We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite
west sussex england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shocking”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a good experience in 2011 it seemed less busy, cleaner and much quieter, it was lovely so we booked again in 2012 . We stayed over the late August bank holiday 2012 we were booked in for two weeks but came away early due to one toilet/ shower area being out of action and the sewers smelt terribly . A rather large tanker turned up to fix it but worked round the clock for a good couple of days, keeping us awake ...Very loud and smelly... We were unlucky camped right by it! Prior to this the site was very noisy with children and adults ( especially late at night) . We left early and were refused any of our money back which we feel is totally unacceptable... The Camp site could do with a good overhaul especially the toilets and showers and be less busy as it was difficult getting a pitch.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cashannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    85
    43
    22
    21
See reviews for
129
52
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just got back from a long weekend stay at this site. We chose the site as we wanted to do some cycling around the New Forest and this site is right in the middle on some great cycle routes.
The site is large with lots of space to set up camp, we chose a lovely spot at the back of the site which was very secluded and quite. The shower blocks/toilets are clean and the shower was lovely and warm, just what we needed after a long day in the saddle. The staff on the site are very friendly and helpful.
Watch out for the horses as they wonder around freely and also watch out for the donkey that will enter your tent for food if it gets a smell of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpuk133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend here at the end of June, the fantastic weather helped, but it is one of the loveliest sites ever. We have been here a few times over the years and in the past have endured the very regimented way of the wardens, who have made us feel like a bit of an inconvenience. it seems that as the management of the park has changed they couldn't be more friendly or helpful and it made for an even more enjoyable experience. If you enjoy camping this is a wonderful site.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reedoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A really lovely campsite that is totally relaxed and straightforward. Despite having space for 600 pitches, the site is really spacious and uncrowded, even when fully booked. Facilities good, helpful staff and very well organised. The only problem was the ponies that were happy to go and help themselves to everyones food - you have to keep food hidden away or they will have it!
Great weekend and a site to be recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_camperEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from the 29th June to the 1st July, this is my first time camping and reading all the negative reviews really worried me, but I couldn't disagree more with all the bad reviews, during my time here I didn't see a single warden, the location is brilliant, the only fault I have is the toilets, they are cleaned once a day and at peak times that's just not enough. Other than that it's a lovely place and really dosnt deserve all the bad reviews I loved it and can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Natashaxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I have used this site a few times before and will only ever use this site due to
1) it's in a great location - we are cyclists and it is only a 15minute ride to Brockenhurst and 15 minute ride to Lyndhurst which is handy if you want to have a few drinks with dinner and don't want to worry about drink driving. It's a 20minute ride to Lymmington if you want a trip over to the Isle Of Wight which is worth a day trip too.
2) Its a big site so you are able to find nice quiet areas if you don't want to be amongst others.
3) It has good facilities
4) The staff were friendly and very helpful with receommending places to visit.
5) It's good value
This site is definitely a favourite of ours and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elliemay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We're not really campers but went with a group of other school Moms and Dads and had a great time. A tip - if you're going as a group (we had six families) is to book one of the two Rally fields which give you your own space. Think about purchasing heavy-duty pegs though as it seemed to be very stoney under the surface and normal pegs bend easily. Great area for kids and they loved the ponies roaming around. Showers nice and hot and staff seemed nice and friendly and you can't go too far wrong in the New Forest for walks and bike rides as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fido_Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
746 reviews
3.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,547 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite

Property: Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between two New Forest towns - Brockenhurst and Beaulieu - Roundhill campsite consists of expansive grassy areas and glorious pine trees; perfect for pitching your tent! With countless direct routes into the unique New Forest environment via cycle and footpaths, this is a perfect campsite for exploring the flora and fauna of the open forest and Beaulieu Heath. If you are really lucky, you may spot deer during quieter times, and see the famous New Forest and Shetland ponies roaming freely. Facilities Rally field Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Seasonal pitches Unsheltered site Toilets Showers Washbasins Electric razor sockets Separate disabled facilities Parent and baby room Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps Dishwashing facilities Ice pack freezing facility Area for ball games Pets welcome The spacious nature of this campsite makes it an ideal retreat for families who require plenty of grass areas for children to play safely. Local attractions include Beaulieu Motor Museum and the Paultons Park Peppa Pig World, and at Brockenhurst you can hire bikes or take the family horse riding. Although there is no electricity on the site, there are toilet and shower blocks as well as washing-up facilities. A dog shower and baby changing facility were introduced during 2011. Disabled facilities are with fitted radar locks. Bigger groups can be accommodated on our separate rally field which can cater for up to 60 pitches. To help become true conscious campers we have put together some tips on how to enjoy your forest holiday and particularly how to respect the animals in your surroundings. Please read our camping tips page for more information. Pitch types at Roundhill There are 500 standard pitches at Roundhill ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roundhill Caravan Park And Campsite
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing