We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Spa”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Had a great experience once again at this hotel. Service superb, the Spa is exceptional. Staff so friendly and helpful, especially reception. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back.

Did not get the chance to use the restaurant on this visit but did so before, and again the food and service were first class.

Restaurant recommended to us away from the Hotel was also excellent, reception made an excellent choice for us.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms with their own seating area are perfect for an Al Fresco breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback where we are all delighted to learn of how much you enjoyed your return visit to Careys Manor. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the future.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    602
    233
    90
    45
See reviews for
217
1,465
49
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Went for our 5th consecutive annual anniversary long weekend and am pleased to say, Careys has returned with a vengeance! Our first 2 visits were fantastic. 3rd time ok, but last year unfortunately, was disappointing, knowing how good it CAN be!
I believe there has been a change in management or whatever the reason may be, this visit proved we did well in giving them the benefit of the doubt and return. The staff in the Manor restaurant were absolutely fantastic and meals were great as well. As always, we also dined in Le Blaieau (French style) one of the 2 evenings we had and like all the years we have been going there, staff and food superb. Only 'downside' was the Hydrotherapy facility was quite busy compared to previous years, where we have almost had the whole thing to ourselves, but this only goes to show that the promotions they run are successful and the product itself, understandably, in demand I guess!
Set in what in my opinion is the most beautiful part of the country, Careys Manor is back amongst the best UK hotels/spas I have ever been to, so congratulations and thanks to management and all staff for a great break and see you again next year for definite!
PS. A special tanks to Charlotte in reception (I think your name was, sorry!!) for being sooo helpful with receiving and sending an urgent fax for me upon our arrival! Greatly appreciated! X

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
What a pleasure to read that this was your 5th visit and that we have redeemed ourselves after your 4th visit, which I am sorry to learn did not live up to previous experiences. We are grateful to you for taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again for your 6th visit.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Many thanks for a wonderful time at Careys last weekend. The staff were great, and the celebrations went really well. This was in no small measure a result of how well we were looked after by the staff, especially the manor staff at dinner and also the sen -spa staff who were really attentive at all times, and smoothed over any thing that went wrong very quickly, with no fuss and really made us feel special.

I look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a garden Oakwood room, they are lovely and give you a nice patio area for your morning co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank androulla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your celebratory stay with us. We are very grateful of your kind praise and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Senspa here is fabulous, very clean with with the usual pools supported by warm rooms and relaxation areas on the upper floors of the spa. £35 for a full day does not seem unreasonable and total relaxation guaranteed, just listen to the snores in the Quiet Room
Accommodation in the first floor Knightwood rooms is excellent, a large room with a balcony and wooden chairs only slightly marred by smokers sitting out on the ground floor. Plenty of wardrobe space with 3 full length mirrors on the doors. Lots of freebies including a bowl of fruit and bath oils in the signature scent you notice in the spa, a nice touch that. Excellent large night safe and good tv in the room as well
The Thai restaurant was superb, try the Mussaman beef curry. The hotel restaurant was as described by others more cordon bleu but excellent and filling nonetheless. We found the breakfast buffet experience to our liking when we found that you could order more or less whatever you fancied porridge, smoked haddock with poached egg etc at no extra cost and with only a short wait. The staff throughout the hotel are always friendly and eager to please. They were always able to solve any of the minor problems we had
Grumbles? The changing room facilities. Ladies using £1 coins in the lockers found them sticking but the slimmer tokens work ok so ask for them. Gents have gone digital if you read the printed instructions on the changing room notice board all may be well
There is still refurbishment work ongoing but it is very well handled and. Did not intrude at all

Room Tip: First floor Knightwood rooms with a balcony mean you can leave your window open safely at night as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblerBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for visiting Careys Manor and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very grateful of your kind praise towards the team and all that Careys has to offer. We will be sure to look into the lockers in the ladies changing rooms and remain completely focussed on ensuring that our guests are not affected in any way by the minor refurbishment work we are currently undergoing.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Finally got round to writing on her. A 30th birthday surprise from my Husband. We got married there in October 2011, and it was fantastic day and enjoyed by all of our guests. We returned in mid-June and found it was just as brilliant as it was before.
On arrival greeted up a nicely chilled bottle of champagne and note from the Manager. The room was fab...comfy bed and very relaxing.
A big thank you to all the staff, and recognising some familiar faces from 2011. It was great to see the same standards being met.
The Spa facility was brilliant, booking in for a treatment next time.
Thank you Careys Manor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
It was equally as fab for us to be able to welcome you back to Careys Manor and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your surprise 30th treat. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked the spa break which included one nights stay, two course Thai lunch, three course dinner in the evening and full use of the spa for the weekend. It was absolutely brilliant from start to finish, the staff were so attentive and helpful. We requested an ice bucket be brought to our room, as has already been mentioned there was no fridge, but this was brought immediately.
We were given a complimentary upgrade to the oakwood room which if you are on the ground floor like we were has a terrace opening on to the gardens. Really modern room but I suppose if I was to be picky there were no full length mirrors and the bath tub was just a standard size.
Lunch was by far the best meal of the day! Dinner was good but I ordered the salad for the starter which was effectively two cherry tomatoes cut into halves with some leaves. However it was delicious as were all the courses, very rich, so I guess this is the style they are going for.

All in all a fantastic break and would definitely return.

P.S If you do go the spa for the day I would advise going early as there are not a great deal of sun beds around the pool and if we didn't have them it would have been a bit annoying I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have an "oakwood" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for visiting Careys Manor and for taking the time to review your stay. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us in The New Forest.

We listen to all feedback and I have already begun the process of looking into adding mini fridges and full length mirrors into our bedrooms. As a private and family owned hotel, we enhance everything we do in stages, always looking at ways to improve our guest’s experience.

Thank you once again for your kind comments, we very much look forward to being able to welcome you back again for another stay.

Thomas & the Team

Ps. As well as the loungers by the pool, there are also hideaways in the Hydrotherapy area of SenSpa with heated loungers, as well as a tranquil relaxation area on the first floor with views onto our Zen Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our 5th year at Careys Manor and we were so happy to see new management had bought it back to scratch. The hotel was much busier this year which was good to see and our Knightwood room was refurbished. We had a nice chilled bottle of fizz in our room which we enjoyed whilst sitting on the balcony overlooking the garden and fountain.
The Manor restaurant that caused us a problem last year was back to great management and our evening meal was lovely. Don't go expecting big portions, its a more cordon bleu but so tasty and more than filling. The Escale pinot noir red is a must and compliments the meal well! Breakfast was back to buffet style with local produce and very high standard. Offering all options from hot to cereal, to fruit, yoghurt etc and for those who do not like buffet there are items you can order to the table.
The spa area is good with the option to sit outside the Zen gardens for a cooling drink. We always use the hydro area and highly recommend the heated beds upstairs to relax on.
Blaireau French bistro is always a good option with friendly service and "bigger" food. We enjoyed another great meal on our second night.
Lastly this hotel apart from the great welcome, friendly staff and great facilities is well placed to explore. Over the last 5 years we have done many of the local attractions and this time we booked the ferry from Southampton (25 mins by car) to East Cowes where we visited Osborne House. From the ferry terminal it is just £3.90 by cab to Osborne House (£5 EACH by bus) Booking the ferry tickets via Red funnel ferry gave discounted tickets. Fantastic day. All in all a very good weekend with mixture of relaxation and fun. We look forward to our 6th anniversary year next year.

Room Tip: Knightwood rooms have lovely views of the garden with balconys to sit on. Oakwood have no balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay. It’s always very pleasing to learn of our guests returning time and time again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th Wedding Anniversary next year.

Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,767 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing