We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way - Service top notch!”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Was taken here for a surprise birthday lunch by my girlfriend, mum & sister. I'd heard really good things about the place and was excited to try it out for ourselves.

I've no idea how people could give this place a bad review. Everything about it was fantastic!

The setting is stunning for a start. Then when you head inside you are greeted and shown to the bar for drinks and to peruse the menu until your table is ready. All the staff were extremely helpful and service in general was great.

That got stepped up a notch when we reached our table as well. We were lucky enough to be served by Harry (know as Harrence) and he was fantastic. His knowledge and recommendations were outstanding... we literally tried everything he recommended and could not have been happier.

The "piggy bits" - kind of like tapas style starters have to be tried. We had a few different ones, crackling (of course) but also the brock eggs which he recommended which were exceptional.

For mains myself and girlfriend both had pigs cheek, again highly recommended! Not something I've ever tried before, but definitely would again.

Everything about this place is great, and I was pleasantly surprised that it's not even very expensive in the scheme of things. Our 3 course lunch, with a couple of drinks, worked out just £40 per head including tip!

Definitely get down and check this place out for yourselves... if you can get a reservation that it! ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tigs247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had been recommended as a 'go to' place which is 'difficult to book, it's so popular'.
Got booked in OK a couple of weeks in advance of trip to New Forest.
On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by the young and enthusiastic staff; very surprised at the number of young children around. Glad we didn't dress up - would have been OTT.
Cocktails to start, which were great. House smells greatly of soot - not so great when way too hot to have fires lit.
Taken through to restaurant area - very rustic - sanded tables; range of non-matching chairs; tiled floor - all OK until area filled up, and noise was tremendous, and restaurant not fully occupied. Rustic extended to very chipped water jug - I'd have thrown it out.
Wonderful bread, but no plates and has to ask twice - presume we're expected to spread butter using our hands as plates or on the table direct. Oil for bread was supposed to be poured into dish bottle had been standing in, presumably after it had been on a shelf most of day - not very hygienic.
Food generally fine - nice to learn a bit about where it comes from. Some unusual items and flavours, but somehow lacked 'wow' which we had been hoping for and expecting.
Overall felt food and drinks were pricey - have had better experiences elsewhere.
Staff polite to point of slightly sarcastic, but generally good.
Came for dinner only, so can't comment on hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Pig expecting a quiet country hotel but instead found a busy family-oriented place with plenty of amenities. At first sight it is difficult to tell whether you are staying at a hotel with a restaurant, or a restaurant with rooms. However, once installed we found the balance to be about right.

Our room (“comfy luxe”) was a sizeable, well equipped suite with a dressing room and separate bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable. The attention to detail was immaculate; tea and coffee (proper capsule machine) and fresh milk, well stocked fridge, dressing gowns, plenty of storage space. Everything was clean and fresh. The hotel provides a tennis court for sunny days and wellies for when it rains. The optional massage is outstanding. Oh, yes, and they do have pigs in the field.

The main restaurant (a pizza terrace is also available) serves locally sourced produce on a “25 mile” menu which changes daily. Pig features largely, and the pork chap (cheek) and chop are both excellent. Fish, caught locally, is also very good. Vegetables are offered as sides but most dishes come with sufficient accompanying vegetables (our waiter was honest enough to point this out). Of special note are the staff, particularly in the restaurants. They are young, keen, well-trained and discreetly helpful.

All of this, of course, comes at a price but by and large gives good value. Two niggles: charging extra for breakfast (£10 for the buffet) looks more like Best Western practice and doesn’t do much for the Pig’s image; likewise, does musak throughout really add anything to the experience?

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main house but expect some activity around during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hollifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I, as all the best stories start, plus our 2 dogs, stayed for a weekend. The welcome was warm, the room not ready, so have a drink on us, while you wait. Very laid back very friendly, not the false variety. Staff were truly gorgeous. Not overbearing, just there to help. On reflection, the staff make the place. Food, accommodation, location and other guests were all top drawer. I had a good massage, accommodated at very short notice, nothing was too much trouble. Our dogs were made more than welcome as guests and staff made a great fuss of them, indeed, some staff had treats for them in the pocket. Imagine my heart ache, when I popped to reception to book another weekend, only to be told their policy had changed and dogs are no longer welcome. Boo Hoo. They had changed their policy some time ago, but honored our booking, for which we were most grateful. One other tip, stay Sunday night, to avoid the unbelievable traffic back to London, hard to believe the New Forrest could accommodate the number of cars, that streamed out onto and slowed to a halt on the M3.

Room Tip: We stayed away from the main hotel in what appeared to be a converted stable block. The rooms have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AcornKiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is almost everything you want from a fine country establishment. Funky decor, excellent staff, knowledgeable, food based on the best local ingredients, an amazing wine list, the obligatory French sommelier and great service. I do hope this gets a star and then you can tell all those crazy young London souced trendy parents who bring screaming under-aged kids and huge baby prams to take them elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mister8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had booked for two nights at the Pig having read excellent reviews, they say you shouldn't believe everything you read in the press and they were right. Our room was expensive but disappointingly small with everything crammed into too small a space. On arrival we asked for the sky lights to be opened as it was very hot, the receptionist, who was lovely, went away and got the pole to reach them, opened them, and left, with the pole. That night the storms hit and unable to reach the sky lights, we and our bed were rained on quite spectacularly.
Dinner - we ordered Wild Mushroom salad to start, which had everything in it but mushroom - so I called the Maitre'd over and said I thought we had been given the wrong starters but no, there obviously weren't many mushrooms in the garden that day. if that is the case don't put it on the menu. The main course arrived, my husband had steak which arrived on a wooden board - the most unhygienic way of serving food with some kind of mayonnaise? My monkfish was so badly cooked it couldn't be enticed off the skin. Both came with a rocket salad? Wine was very expensive for very average wine.
Having drunk our quota of two tea bags in the room we requested some more, the receptionist asked if we could take them back to the room - er no so she begrudgingly went herself and just left them on the side by our previously used teabags in a glass as there was no where else to put them!
Surfice it to say we left after one night preferring to loose the £219 paid for the second night.
I have since emailed the Pig voicing my disappointment and have heard nothing so decided to put my review on Trip Advisor

Room Tip: Don't go in the stable block - way too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank 550dairyfarmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

An absolutely first class hotel in idyllic surroundings. We visited recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found all aspects of this hotel to be first class. The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to help. Food in the Restaurant is very good and the breakfast buffet also has plenty of choice. The location is peaceful and given the good weather that we enjoyed - the experience was excellent

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building if you can. There is a more modern annex, which probably would not c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 21Challenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,829 reviews
4.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,259 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £125 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing