We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa but not good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Overall, this is a pleasant hotel in a lovely location. The staff are very friendly and efficient, and the spa facilities are great. There is a choice of three restaurants, the Thai one had a very appetising menu unlike the main restaurant. We chose to eat in the French 'brasserie' style restaurant which was pleasant with decent food. This is quite a large hotel with very long corridors (they actually provide 'maps' so that you don't get lost!). While our room was clean and comfortable, and looked out over a peaceful garden, the decor was very tired and dated. Overall, the feel was of a 1980's hotel which has been well maintained. This is a great place to stay if you get a reasonable deal on the accommodation, but not value for money at their usual rates.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to learn of how much you enjoyed your stay with us overall, but sorry to learn that the room was not to your preference in Decor.

I do hope you may consider staying with us again where I am sure we can accommodate your room preferences, ensuring you a relaxing break away in The New Forest.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at Careys Manor for two nights to relax and recharge this June. We have visited before and stayed in the oak wood wing, which was nice but a bit basic. This time we paid a bit extra and went for the Knightwood wing. The furnishings and decoration were to a much higher standard and the room was larger with a nice sofa to lounge about on! Proper 4 star accomodation. The bed was not very comfortable though.

Location wise it's perfect. Right in the new forest and a two minute walk from 3 nice pubs. Drinks at the manor are very pricey so I would advise stepping out for a beer.

The Senspa is sensational, if your staying at the hotel you really have to try it. Hydrotherapy pool is wonderfully warm with lots of different jets and spouts that relax you marvellously. The Tepidarium involves sitting on heated tiled seats in a dimly lit room while soothing music plays. It sounds boring but is SO relaxing. The experience showers and laconium are pretty dull and you won't use them more than once.

The Rhassoul mud experience for two was pricey (£80) but a good giggle. Smearing mud on your naked partners body is memorable! I'm glad I tried it but would not buy again.

Food wise, we had room service one night which was superb and dined in the French restaurant the other night. The service at the Blaireau was attentive, friendly and generally made you feel well looked after. The food was pretty good too!

The staff are excellent, always ready with a smile and a kind word. Well done to all of them. The cost was fairly astronomical but at the end of the day it's a smart, well run hotel and you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thegreatatuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your break and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Careys Manor Hotel.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. On a plus note the staff were very helpfull,friendly and made us feel comfortable - the food we found excellent but the price charged for the accoommodation out balances this - I have to agree that the rooms are a let down and I have stayed in better lower budget hotels - also on the Sunday morning the restaurant was extremlly busy due to a wedding party and we had to queue for the breakfast buiffet which took me back to my all inclusive experiences of dining! The SPA is worth paying the extra for as the hydotherapy pool is amazing and really helps any aches and pains - as previously stated dont go expecting luxury accommodation as the price reflects, but you will enjoy the service,food and SPA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarolMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for your candid feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read how positively you spoke of the Spa, service and cuisine experienced. I am terribly sorry you had to wait for the buffet service during a busy Sunday morning Breakfast, we are also very happy to provide a plated Breakfast service alongside our Buffets.

I do hope you may consider staying with us again where I am sure we can accommodate your room preferences, ensuring you a relaxing break away in The New Forest.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a nights stay here and whilst the hotel was nice and the food good, it came across as a hotel that could do better. The staff in the restaurant and bar were well meaning but slow. The sommelier at dinner could not recommend a wine.

It's a nice break in a lovely location, but don't expect exceptional service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuffingBillyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay with us.

I was sorry to learn that you felt the service was nothing but exceptional in the dining room and I have shared your views with our Restaurant Manager so he may address any training areas required.

I am pleased you found the hotel and food to be nice and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Careys Manor.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Sadly only stayed here for one night but had the chance to eat in all 3 restaurants, all of which were exceptional. Cannot agree with the last review about basic furnishings, the rooms, food and service were first class. I spent many years as cabin crew living in and out of 5 star hotels and this one is up there with the very best. Most of all the service was second to none. Thank you James for making our Stay (North Wales group) so fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazeljohnsonollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read how much you and your group enjoyed your overnight stay with us and it was a pleasure to have been able to welcome you to Careys Manor.

We trust the remainder of your trip was successful and hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We decided to spend the weekend at this spa hotel for our anniversary. The spa facilities were great however the room which cost £200 per night was no better than Premier Inn. It was very disappointing to find basic furnishings and refreshments in what we hoped to be a very plush hotel.
The breakfast however was the highlight of the weekend. There was ample choice of food and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsL-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay with us.

I am delighted to learn of how much you enjoyed your SenSpa experience but sorry to learn that the room was not to your preference in Decor or in facilities provided.

I do hope you may consider staying with us again where I am sure we can accommodate your preferences, ensuring you a relaxing break away in The New Forest.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had lovely visit to this hotel - The hotel kindly booked us 1 night only as we were staying at the sister hotels the night before. We had 2 different rooms but both were very nice, clean and modern with views over the gardens, Good rate for bfast and dinner in the Manor restaurant which was really very nice - the lovely Anna served, lovely lady.

Keith was great parking our car for us and offered to take our bags from the car if our room became available before we returned from Lunch - He was very attentive and helpful.

We only used the pool. steam room and sauna (not the actual spa) as we didn't feel the need to - athough I'm sure it would be very very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking gardens are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate your request for an overnight stay after your visit to our sister hotel, The Montagu Arms in Beaulieu.

Your kind words towards the team, Anna and Keith in particular are much appreciated and I will ensure they are commended for their efforts.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,835 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,020 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,725 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £159 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in The Telegraph's Best Hotels in Hampshire. Blending just the right fusion of relaxed informality and stylish refinement, a break at Careys Manor Hotel will make you feel wonderfully pampered. Nestled between the New Forest National Park, Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa provides the perfect base for grown up getaways to escape and discover. With 77 plush bedrooms and suites, the award winning SenSpa, 3 onsite restaurants and 4 star award winning service, create extraordinary memories at Careys Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing