We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic weekend at Careys Manor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fantastic weekend at Careys Manor.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a lovely weekend here: delicious food served in the French restaurant, beautiful room in the modern end of the hotel and friendly, polite and helpful staff. Couldn't fault it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your terrific review following your recent stay with us. I am overjoyed that you had a fantastic weekend. I really appreciate your comments about your room since all our rooms are carefully designed offering the finest combination of both modern and original features with space, style and modern amenities.

Our Executive Chef in Le Blaireau will be delighted to hear you loved the food. The bistro & bar is a firm favourite with many guests as it offers simple, high quality authentic French cuisine in a very unique setting.

Lastly, but by no means least, thank you for your kind comments and praise about the staff. They take great pride in carrying out their duties and it’s always so rewarding to hear that you were impressed by everyone’s friendliness and helpfulness. I will be sharing your comments with them and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    597
    231
    89
    45
See reviews for
214
1,449
49
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I had a lovely night away here last weekeed. We were fortunate to have a room upgrade and it was very comfy. We ate in the French restaurant and had a tasty meal, and had a great breakfast the next day.
Only complaint was that the wifi connection was not great.
The spa treatments the next day were fab... better than those at Chewton Glen a couple of months ago.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Specify if you want to be in the old/original part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsdaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a wonderful review following your stay with us. It’s always very heart-warming to hear that guests have enjoyed every aspect of their weekend break. I’m delighted you enjoyed an upgrade to one of our superior Oakwood Rooms overlooking the gardens and found the room to be very comfortable and perfect for a relaxing night away. I was also really thrilled to hear you loved the spa and treatments and regard SenSpa to be so much better than other spas ~ this really is music to our ears!
Thank you also for complimenting the food enjoyed in both Le Blaireau, our fabulous restaurant which offers genuine French cuisine in a very typical French bistro setting, but also the fantastic breakfast offered every morning in our Manor Restaurant. Our brigade of Chefs are always to delighted receive such positive feedback.
I’m sorry you experienced poor wifi connection and I will be looking into this.
It’s great to hear that you definitely plan to return and so we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Thomas & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay at Carey's Manor, it does everything very well but just misses out on the wow factor. Food was excellent we ate at the Manor and Zen restaurant and both were good value for money. If you want a great spa break you won't go far wrong at all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest

I appreciate the time you have taken to write such a pleasing review following your weekend break with us. I am really delighted to read that you had a lovely stay but disappointed to note that we did not quite meet all your expectations. However, thank you so much for your kind compliments about the hotel and the outstanding service provided by our fantastic staff. I am also pleased you enjoyed our award winning spa and its state of the art hydrotherapy and would have no hesitation in recommending us.

I will be sharing your kind comments with our fantastic Chefs who will be very happy to hear that you were impressed with the food in both our two rosette fine dining Manor Restaurant and The Zen Garden with its authentic Thai cuisine with menus offering a fresh infusion of exotic flavours.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Careys Manor & SenSpa again in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

From the concierge to the chef everything was perfect. The only fault, no plain yoghurt for breakfast.
Met at the door, luggage unloaded and car parked for you. Clean rooms exceptional food and service. Very very good break

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to provide a brilliant review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had an exceptional stay and appreciate you mentioning all those extra special touches which made all the difference to your stay. We do pride ourselves on being a very special hotel with friendly and caring staff who like to do everything they can to make our guests feel welcome and appropriately looked after. Our Executive Chef will be pleased to hear that you thought the food was outstanding and will most certainly follow up on your observation about the lack of plain yoghurt for breakfast.

I will hare your wonderful comments with all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Careys Manor & SenSpa very soon..

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Was very fortunate to receive as a birthday gift a day pass the Senspa... Wow! What a day, everything was literally perfect, from the water treatments to the full body massage, to champagne cocktails, to lunch in the Thai restaurant, even down to the cup of caffeine free, green tea on arrival...all literally perfect. So, so clean, so tasteful and happily such a young clientele.... Had a fabulous time and am counting down the days until my daughter's birthday as our excuse to return. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at SenSpa and thank you so much for taking the trouble to describe the highlights of your recent Spa Day. You may not yet know that SenSpa has just been chosen by our Good Spa Guide readers as being the best in our category for ‘Readers Spa of the Year: South East’ beating 23 other spa finalists. We are particularly delighted about this recent achievement as not only is it one of the most prestigious UK Spa Awards but, very importantly, it’s a reader voted award.
It’s great to hear that you already have a return Spa Day of pampering and relaxation planned and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Faultless service from very friendly and efficient staff. Spa is very good and the rooms were absolutely fine - not quite 5 star but very good. Great lounge area with log fires and comfortable seating. Décor in public areas is very good although rooms are showing a little wear and tear but more than adequate

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay and in particular your praise about the staff. They do take great pride in carrying out their duties and so it is always heart-warming to hear that you were impressed by everyone as well as the hotel itself. I will be sharing your comments with them and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Website looks great and booked a suite... upon arrival i was shown to the room which i think was room 5 which can only be described as disgusting, smelt damp and was dark and dingy.. the bedlinen and cushions on the bed were heavily stained, i brought this to the attention of the manager and showed him the problems, he didnt seem to bothered but did offer to change our room..!!! we then went down for dinner and had to ask 3 times for the menu which never arrived and we were left sitting on the bar for over an hour before when i asked what was going on i was then told as e had a tiny new born baby who was sleeping we were not allowed into the restaurant.. this place is an utter shambles...!!!!! To say this is one of the 20 top hotels is an absolute joke...!!!! AVOID...!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jk7ngv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review following your recent stay. I’m pleased that I was able to meet you in person at the end of your stay to allow me the opportunity to apologise personally for the lapse in service in housekeeping and I hope you also received my follow up email. I do genuinely fully appreciate the disappointment and distress all this caused you and I wholeheartedly agree that we failed on this occasion to achieve our normal extremely high standards.

I can assure you that your complaint concerning the room was taken very seriously with immediate action taken to rectify the situation by showing you two available upgraded rooms to choose from. As a hotel we are proud of our staff since they carry out their duties with a lot of care and dedication and so fully recognising that your stay had not got off to a good start the porter assisted moving your luggage to your new room and also organised for a complimentary bottle of champagne to be delivered.

With regards to the unfortunate incident in the Manor Restaurant, firstly I am again sincerely sorry if you were not made aware of the child restrictions in this particular restaurant. When you checked-in your reservation card does confirm that you were offered a cot, something we always offer guests travelling with a baby, and it is customary at that time for Reservations to advise guests about child restrictions in our main restaurant. If this was overlooked I’m very sorry but it may have been because you already had a table reserved in Le Blaireau our French brasserie which is a great place to dine with young children and which you possibly made when initially booking your stay with us. I will of course ensure that Reservations in future confirm with guests travelling with a baby their dining plans to avoid this ever happening again. I was however delighted to hear that you thought Le Blaireau’s was fantastic and the staff looked after you very well thus turning the evening into a success for you.

I really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and show you that we are a very well thought of 4* hotel which 99.9% of the time lives up to and often exceeds guests expectations.

Best wishes
Thomas and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing