We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not child friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked on line through booking.com and rang the hotel for further information. Great location in the New Forest and ample parking. Rooms were a long walk in a modern wing overlooking a small garden and car park. Information was not easily available about prices for breakfast, which was not included in our room price, spa times and booking information and costs. The web site offered early check in and when I rang to ask it was not available. I had to ring the hotel a couple of times for information. We chose the hotel for two family birthdays and the hotel kindly put a balloon and chocolates in each room. This is not a child friendly hotel. The Spa and pool, and two of the 3 restaurants are not available to children. Basic gym and pool was 29 degrees and we found the 8pm close rather restricting with a one night stay and a 3pm check in, with a child needing to eat an early dinner. Buffet breakfast was £18 each and we were charged full price for a 3 year old, which was later removed. In hindsight probably best for couples without children.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,452)
There are newer reviews for Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 2,452 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

My partner and I decided to 'pamper' ourselves during the half term break. The hotel entrance was very charming, the fire place welcoming. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was clean, big and definitely worth the upgrade (only £10 per person from the basic room - a must!). The spa was nice and the treatments were amazing. For someone who doesn't like to stop there was a lot to do to keep me occupied and slow down and relax. Some of the communal areas do need updating, decor and furnishing especially the relaxation room. Breakfast was amazing, with lots on offer - make sure you make the most of the buffet! We would definitely go again and I would recommend staying at least 2 nights so you can really make the most of the facilities as well as the area.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the basic room to the Oakwood room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xHAPPYinHOVEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa to spend a few days of pampering and relaxation. I am delighted you enjoyed the facilities and services provided. I also really appreciate you taking the trouble to share your comments with us since we do take notice of all feedback in order to continually improve our facilities and services.

Great to hear too your recommendation to others to spend at least 2 or 3 days with us in order to make the most of our authentic Thai spa and award winning hydrotherapy facilities. The hotel’s 3 delicious dining options are also popular with guests staying for longer as well as the fact that we are located in the heart of the New Forest with plenty of beautiful walks on our doorstep, so always plenty to do here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I experienced three nights at this lovely hotel. I was a little sceptical staying at a spa hotel but what a great way to relax and escape at half term; not a child in sight! The spa facilities were good. I have to mention one of the treatments as it was quite unique and nothing like I had experienced before; the Nam Water Treatment. Guys, give it a go, very different. The gym and other spa facilities were good and three full days provided ample opportunity to use it all. Our room was a garden room, comfortable, clean, and peaceful. Three nights enabled us to sample the three restaurants. We weren't disappointed. The food, service, and ambience at each was superb, of excellent quality, and the staff very attentive. Overall this was a great escape, in a lovely part of the country, and with walks in the New Forest right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmypagekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Careys Manor & SenSpa following your recent stay. I am thrilled to read that you had a great time and that we exceeded all your expectations. I also really appreciate your recommendation to others. We are very proud to be one of the few UK hotels to provide such unique spa facilities and unrivalled treatments whilst discreetly nestled in a four-star country house hotel offering 3 delicious dining options and all in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. For many it provides the perfect escape from everyday life enabling you to completely relax, enjoy being pampered and leave feeling truly rejuvenated. I very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
With best wishes
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Careys Manor over Valentine's Day for a friend's wedding at the hotel. The hotel is very comfortable and has a very fine spa.
Due to a big storm in the evening the hotel fell victim to a power cut. Completely undeterred the staff managed the situation excellently. They even managed a full breakfast service in the morning - with no electricity!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Careys Manor & Senspa. It was indeed a particularly big storm on Friday 14th February and sadly resulted in power cuts to many establishments and households along the south coast, so I am extremely pleased to hear that the actions and efforts of the team ensured it did not spoil the wedding celebrations or your stay with us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a three night break. The room was beautiful and comfortable although the approach from the back car park was disappointing. A wonderful reception with character. The staff were superb and the food was delicious. Our only criticism is that communal areas are very tired, both in decor and furnishings. Sunday night the manor restaurant lacked ambiance, but possibly because of the lack of diners in such a large area and perhaps thought should be given to reducing sections down on such occasions. The French restaurant was our favorite! it was lively and vibrant with a fantastic host. It was a shame that all the breakfast was buffet style, not what I would expect from a hotel of this calibre, in fairness we could have asked for waitress service, but this seemed unreasonable to ask to be different. We used the pool every day and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, but again a shame the small ceiling damage had not been repaired. On the whole a wonderful few days, and Next time we would look to stay in the main house.

Room Tip: Telephone for more information on rooms rather than an on line booking.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments following your recent stay at Careys Manor & SenSpa. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful few days with us but disappointed to note that we did not quite meet all your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve the facilities and services we provide. Thank you so much for your fabulous praise about the team as we do pride ourselves on being a very special hotel with friendly and caring staff who like to do everything they can to make our guests feel welcome and appropriately looked after. Our Executive Chef will also be pleased that you were impressed with the delicious food in our two rosette Manor Restaurant since all dishes are created personally by him. Great to hear that you loved Le Blaireau. This is often a popular choice for guests who enjoy high quality French cuisine in an authentic brasserie and bar.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A retreat with no screaming children, or drunken louts banging around in the corridors, and where a spirit of manners and courteousy settles over nearly everyone who enters this wonderful sanctuary.
There are many Hotels who are either equal to, or better than Careys Manor in terms of accommodation standards, and professional service however, the actual spa itself is unparrallelled (in my opinion, and within the UK), and the overall presentation of the Hotel is right up the top (again, in terms of my opinion, having stayed 4 times over the course of one year).
The aforementioned qualities and service do however, come at a price; a price that is at least double to what Careys Manor charges, which is what makes Carey's Manor Hotel and Spa an experience that you will never forget.
The staff are nothing short of wonderful, and very accommodating, along with providing excellence of service, and giving Carey's Manor an overall feeling of "homeliness".
The relaxation rooms are exactly that: rooms where the world can be left outside, and where the mind and body can be tuned in to a more subtle frequency, leaving oneself relaxed, rejuvenated, and glowing from within.
There is nothing that comes close to the overall experience that is, Carey's Manor, and that includes the Dining experiences of the wonderfully French Le Bleireu, and the Zen Garden Thai restaurant with its resident Thai Chefs.
The treatments are beyond compare, and all I can add is: You have to experience Carey's Manor to believe it.

Room Tip: The only suggestion I can make is: speak to them regarding your wishes. I can almost guarantee that...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and for describing many of the hotel and spa’s qualities which make your stay so enjoyable. As a regular and greatly valued guest to Careys Manor & SenSpa your feedback is very important. It is always a great pleasure to have you stay with us and I’m delighted that the facilities and the services we provide continue to exceed all your expectations. Your comments about the spa are a fabulous endorsement to the multiple awards won for offering a truly unique Thai spa experience and unrivalled treatments. Having won the Good Spa Guide Awards for ‘Best Spa in the South East’ for the second year running we are now very excited to be Finalists at the World Luxury Spa Awards! Our brigade of talented Chefs will also be really pleased to hear how impressed you are with the food since all dishes served in our three dining options are created by our very own Executive Chefs. The rest of the team also take a genuine pleasure in ensuring guests’ stay is comfortable and will always aim to create that home from home feeling so it is very heart-warming to hear their efforts are once again noticed. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With kind regards
Thomas and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Probably one of the best spa settings on the south coast and provides authentic and original treatments and services. This place is definitely a jewel in the crown and makes so many people leave feeling rejuvenated! Nice and acts as a tranquility of oasis

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aniljain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest

How lovely to hear that you had a truly wonderful time experiencing our authentic Thai spa at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments with us ~ it’s brilliant to receive such superb praise and I’m delighted we exceeded all your expectations. Our unique state-of-the-art -hydrotherapy facilities and unrivalled treatments has been created to provide the perfect tranquil and rejuvenating spa retreat. Tucked away behind Careys Manor Hotel it is undeniably a hidden gem which also offers the most exquisite Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. Reading your comments I thought you may also be interested to read that last night one of our therapists was awarded Winner in the Best Therapist category at the prestigious Professional Beauty Awards held in London. Best Therapist is a much coveted award and another endorsement to the many multiple awards already won including the Good Spa Guide Awards 2013 for ‘Best Spa in the UK: South East’ and European Health & Spa Awards 2013 UK Winner of ‘Best Hotel Spa’.
We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Thomas & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,741 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £145 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing