We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Forest Camping Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Natural Forest Camping Experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in our tent over the bank holiday weekend. Basic site, no frills but lots of horses, donkeys and cows wandering around. Had to choose our own pitch, luckily we found a good one with a nice view, and close to one of the site roads, so we could drive off and on easily without disturbing other campers. Showers good, but can get muddy. There is no electric hook up, but we came prepared with our camp stove etc. We were able to cycle off road mostly from the site to Lyndhurst through the forest and also across the heathland the other way, we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    91
    45
    23
    23
See reviews for
141
59
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Spent the first May bank holiday here with the family.

Positives:
Great location between Brockenhurst and Beaullieu - easy cycling routes to Beaulieu (mostly off road but the last bit can be a bit hairy).
Large site, with pitches in/under the trees. Several large areas for the children to play safely.
Toilets/showers clean and water nice and hot.
Ponies and (docile) cattle wander freely through the site.
Really pleasant staff, more than willing to help, offer information and assistance when required.
Negatives:
None really.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PWR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We arrived at roundhills for the weekend we had a warm welcome and even though there wasn't many people on site we had a great time, the weather was hit and miss but we were not going to let that spoil a wonderful site cows,ponies,donkey's all over the site and the staff are so friendly and pleasant we really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I pre-paid for my pitch and was to join friends arriving earlier in the day. They booked in and alerted staff that I was on my way. They saved me a pitch next to their tent. I left work in Cornwall at 7pm and headed on up, trying to get there by the 10:30 gate locking time. Due to traffic I arrived at 10:40 and the gates were locked. A very rude woman came after me telling me I had to move my vehicle from the gates immediately and that I could not enter. I explained my story and that my friends were there - she said she didn't know anything about it as she hadn't been in the office.
I was forbidden from even carrying my pop-up tent onto the site as it would create' too much noise'. I was made to erect it next to reception under a floodlight. This was just 10 minutes after the gates closed!
At approximately 11:45 a taxi arrived dropping loud drunks off who were shouting all the way to their tents - making much more noise than me with my pop-up tent. This really did ruin the whole weekend. The site itself is beautiful but the staff really need to be slightly flexible and give a warmer reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MattHandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

As a family of 4 we spent 7 nights on this campsite mid August. On entering the site we were greeted by one of the rangers who gave us our tickets and explained a few rules which seemed fair enough, they were quite friendly people but firm. We then drove round the campsite trying to find a place to pitch..everywhere was jam packed and we very nearly came away, but alas we found a half decent spot near to the toilet block, flat (ish) ground and not really close to anyone else. We pitched the tent and decided to go for a walk which we enjoyed as there are some nice places to walk once you are in there.
There are 3 toilet blocks on the site but obviously we used the ones next to us and found them to be suitable. The showers were hot and I had no trouble fitting myself and 2 children in. The toilet block does get a little muddy etc but what do people expect when there is hundreds of people using them. They do get cleaned once a day and there is a mop and bucket for people to clean the showers once they have used them. There is a washing up area with about 6 sinks and drainers, a laundry room and even a shower for your dog! There are plenty bins and recycling points, chemical disposal points etc. There is also a reception area (small hut) at the entrance where you can buy ice and bits and pieces. Also there is a stand with leaflets and information for days out. The ice cream man comes around every night about 8pm which my children thought was great. Horses Donkeys and Cows roam freely around the site but they don't bother you although one night a donkey did try and pinch our barbecue! but its all part of the fun :) I would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly_day_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Wanted a one night stay this weekend, couldn't book on the phone (fair enough, lots of places do this) and were advised to turn up on the night and that there would be plenty of space. Traffic Friday night hideous so we turned up around 7 to be told that there would be no pitching due to problems with the drains unless we'd pre booked. We were joining family who were already pitched so this was especially frustrating. We tried to pitch at nearby Hollands wood, who were extremely helpful, but they were packed and it was getting too late to pitch anyway. We returned to roundhill to join family for a BBQ at least and were charged £3.50 each for the priveledge and some very abrupt treatment from the staff. End result was £85 spent on a room in a pub (turfcutters arms, highly recommended by the way) and a ruined weekend.

Things happen, I understand that, but the way visitors (especially those who should have been guests anyway) were treated was extremely poor.

As per other reviews the place was full of litter, hungry horses interfering with pitches as a result and the toilets were pretty poor.

Personally I would never go there again and would be happy to try out Hollands park. Staff were great, location better and pitches looked nicer too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at this campsite over the bank holiday weekend - this is in a lovely location right in the middle of the new forest. Horses, donkeys and cows roam free which gives the campsite a certain charm and you can easily access lots of walks through the forest. However it was very busy and we felt this was not taken into account by the owners. The showers were very busy and as a consequence very dirty. They were cleaned once a day but this did not seem to make a difference. There was a huge amount of rubbish left from the weekend and no extra bins had been provided so the bins were overflowing which attracted the horses. We felt this rather hypocritical as you were told not to leave food around your pitch. We did not have any bad experiences with the staff as other reviewers have suggested, we did feel they were slightly ignorant with how they spoke to people but we did not have to talk to them very much. They do take their gate guarding very seriously though so make sure you have your pass on you! We found the nights quite noisy and also early mornings were noisy with children up and screaming at 6am. This is a large site but most of it is uneven ground, it is quite hard to find a decent pitch. I would not return to this site due to the facilities mainly - these need a major upgrade!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnysouth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
776 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,025 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite

Property: Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between two New Forest towns - Brockenhurst and Beaulieu - Roundhill campsite consists of expansive grassy areas and glorious pine trees; perfect for pitching your tent! With countless direct routes into the unique New Forest environment via cycle and footpaths, this is a perfect campsite for exploring the flora and fauna of the open forest and Beaulieu Heath. If you are really lucky, you may spot deer during quieter times, and see the famous New Forest and Shetland ponies roaming freely. Facilities Rally field Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Seasonal pitches Unsheltered site Toilets Showers Washbasins Electric razor sockets Separate disabled facilities Parent and baby room Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps Dishwashing facilities Ice pack freezing facility Area for ball games Pets welcome The spacious nature of this campsite makes it an ideal retreat for families who require plenty of grass areas for children to play safely. Local attractions include Beaulieu Motor Museum and the Paultons Park Peppa Pig World, and at Brockenhurst you can hire bikes or take the family horse riding. Although there is no electricity on the site, there are toilet and shower blocks as well as washing-up facilities. A dog shower and baby changing facility were introduced during 2011. Disabled facilities are with fitted radar locks. Bigger groups can be accommodated on our separate rally field which can cater for up to 60 pitches. To help become true conscious campers we have put together some tips on how to enjoy your forest holiday and particularly how to respect the animals in your surroundings. Please read our camping tips page for more information. Pitch types at Roundhill There are 500 standard pitches at Roundhill ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Roundhill Caravan Park And Campsite
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing