We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable few days”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a three night break. The room was beautiful and comfortable although the approach from the back car park was disappointing. A wonderful reception with character. The staff were superb and the food was delicious. Our only criticism is that communal areas are very tired, both in decor and furnishings. Sunday night the manor restaurant lacked ambiance, but possibly because of the lack of diners in such a large area and perhaps thought should be given to reducing sections down on such occasions. The French restaurant was our favorite! it was lively and vibrant with a fantastic host. It was a shame that all the breakfast was buffet style, not what I would expect from a hotel of this calibre, in fairness we could have asked for waitress service, but this seemed unreasonable to ask to be different. We used the pool every day and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, but again a shame the small ceiling damage had not been repaired. On the whole a wonderful few days, and Next time we would look to stay in the main house.

Room Tip: Telephone for more information on rooms rather than an on line booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments following your recent stay at Careys Manor & SenSpa. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful few days with us but disappointed to note that we did not quite meet all your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve the facilities and services we provide. Thank you so much for your fabulous praise about the team as we do pride ourselves on being a very special hotel with friendly and caring staff who like to do everything they can to make our guests feel welcome and appropriately looked after. Our Executive Chef will also be pleased that you were impressed with the delicious food in our two rosette Manor Restaurant since all dishes are created personally by him. Great to hear that you loved Le Blaireau. This is often a popular choice for guests who enjoy high quality French cuisine in an authentic brasserie and bar.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    592
    230
    89
    45
See reviews for
207
1,425
48
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A retreat with no screaming children, or drunken louts banging around in the corridors, and where a spirit of manners and courteousy settles over nearly everyone who enters this wonderful sanctuary.
There are many Hotels who are either equal to, or better than Careys Manor in terms of accommodation standards, and professional service however, the actual spa itself is unparrallelled (in my opinion, and within the UK), and the overall presentation of the Hotel is right up the top (again, in terms of my opinion, having stayed 4 times over the course of one year).
The aforementioned qualities and service do however, come at a price; a price that is at least double to what Careys Manor charges, which is what makes Carey's Manor Hotel and Spa an experience that you will never forget.
The staff are nothing short of wonderful, and very accommodating, along with providing excellence of service, and giving Carey's Manor an overall feeling of "homeliness".
The relaxation rooms are exactly that: rooms where the world can be left outside, and where the mind and body can be tuned in to a more subtle frequency, leaving oneself relaxed, rejuvenated, and glowing from within.
There is nothing that comes close to the overall experience that is, Carey's Manor, and that includes the Dining experiences of the wonderfully French Le Bleireu, and the Zen Garden Thai restaurant with its resident Thai Chefs.
The treatments are beyond compare, and all I can add is: You have to experience Carey's Manor to believe it.

Room Tip: The only suggestion I can make is: speak to them regarding your wishes. I can almost guarantee that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and for describing many of the hotel and spa’s qualities which make your stay so enjoyable. As a regular and greatly valued guest to Careys Manor & SenSpa your feedback is very important. It is always a great pleasure to have you stay with us and I’m delighted that the facilities and the services we provide continue to exceed all your expectations. Your comments about the spa are a fabulous endorsement to the multiple awards won for offering a truly unique Thai spa experience and unrivalled treatments. Having won the Good Spa Guide Awards for ‘Best Spa in the South East’ for the second year running we are now very excited to be Finalists at the World Luxury Spa Awards! Our brigade of talented Chefs will also be really pleased to hear how impressed you are with the food since all dishes served in our three dining options are created by our very own Executive Chefs. The rest of the team also take a genuine pleasure in ensuring guests’ stay is comfortable and will always aim to create that home from home feeling so it is very heart-warming to hear their efforts are once again noticed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With kind regards
Thomas and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Probably one of the best spa settings on the south coast and provides authentic and original treatments and services. This place is definitely a jewel in the crown and makes so many people leave feeling rejuvenated! Nice and acts as a tranquility of oasis

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniljain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

How lovely to hear that you had a truly wonderful time experiencing our authentic Thai spa at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments with us ~ it’s brilliant to receive such superb praise and I’m delighted we exceeded all your expectations. Our unique state-of-the-art -hydrotherapy facilities and unrivalled treatments has been created to provide the perfect tranquil and rejuvenating spa retreat. Tucked away behind Careys Manor Hotel it is undeniably a hidden gem which also offers the most exquisite Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. Reading your comments I thought you may also be interested to read that last night one of our therapists was awarded Winner in the Best Therapist category at the prestigious Professional Beauty Awards held in London. Best Therapist is a much coveted award and another endorsement to the many multiple awards already won including the Good Spa Guide Awards 2013 for ‘Best Spa in the UK: South East’ and European Health & Spa Awards 2013 UK Winner of ‘Best Hotel Spa’.
We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myself and my husband stay at Carey's manor once a year to get away from life's stress and worries, each time we go we have an amazing time.

The staff are polite, helpful, smart and attentive. The hotel is beautiful, we stayed in the garden suite this time, the bed is huge!! lol the rooms are lovely and always clean. The spa is one of a kind, it's like entering our own little hideout, shut the door and leave everything behind!

The restaurants never fail to provide delicious food, breakfast in the manor room is help yourself or in the Thai restaurant you can choose and it will be cooked for you, either is lovely. Lunch in the Thai restaurant is our favourite, Thai curry is amazing! Or if you just want to relax you can order sandwich etc to eat in the relaxation room, also very tasty.
Dinner in the manor restaurant is relaxed and romantic with the piano playing, then we just love retiring to the lounge room and sit in front of the open fire drinking cocktails.

Some might say it is pricey, it's why we only go once a year, sadly! BUT you honestly do get what you pay for and I am more than happy to do so.

We can't wait to see you all again next year. Thank you.

Mr and Mrs Jones.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and, in particular, for describing so many of the highlights of your stay. As a regular and greatly valued guest to us, your feedback is very important. It’s very heart-warming to hear that you had another very satisfying stay and I would like to personally thank you for sharing with us that Careys Manor & SenSpa continues to be a firm favourite and is why you love coming back every year. We do continually strive to improve the facilities and services of both the hotel and spa and it is therefore always a great pleasure to see returning guests.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for a valentines break and we weren't disappointed! This is a Great hotel with luxurious rooms which were beautifully clean as was the spa and facilities. We had a double treatment room where I had a pregnancy massage and my partner had an anti stress
Massage which he loved! The room was so relaxing with dimmed lights and music and we were treated like royalty! My massage was perfect and the masseuse really made
Me feel comfortable and that my baby was always well protected. The Thai lunch we had was perfect as was the French bistro evening meal we had.
The hotel and spa is quite pricey but worth it, the staff were lovely and very helpful at all times. Only slight criticism is the rooms don't have room service but will bring fresh milk to your room if requested or movies on the tv. The corridors and nets in the room were also looking a little tired but nothing at all to spoil the wonderful break. We will definitely save to return and have recommended to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jet0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

I am delighted we made your Valentine’s break an occasion to remember and thank you for choosing to enjoy your Spa Break at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. I really appreciate all your wonderful feedback and your kind comments and recommendation to others. I am particularly glad to hear that your other half also relished the spa experience as we are very committed to the health and wellbeing for both the man and woman. We are very proud to be one of the few hotels able to promise such a unique authentic Thai spa experience offering unrivalled treatments delivered by highly trained therapists. In fact only last night one of our therapists was awarded Winner in the Best Therapist category at the prestigious Professional Beauty Awards held in London. Best Therapist is a much coveted award and therefore a particularly demanding category due to the large number of entrants so to win is a fantastic achievement and another endorsement to the many multiple awards already won including the Good Spa Guide Awards 2013 for ‘Best Spa in the UK: South East’ and European Health & Spa Awards 2013 UK Winner of ‘Best Hotel Spa’. We therefore really appreciate and welcome all feedback (both positive and negative) as it really helps us to keep on improving the facilities and services we offer in the hotel and spa.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If you haven’t already done so, do subscribe to our regular newsletters via our website and be one of the first to receive news about some fabulous spa break offers.
With best wishes
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here in early February in room 65, which is on the first floor.
The view of Careys Manor when you arrive is beautiful - very imposing.
The concierge were very helpful, showing us around when we had checked in, so we knew where to go for breakfast the next morning, and where the bar was!
We were shown where to park our car, and I must admit the view of the back side of the hotel is somewhat disappointing. An old facade that really does not fit in. To think we were paying £285.00 to stay in an add on to the beautiful manor was not what I expected, and did taint our stay somewhat.
Nevertheless, the interior of the room was nice, and the facilities like shower and tea and coffee making were good. The bed was comfy although the pillows a little too deep for me, but not a bad point just a personal preference.
The spa was gorgeous and very clean, the pool and jacuzzi area were well maintained.
We used the facilities everyday and particularly liked the fact that it was encouraged to walk to and from the spa in your dressing gown!
We had a mud treatment and a neck, back and shoulder massage which was lovely.
We ate in the manor restaurant which was pricey, but amazing. The food and staff in this hotel make up for any downsides, of which there aren't many.
Definitely worth a visit - close to a few nice walks around the New Forest as well

Room Tip: Try to get a room in e manor house itself, I'm sure this would be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us following your recent stay at Careys Manor & SenSpa. I am thrilled your overall experience of the hotel and the spa was really pleasing and thank you for mentioning all those extra special touches we provide to ensure our guests stay is comfortable and that they have everything they need. I am however sorry to hear that you were disappointed to see that the beautiful traditional features of the old manor house do not extend entirely throughout the whole property. Nevertheless I am so pleased you found the bedrooms to be elegant and tastefully decorated with excellent facilities thus shown we have successfully combined the addition of stylish modern bedrooms with the original features of the old manor house. I am delighted you were able to spend time in our fabulously unique state-of-the-art Thai spa and indulged in some award winning luxury treatments and relaxation. I also thank you for your wonderful praise about our two rosette Manor Restaurant where every dish is designed by our talented Executive Chef to create delicious traditional British dishes with a French influence. Finally, our aim is to create that home from home feeling and so it is always satisfying for the team to hear these efforts are noticed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
With best wishes
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Quiet and peaceful room on the first floor, spotlessly clean and comfortable and with a little balcony, not used this time but would be lovely in the better weather but still great to open the door for some fresh air. My husband enjoyed the gym and the bed was comfortable the only thing I would have prefered to have more substantial pillows they were tooooo soft! Breakfast was good too and you can order from the menu or use the buffet, personally I prefer to order mine but there was plenty of choice and the tea is excellent. There is plenty of parking and its only a short wander into the village centre, a great location for a break. Staff pleasant and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed by all the facilities and services provided. I really appreciate all your kind feedback about the cleanliness of the hotel, the food and fabulous choices on offer and our very dedicated team who are always on hand to help to ensure your stay is comfortable and that you have everything you need. I am sorry you found the pillows too soft since we do have different pillows available so if you visit again please do let us know your preference and we will be more than happy to swap your pillow to ensure you of a perfect night’s sleep. I very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, perhaps when the weather is so much better to enable you to make the most of its fabulous location in the heart of the beautiful New Forest.
With best wishes
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,115 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing