We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Back to fab!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our 5th year at Careys Manor and we were so happy to see new management had bought it back to scratch. The hotel was much busier this year which was good to see and our Knightwood room was refurbished. We had a nice chilled bottle of fizz in our room which we enjoyed whilst sitting on the balcony overlooking the garden and fountain.
The Manor restaurant that caused us a problem last year was back to great management and our evening meal was lovely. Don't go expecting big portions, its a more cordon bleu but so tasty and more than filling. The Escale pinot noir red is a must and compliments the meal well! Breakfast was back to buffet style with local produce and very high standard. Offering all options from hot to cereal, to fruit, yoghurt etc and for those who do not like buffet there are items you can order to the table.
The spa area is good with the option to sit outside the Zen gardens for a cooling drink. We always use the hydro area and highly recommend the heated beds upstairs to relax on.
Blaireau French bistro is always a good option with friendly service and "bigger" food. We enjoyed another great meal on our second night.
Lastly this hotel apart from the great welcome, friendly staff and great facilities is well placed to explore. Over the last 5 years we have done many of the local attractions and this time we booked the ferry from Southampton (25 mins by car) to East Cowes where we visited Osborne House. From the ferry terminal it is just £3.90 by cab to Osborne House (£5 EACH by bus) Booking the ferry tickets via Red funnel ferry gave discounted tickets. Fantastic day. All in all a very good weekend with mixture of relaxation and fun. We look forward to our 6th anniversary year next year.

Room Tip: Knightwood rooms have lovely views of the garden with balconys to sit on. Oakwood have no balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay. It’s always very pleasing to learn of our guests returning time and time again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th Wedding Anniversary next year.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    597
    231
    89
    45
See reviews for
214
1,449
49
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our friends daughter got married at Careys Manor last Sunday.
What a super day, the setting was lovely, the food was fabulous and the staff were so attentive and helpful, especially Marco who really looked after us behind the bar.
The whole day ran smoothly and was just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_s314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay for your friends special day. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the day and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was taken to Careys Manor for a relaxing weekend break in May 2013. Generally I think the hotel is lovely, the staff were very helpful and the welcome at the reception is excellent. The reception area and the staircase are beautiful. The room was lovely with large windows opening on to beautiful gardens. I had taken some snacks and wine expecting there to be a mini bar that I could put them in and was genuinely amazed that there wasn't. I asked for a wine cooler and lots of ice which was very quickly produced, and chilled the wine and the snacks in it. Dressing for dinner I discovered that there was no full length mirror and that the light was so low in the room even with all the lights on!!! The meal in the restaurant was superb, I notice that others have mentioned the pianist and the small portions, personally I enjoyed both. My complaint re the food is somewhat different to other reviews in that I thought the breakfast was terrible. For the standard of hotel and restaurant I was shocked to see mass produced eggs sitting in a food heater turning to little bullets of rubber. It is possible to have a freshly cooked breakfast in a large hotel..I know as I have experienced it many times. On the nights I stayed there was a wedding on the each night. Although I could hear the music and celebrations they were not disruptive but on the sunday night after the party had ended there were up to 3 different voices all having a very loud conversation or even an arguement, this went on for a couple of hours. Surely something should have been done about it?
I do feel that calling it a Manor Hotel is somewhat misleading as the only thing reminiscent of staying in a Manor House is the reception area. Sorry to say as I was expecting to be able to write a great review. I would suggest a new approach to breakfast, update the restaurant so that it doesn't look like a conference room and update the bedrooms. Come on....even premier inns have full length mirrors!!

Room Tip: If you want a character room in keeping with the idea that its a Manor House...better check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mother-Hubbard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for visiting Careys Manor and for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We do listen to all guest feedback both positive and negative, and your constructive comments are much appreciated.

We are very pleased that overall, you had a pleasant stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Careys Manor in the future.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Careys Manor is a beautiful hotel, great location, close to Brockenhurst train Station. You can arrange to be picked you up from the station if you wish, just let them know your train times. This was my fourth stay and as always the service was brilliant, very helpful efficient friendly staff. The rooms are lovely, very comfortable beds with big soft pillows. We had a beautiful garden room with doors opening onto the garden with our own table and chairs outside. The restaurant is lovely and food delicious.
My sister and I had spa treatments massages and facials both wonderful, relaxing and very experienced therapists. The spa is fantastic, lovely pool, jacuzzi and amazing tropical storm showers. The relaxation areas are very nice, peaceful and comfortable. I would highly recommend both the hotel and spa and cannot wait to return.
We visited Exbury Gardens which was beautiful, it would be amazing in May when the rhododendrons are in full bloom they were coming to an end when we visited. Don't hesitate to book you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DentalHygenist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. What a pleasure to read that this was your fourth visit and was just as enjoyable as your previous stays. Exbury Gardens is certainly well worth a visit and what a treat for you to be able to visit during the rhododendron season.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great location, easy walk to shops, restaurants and lovely forest walks. Room spacious and good but a little dusty, bed very soft, pillows uncomfortable but should ask asked for extra so our own fault they were far too soft. Good bathroom and a great shower. We loved the balcony. The only down side was the dismal Manor restaurant, it was really a function room with dated decor, tables on top of each other even when you could drive a bus around the room, why do that. Pianist was dismal too, think he is used to fill the space, had he played some cheery music it would have been better. Food fine but portions too small and far too rich for us, would not eat there again, but breakfast was great, it was a buffet and was all excellent, you could order other things too if wanted. Staff friendly but we had a large selection of different ones waiting table at dinner which was odd. We did not use the spa but it is supposed to be great but you pay more for it. Only thing to remember is its not really a Manor house it has large modernish extensions on the back which have long corridors, we found it no problem. We would stay there again and will look forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time at Careys Manor and that you are looking forward to your next stay. We are sorry that The Manor Restaurant was not to your liking at dinner but delighted with your feedback towards Breakfast. We have two further restaurants available at Careys, Le Blaireau, our French Bistro & Bar and The Zen Garden Thai Restaurant and we are pleased you will get the opportunity to try one during your next visit.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

It was our second time staying at Careys manor on a spa break weekend and once again we had the most amazing time. From our very first entrance to the hotel we were welcomed by the most friendliest and helpful staff which is rare nowadays. The same on our entrance to the spa- nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We received some amazing treatments during our stay and ate some mouth watering food in both the Zen Garden Thai restaurant and the Manor Restaurant, again served by some extremely friendly staff. We chose to be decadent and have breakfast brought to our room on the Sunday morning so we were able to fully relax on the last morning of our stay. Thank you to everyone at the hotel and spa for your amazing service.

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed an amazing Spa Break and very much look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Had our business retreat. Very good service, in particular at the reception. Rooms spacious and clean. Very good food. The swimming pool is rather small. A minor disappointment. Must have a guided walk in the forest and a bike ride. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your business retreat. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us in The New Forest and hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Our 14 meter Pool is Ozone treated which enables us to keep a clean and safe swimming environment whilst using only the smallest amount of chlorine in-line with our passion for minimising the impact our business has on the environment at every opportunity.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing