We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be great”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

So the good - spa facilities great, clean, lots of different areas to explore and treatments great if not a little over priced. In general staff very friendly.

The average - the hotel, very confused decor, modern, old etc and the wing with the rooms off the main hotel were ok inside but corridors made you feel as though you were in a very basic motel. The rooms were fine but very over priced for what you had inside them. Bath slippers and ropes provided but clearly very basic.

The bad - The food and service in main dining room. The service in main dining room was very bad, we had to wait 30 mins to be seated, food poor and then they tried to charge us for drinks we never had. Breakfast the next day was just as poor, food ran out, stained menu's, food on walls and once again you could see chipped walls etc - it was all just below par.

So would I go back? No, better hotels with just good spa facilities at same price available. It's a shame because hotel has the potential to be great - spend some money updating and styling it guys and you could see me return.

Room Tip: Try and stay in main house if possible - garden rooms would be nice in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments with us. I was pleased to read your praise towards Senspa, our award winning spa and hydrotherapy, and that you were very impressed with the treatments. All our treatments employ Thai and Oriental techniques and are uniquely ours and we use the highest quality natural and organic products. We also value and respect guests knowing that they are at the heart of everything we do and we strive to provide all guests with the highest standards of service. I am, however, very sorry to learn of your disappointment towards the hotel and that we did not meet your expectations. There were clearly some lapses in our normal high standards of service in the restaurant which I will be raising with our Restaurant Manager. We are very grateful for all your feedback since we do pride ourselves on offering a flawless service and outstanding facilities and among our multiple awards were voted by The Independent as being one of the ‘Top 50 British Hotels in 2013’ and more recently voted ‘Best Spa Hotel in the South’ in the 2013 Good Spa Guide Awards. The aim of so many of these awards is to encourage and raise service standards within the hotel industry with voting based on facilities and service excellence and, most importantly, is cast by hotel guests. If you do ever plan to return, please contact me directly beforehand and I will be happy to assist with your booking to ensure your experience of the hotel is a far greater success.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    597
    231
    89
    45
See reviews for
214
1,449
49
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Parts of this hotel are excellent, such as the better rooms, the spa facilities, the location, and the buffet breakfast. My advice would be to eat out rather than in for dinner however in the evening. The main restaurant was extremely over-priced and ideal if you are NOT hungry due to the minute portions. We tried the Thai restaurant on our second night and the food was excellent the service was shocking and again in our opinion double priced. When we came to checkout 2 spa treatments we cancelled still appeared on the bill. Mixed experiences here to be honest, very good and very bad. We felt a bit ripped off for value. I would go back, but would eat in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked on line through booking.com and rang the hotel for further information. Great location in the New Forest and ample parking. Rooms were a long walk in a modern wing overlooking a small garden and car park. Information was not easily available about prices for breakfast, which was not included in our room price, spa times and booking information and costs. The web site offered early check in and when I rang to ask it was not available. I had to ring the hotel a couple of times for information. We chose the hotel for two family birthdays and the hotel kindly put a balloon and chocolates in each room. This is not a child friendly hotel. The Spa and pool, and two of the 3 restaurants are not available to children. Basic gym and pool was 29 degrees and we found the 8pm close rather restricting with a one night stay and a 3pm check in, with a child needing to eat an early dinner. Buffet breakfast was £18 each and we were charged full price for a 3 year old, which was later removed. In hindsight probably best for couples without children.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My partner and I decided to 'pamper' ourselves during the half term break. The hotel entrance was very charming, the fire place welcoming. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was clean, big and definitely worth the upgrade (only £10 per person from the basic room - a must!). The spa was nice and the treatments were amazing. For someone who doesn't like to stop there was a lot to do to keep me occupied and slow down and relax. Some of the communal areas do need updating, decor and furnishing especially the relaxation room. Breakfast was amazing, with lots on offer - make sure you make the most of the buffet! We would definitely go again and I would recommend staying at least 2 nights so you can really make the most of the facilities as well as the area.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the basic room to the Oakwood room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xHAPPYinHOVEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa to spend a few days of pampering and relaxation. I am delighted you enjoyed the facilities and services provided. I also really appreciate you taking the trouble to share your comments with us since we do take notice of all feedback in order to continually improve our facilities and services.

Great to hear too your recommendation to others to spend at least 2 or 3 days with us in order to make the most of our authentic Thai spa and award winning hydrotherapy facilities. The hotel’s 3 delicious dining options are also popular with guests staying for longer as well as the fact that we are located in the heart of the New Forest with plenty of beautiful walks on our doorstep, so always plenty to do here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I experienced three nights at this lovely hotel. I was a little sceptical staying at a spa hotel but what a great way to relax and escape at half term; not a child in sight! The spa facilities were good. I have to mention one of the treatments as it was quite unique and nothing like I had experienced before; the Nam Water Treatment. Guys, give it a go, very different. The gym and other spa facilities were good and three full days provided ample opportunity to use it all. Our room was a garden room, comfortable, clean, and peaceful. Three nights enabled us to sample the three restaurants. We weren't disappointed. The food, service, and ambience at each was superb, of excellent quality, and the staff very attentive. Overall this was a great escape, in a lovely part of the country, and with walks in the New Forest right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmypagekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Careys Manor & SenSpa following your recent stay. I am thrilled to read that you had a great time and that we exceeded all your expectations. I also really appreciate your recommendation to others. We are very proud to be one of the few UK hotels to provide such unique spa facilities and unrivalled treatments whilst discreetly nestled in a four-star country house hotel offering 3 delicious dining options and all in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. For many it provides the perfect escape from everyday life enabling you to completely relax, enjoy being pampered and leave feeling truly rejuvenated. I very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
With best wishes
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Careys Manor over Valentine's Day for a friend's wedding at the hotel. The hotel is very comfortable and has a very fine spa.
Due to a big storm in the evening the hotel fell victim to a power cut. Completely undeterred the staff managed the situation excellently. They even managed a full breakfast service in the morning - with no electricity!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay at Careys Manor & Senspa. It was indeed a particularly big storm on Friday 14th February and sadly resulted in power cuts to many establishments and households along the south coast, so I am extremely pleased to hear that the actions and efforts of the team ensured it did not spoil the wedding celebrations or your stay with us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a three night break. The room was beautiful and comfortable although the approach from the back car park was disappointing. A wonderful reception with character. The staff were superb and the food was delicious. Our only criticism is that communal areas are very tired, both in decor and furnishings. Sunday night the manor restaurant lacked ambiance, but possibly because of the lack of diners in such a large area and perhaps thought should be given to reducing sections down on such occasions. The French restaurant was our favorite! it was lively and vibrant with a fantastic host. It was a shame that all the breakfast was buffet style, not what I would expect from a hotel of this calibre, in fairness we could have asked for waitress service, but this seemed unreasonable to ask to be different. We used the pool every day and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, but again a shame the small ceiling damage had not been repaired. On the whole a wonderful few days, and Next time we would look to stay in the main house.

Room Tip: Telephone for more information on rooms rather than an on line booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments following your recent stay at Careys Manor & SenSpa. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful few days with us but disappointed to note that we did not quite meet all your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve the facilities and services we provide. Thank you so much for your fabulous praise about the team as we do pride ourselves on being a very special hotel with friendly and caring staff who like to do everything they can to make our guests feel welcome and appropriately looked after. Our Executive Chef will also be pleased that you were impressed with the delicious food in our two rosette Manor Restaurant since all dishes are created personally by him. Great to hear that you loved Le Blaireau. This is often a popular choice for guests who enjoy high quality French cuisine in an authentic brasserie and bar.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing