We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just come back from a lovely weekend camping with family and friends. Have been to roundhill many times over the past 30 years and would certainly go back again.

Clean site, good facilities and very easy advanced booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_10110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    105
    52
    26
    26
See reviews for
168
70
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We're a family of 5 (kids12,10,6) and recently completed a week's stay here. We had been a bit tentative based on some of the negative reviews particularly with regard to officious site staff. Nothing could be further from the truth; the staff were very friendly and diligent, often seen around the campsite picking up any rogue litter. This is right in the heart of the New Forest heathland and very natural surroundings. There is an amazing amount of space to secure you're own relatively private pitch. Ponies and donkeys wander through the site, occasionally foraging for food but that's all part of the charm. Sure, the site does get busier and noisier on the weekend but that is to be expected. Arguably I think the staff could have been more vigilant about late night noise on Friday/Saturday nights and also the barking dogs. Again, I think these are just common symptoms of most campsites. The toilet/shower facilities are ok but rather limited for the number of pitches. The showers could do with an upgrade. A freezer block service would be helpful too. All in all, a great site.

Room Tip: Pick a pitch around the edge for more privacy by the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a great campsite! We had a lovely few days, the staff were great and the site was very clean and tidy. You can pitch where you want which was perfect for us and we found a lovely spot away from too many other people. We had two dogs who were made very welcome and enjoyed the wonderful walks off the site and made good use of the doggy shower! This site feels like it is right in the heart of the forest and like you are going back to nature but with the luxury of good, clean toilets and good, clean and hot showers. The ponies, cows and donkeys wondering around the site made it really special. I don't have kids but they all looked like they were having a wonderful time cycling around the site and playing rounder's etc. I can't wait to go back for another peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: Take decent tent pegs as ours all bent from stones and tree roots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I've just got back from a weekend here and it was very nice. Lovely open spaces that are ideal for the children to cycle on. Horses, donkeys and cows wandering up to say hello, tree galore for the kids to climb. All very nice. It was peaceful at night and felt safe during the day.

The showers and toilets were clean enough. After all, it is camping, not a 5 star hotel!

The campsite staff are very friendly and helpful and we were pitched near to some very friendly families, so the children had lots of friends to play with.

We spent a day at the New Forest Wildlife Centre, which was excellent, and Balmers Lawn is just down the road for a bit of river swimming too.

Don't be put off by the other reviews on here. Its a good campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our kids love it here with lots to see & do locally. Always friendly & safe with many new friends to make. Jurassic coast Bournemouth, Seaton and loads of inland places to visit. An old vet to this site and always enjoy our stay! Thanks. See you in August.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kingflooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We ended up at Roundhill as Hollandswood was full (we only wanted 1 night and so couldn't prebook). This turned out to be a stroke of luck. The welcome was very helpful and friendly and there was plenty of space for us to choose from so didn't seem busy and kids go ride around quite freely. Toilet and shower blocks were clean and fully functioning. The site is set well back from the road so its very quiet and you can easily wander off into the forest for a lovely woodland walk. Beware of the donkeys though! We accidentally left some food in our tent and it was broken into. Rookie mistake!

So in summary, thoroughly recommend the site and we will be back for a longer stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Micah_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed at roundhill in May 2013 with 3 other couples, we had visited before in 2011 and were eager to return. Despite being slightly put off by the negative reviews we decided to go ahead anyway and were very glad we did. The staff where more than helpful, and quite often had a chat with us at night whilst we where sitting around the BBQ having some drinks, they did come round to check we were only burning coal, that our tents where far enough apart etc, but where never rude about anything and we didn't complain about them checking it all- after all they where only doing their jobs, which ultimately makes the site a nicer place.
There were only 2 shower blocks open during our stay but the site was quiet so it was more than enough. The facilities are basic but more than adequate, and for a campsite the showers are actually pretty impressive. The blocks were cleaned daily, but did get a bit dirty just before they where due a clean (but this is camping- you cant expect everything to be spotless)
Overall this is a great site, we have stayed in a lot of different sites in the new forest and this is the only one we have decided to return to and we will do so again. The grounds are lovely, there are lots of trails leading directly off of it and there are plenty of wildlife wandering around. I would say take the negative reviews with a pinch of salt and give it a try, you wont regret it.

Room Tip: The ground isn't the flattest so try and not put a big dip under your tent encase it rains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kai2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
1.9 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,618 reviews
3.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
801 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,724 reviews
7.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite

Property: Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Brockenhurst
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between two New Forest towns - Brockenhurst and Beaulieu - Roundhill campsite consists of expansive grassy areas and glorious pine trees; perfect for pitching your tent! With countless direct routes into the unique New Forest environment via cycle and footpaths, this is a perfect campsite for exploring the flora and fauna of the open forest and Beaulieu Heath. If you are really lucky, you may spot deer during quieter times, and see the famous New Forest and Shetland ponies roaming freely. Facilities Rally field Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Seasonal pitches Unsheltered site Toilets Showers Washbasins Electric razor sockets Separate disabled facilities Parent and baby room Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps Dishwashing facilities Ice pack freezing facility Area for ball games Pets welcome The spacious nature of this campsite makes it an ideal retreat for families who require plenty of grass areas for children to play safely. Local attractions include Beaulieu Motor Museum and the Paultons Park Peppa Pig World, and at Brockenhurst you can hire bikes or take the family horse riding. Although there is no electricity on the site, there are toilet and shower blocks as well as washing-up facilities. A dog shower and baby changing facility were introduced during 2011. Disabled facilities are with fitted radar locks. Bigger groups can be accommodated on our separate rally field which can cater for up to 60 pitches. To help become true conscious campers we have put together some tips on how to enjoy your forest holiday and particularly how to respect the animals in your surroundings. Please read our camping tips page for more information. Pitch types at Roundhill There are 500 standard pitches at Roundhill ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roundhill Caravan Park And Campsite
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite Hotel Brockenhurst
Roundhill Caravan Park & Campsite Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing