We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pig
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lime Wood Hotel(Lyndhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Passford House(Lymington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveller rating
917
422
216
140
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
422
216
140
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbath chapcomfy luxe roomhen housemonsoon showerkitchen gardenwithin a mile radiusrestaurant with roomsmile menuporkvegetable gardenflatbreaddrawing roomthe main housenew forestroll top bathyoung staffbirthday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,056 - 1,061 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just a perfect example of a country house hotel. Great food, good service, comfortable rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommend for just about any occasion but perfect for a romantic getaway.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DTW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Perfect setting for a weekend break - rustic feel with mismatched china and ‎cutlery add to the charm. The outside courtyard with a wood oven serving a selection of tasty flatbreads provides a great lunchtime spot.

The large conservatory with a wonderful multi coloured tiled floor is ideal for dinner - food picked fresh from the walled kitchen garden (well worth a walk round) and home grown pigs.‎ It had to be pork for dinner and it was perfectly cooked.

Staff in pink shirts and jeans are friendly, helpful and definitely score 10 out of 10.

A few minor grips - the room rate isn't cheap so why not provide complimentary bottled water at night? Breakfast, albeit a wonderful spread, adds a whopping £30 to the bill for two cooked breakfasts and finally £3 for a can of diet coke from the minu bar far exceeds London prices.

Having said that well worth a visit and I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LANDG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Was taken here for a surprise birthday lunch by my girlfriend, mum & sister. I'd heard really good things about the place and was excited to try it out for ourselves.

I've no idea how people could give this place a bad review. Everything about it was fantastic!

The setting is stunning for a start. Then when you head inside you are greeted and shown to the bar for drinks and to peruse the menu until your table is ready. All the staff were extremely helpful and service in general was great.

That got stepped up a notch when we reached our table as well. We were lucky enough to be served by Harry (know as Harrence) and he was fantastic. His knowledge and recommendations were outstanding... we literally tried everything he recommended and could not have been happier.

The "piggy bits" - kind of like tapas style starters have to be tried. We had a few different ones, crackling (of course) but also the brock eggs which he recommended which were exceptional.

For mains myself and girlfriend both had pigs cheek, again highly recommended! Not something I've ever tried before, but definitely would again.

Everything about this place is great, and I was pleasantly surprised that it's not even very expensive in the scheme of things. Our 3 course lunch, with a couple of drinks, worked out just £40 per head including tip!

Definitely get down and check this place out for yourselves... if you can get a reservation that it! ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tigs247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had been recommended as a 'go to' place which is 'difficult to book, it's so popular'.
Got booked in OK a couple of weeks in advance of trip to New Forest.
On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by the young and enthusiastic staff; very surprised at the number of young children around. Glad we didn't dress up - would have been OTT.
Cocktails to start, which were great. House smells greatly of soot - not so great when way too hot to have fires lit.
Taken through to restaurant area - very rustic - sanded tables; range of non-matching chairs; tiled floor - all OK until area filled up, and noise was tremendous, and restaurant not fully occupied. Rustic extended to very chipped water jug - I'd have thrown it out.
Wonderful bread, but no plates and has to ask twice - presume we're expected to spread butter using our hands as plates or on the table direct. Oil for bread was supposed to be poured into dish bottle had been standing in, presumably after it had been on a shelf most of day - not very hygienic.
Food generally fine - nice to learn a bit about where it comes from. Some unusual items and flavours, but somehow lacked 'wow' which we had been hoping for and expecting.
Overall felt food and drinks were pricey - have had better experiences elsewhere.
Staff polite to point of slightly sarcastic, but generally good.
Came for dinner only, so can't comment on hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Pig expecting a quiet country hotel but instead found a busy family-oriented place with plenty of amenities. At first sight it is difficult to tell whether you are staying at a hotel with a restaurant, or a restaurant with rooms. However, once installed we found the balance to be about right.

Our room (“comfy luxe”) was a sizeable, well equipped suite with a dressing room and separate bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable. The attention to detail was immaculate; tea and coffee (proper capsule machine) and fresh milk, well stocked fridge, dressing gowns, plenty of storage space. Everything was clean and fresh. The hotel provides a tennis court for sunny days and wellies for when it rains. The optional massage is outstanding. Oh, yes, and they do have pigs in the field.

The main restaurant (a pizza terrace is also available) serves locally sourced produce on a “25 mile” menu which changes daily. Pig features largely, and the pork chap (cheek) and chop are both excellent. Fish, caught locally, is also very good. Vegetables are offered as sides but most dishes come with sufficient accompanying vegetables (our waiter was honest enough to point this out). Of special note are the staff, particularly in the restaurants. They are young, keen, well-trained and discreetly helpful.

All of this, of course, comes at a price but by and large gives good value. Two niggles: charging extra for breakfast (£10 for the buffet) looks more like Best Western practice and doesn’t do much for the Pig’s image; likewise, does musak throughout really add anything to the experience?

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main house but expect some activity around during the day.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hollifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews