast did leave us feeling the cost was a little excessive.
We had a fantastic dinner on the terrace. The menu had some great offerings and the food was delicious. So based on that experience, we decided it would worth paying the extra for breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast experience wasn't quite up to the standard of the night before. The food was once again tasty but the service was slow... very slow. And no one seemed to be keeping an eye on the buffet so that at various points the juice, pastries and once again the juice ran out and seemed to take an eternity to be replenished.
Overall, the experience was very enjoyable and we will likely return. I do just feel that the cost is a little prohibitive, especially when the rate doesn't include brekkie.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howlsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I travelled to The Pig for 2 nights for our 2nd wedding anniversary staying in a comfy room. We both love good food and so were excited about the ' restaurant with rooms concept'. We booked in the restaurant for both nights and its a good job we did as it was busy both nights (which we weren't expecting on a Sunday and Monday night. The food was really good and we managed three courses on both nights!! The menu was different each night depending on what was available.
We enjoyed wandering around the walled garden and were blessed with good weather and so didn't want to come home when the time came. Staff were friendly and there was quite an informal air which we liked. We loved sitting out on the patio by the fire having a couple of drinks.
The Pig was a good base to explore the local area.
One slight niggle for me was the fact that breakfast wasn't included in the room rate which added another £50 or so over the two days.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely family celebration meal served outside on a lovely balmy summers evening, food great service ok, all young which is fine but needs a bit of control and direction, at times felt forgotten especially when trying to pay.
I do begrudge the bill including "12.5% Discretionary service charge" I would always round up a bill about that much on any normal meal but it should be a choice.
Lovely setting, super food, fair prices and would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jami mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A group of 8 of us went for a Sunday lunch at the Pig. The staff were incredibly friendly and the service was exemplary. The food was incredible, one of the best meals I have had in a long time. The staff really went the extra mile given that we were celebrating three birthdays in our group. They reserved a seating area for us afterwards and even gave us a lovely platter of sweet nibbles with happy birthday written in chocolate. Yum! I would recommend The Pig to anyone and everyone - shame about the weather that day though.

NB. We only used the restaurant & seating areas and not the hotel facilities.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NCleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing