We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a business meeting for 10 and dinner for 20 with an over night stay. The meeting room was superb very light with a door out to the garden that made our coffee breaks more refreshing. the working lunch was simple but right on the mark and the sweet bar kept everybody energized for the afternoon session. Dinner was 6 courses of delight with the stand out being the Venison. the service was amazing. The accommodation is modern and all the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Effyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. I am delighted the facilities and services we provided exceeded your expectations and that your business meeting, dinner and overnight stay was a huge success. Your feedback is a great endorsement to being voted The Independent’s ‘Top 50 UK Business Hotel’ in 2013 and also being shortlisted in the 2013 Conference Venue & Suppliers Awards for ‘Best Venue Customer Service (under 300 delegates)’ & ‘Best Hotel Conference Venue.’ Thank you also for describing all the highlights of your stay and what impressed you most. I will be passing your kind praise on to the team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future either visiting for business or leisure.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,437
    616
    236
    90
    46
See reviews for
227
1,504
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time and the first night we dined in the Thai restaurant and the second night was in The Manor restaurant.
Food was outstanding in both.
Staff here are very friendly and service was great.
Used the Zen Spa twice and loved it.
We had a Garden room which was very nice and a good size.
Only one criticism and that concerned the lack of draught beer in the bar and having to pay £4.75 for a small bottle of beer !!!!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 421b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the trouble to share your comments following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. I am delighted that you had a wonderful time with us and to read all your fabulous feedback about our unique state-of-the-art spa and how much you enjoyed dining in The Zen Garden and The Manor Restaurant. I am pleased that you also found your room to be attractively decorated, comfortable and spacious. Your kind words that the team are very friendly and the service excellent are also really appreciated and I will be very happy to share these with them as they constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and will be delighted to hear these efforts are noticed.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Nice room all the usual facilities you would expect. Spa nice but bit busy during afternoon. As other reviews have stated, some communal areas could do with an update. The staff and welcome in reception was exceptional..nothing was too much trouble. Evening meal was good value and very well presented. Will return..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trafficboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for kind feedback following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. I am delighted you enjoyed your room and found it provided everything you needed to ensure you of a comfortable and relaxing stay. Your kind words about the team are terrific and I will be sharing these with them. Our Executive Chef will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed his special Winter Warmer Menu celebrating the seasons’s offerings and, in particular, your kind comments about the quality and presentation of the food exceeding your expectations. March’s Special ‘Winter Dining Break’ offering full B&B, complimentary dinner at one of our three fabulous restaurants and complimentary use of our leisure facilities was a popular choice for many guests.
I very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great place for a spa break - good food, fantastic spa and superb level of service. The spa area has got a wide range of facilities - some quite fun like the experience showers and some very relaxing like the tepidarium - with advice on how to get the best of what's on offer. It is larger than I've seen in other spas - particularly the hydrotherapy pool.

The food was very good in the Thai restaurant and the Manor hotel and service was excellent in both. Dinner in the manor is quite formal, but very relaxing and there are a range of meat and vegetarian dishes. There is also a very relaxing lounge / bar with log fire. Breakfast was also very good.

I've stayed here three times and feel the mix of the Thai spa and the traditional hotel work very well, providing a contrast when you've spent the day in the spa. The staff are very keen to make the stay enjoyable and as relaxing as possible.

It is worth ringing rather than booking online as it gives an opportunity to go through what you are looking for and then staff help find the best price / come up with a deal. It also enables booking the restaurant / treatments etc. so you don't have to think about anything when you get there and know exactly what to expect. The food is a little on the expensive side and so it's worth doing this to get the best package.

I am booking to go back again.

Room Tip: I've always gone for the Oakwood rooms on the ground floor that open up onto a garden. Found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobC256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa to spend another Spa Break with us. I am delighted we once again exceeded expectations and you had a lovely relaxing time enjoying our facilities and services provided. I really appreciate you taking the trouble to describe so many of the wonderful aspects of our award winning authentic Thai spa and hydrotherapy and for your kind comments about the delicious food in the Zen Garden Restaurant and The Manor Restaurant. As a regular and much valued guest your feedback is very important to us. Your recommendation to others is also really appreciated and very good advice to anyone planning a stay with us as our team are always very happy to talk through all the options and treatments available and best suited to someone.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Careys Manor & SenSpa soon.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent all round can not fault anything on our weekend stay hotel facilities brilliant food spar&swimming pool great hotel bedroom very good hotel surroundings lovely staff very well trained and polite throughout our stay there is nothing else I can add ..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank margav61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa and that we exceeded all your expectations. Thank you for choosing us as the venue to spend the special occasion of your birthday. I really appreciate all your kind feedback which I think is a wonderful testament to the many awards we have won in both the hotel and the spa. These awards could not have been achieved without our very dedicated team who are always on hand to help ensure your stay is comfortable and that you have everything you need.
It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us and I very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A well run hotel with professional staff always on hand to help with advice.
Hotel rooms are ok but nothing special usual 3-4 star hotel standard.

Hotel in places is a bit dated in places , corridors look like they could do with a lick of paint

Nice swimming pool and gym area, though be aware if you dont have the spa break package you will have to pay around £20 each to use the quiet room or addtial spa facilites.

Restuarants located on site are very good and welcolming book in advance though otherwise you may be disapointed.

Couple of negative points

Booking in

We got there at 2.30 and where told they had a strict 3pm book in policy, so we sat in the car in an Empty car park for 30 minutes for the price you pay suprised a complemtery cofffe service issnt on offer whilst you wait in the bar area, and then at 3 had to queue with everyone else who had obviously been told the same policy.

Breakfast.

Excellent staff welcolming and friendly and professinal , but the breafast , good choice but why oh why cant a hotel of this standard get the cooked buffet breakfast hot, luke warm sausages and bacon and nearly cold mushrooms, i can never understand how a Priemier inn can provide a red hot buffet breakfast and the up market hotel cant

Depite these 2 issues an overal good experience but expensive

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpfc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and found the rooms to be of a good standard. Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurants. We are very fortunate to be able to offer three delicious dining options which are very different to each other and provide the guest with a choice from authentic Thai, traditional British and French cuisine. We do offer Spa Breaks and Zen Spa Escape Breaks which include full access to our award winning and state of the art hydrotherapy spa facilities with overnight accommodation and fine dining all included. I really appreciate your kind comments about how excellent our team of staff are and especially how you noticed their efforts to provide a very welcoming, friendly and professional service.
I am however very sorry our hotel did not meet all your expectations. We do listen to all guest feedback both positive and negative and I will be raising the frustrations you mention with both our Head Receptionist and our Restaurant Manager to ensure these rare situations and lapses of service do not occur again.
I very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel looks beautiful from the front, but as other guests have commented, it seems that certain areas could do with updating - communal hallways, carpets in dining areas etc.

The room itself was ok, on the 2nd floor of the manor house. I would suggest it would be comparable to a Travel Lodge style room, possibly slightly larger.

The Spa was sensational, and despite being very expensive for treatments compared to other local establishments was worth the extra cost. Both of our beauty therapists were incredibly helpful and made us feel very relaxed during massages.

The food was good, but not worth the prices asked for two reasons (in my opinion)
1. Manor Restaurant is not really a restaurant, more a function / wedding room within the hotel. Tired carpets, lack of character in the room, and general ambience not fitting for a restaurant where you can expect to pay £125 for a meal for two with wine.
2. Service, whilst good and homely, would certainly not compare with eating a top restaurant.

Breakfast is served in the same room, and is a buffet style affair, which again, is no different to many I've sampled before.

I suppose the reason I've been critical is due to the pricing, and the expectation of something that little bit better for the money it costs to stay and dine here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to share your comments following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that our award winning spa exceeded all your expectations. SenSpa is fast becoming renowned for offering a memorable authentic Thai spa experience embodying the Thai attributes of exceptional customer service delivered with warmth and grace. Our fabulous therapists who undergo two months training to deliver treatments that are uniquely ours will be delighted to hear your kind praise. I am, however, very sorry that our hotel did not meet all your expectations. We do listen to all guest feedback, both positive and negative, and we will take on board your comments and work to enhance everything we do to ensure our guests a perfect stay with us. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and also found the food to be good. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Careys Manor & SenSpa in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,720 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing