We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cream tea is delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Cream tea is delightful”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Went with our family and friends and were treated to a wonderful afternoon cream tea on the patio. The staff were attentive and the food very good. Well worth a visit. Made our day. Not cheap but good value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    607
    235
    90
    45
See reviews for
222
1,483
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been staying at Careys Manor for the last 14 years and would never consider going anywhere else. If you appreciate 5 star service and surroundings you will not be disappointed. This is the ONLY place to stay in the New Forest!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I treated my parents to a 2 night spa and hotel get-away to Careys Manor. They have just got back and absolutely loved it! They said they were well looked after! When they walked up to the hotel, they were greeted by extremely helpful staff who took their luggage to their room. For no reason they were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the garden! My mum kept saying that it was excellent and couldn't fault anyone! My dad also had a fabulous time. They enjoyed the walks and the spa and the Thai restaurant ! Thank you for looking after my parents! I am SO happy they had a great time!!!!! They would definitely go back!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Renatta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just spent two nights here with an old friend from the States and had a really great time. The staff were lovely upon check-in and parked my car for me after showing us to our room. The room wasn't huge, but nice and clean. It looked out onto a small fountain and pergola type thing with beautiful wisteria hanging all over. The bath and shower were nice. We ate our first night's dinner in the Thai place, Zen Garden and it was very delicious. They had said gluten-free wasn't a problem when I booked and then the waiter seemed a bit unsure of what I was talking about and I think there may have been soya sauce on the broccoli and garlic even though we specified not to have it. This could have been a serious error if the case, but I admit, I didn't say anything and just enjoyed the other dishes he had said were gluten-free like the pad thai and green curry. I just hope they were indeed gluten-free! I don't always have a reaction, but it's not good for me anyway. At any rate, I really enjoyed the dinner if a bit unsure.

Breakfast was included in the rate and pretty good. I don't love a buffet, but most of the items were of good quality- free-range New Forest meats and some yummy muesli mix (I had seeds, fruit and yoghurt), but the eggs and hashbrowns didn't seem special. Decent coffee. We spent the day at Exbury Gardens which was absolutely gorgeous (thought not at all related to this hotel, but a nice drive away).

We spent the early evening at the spa and it was really lovely. The hydrotherapy pool, once we figured out there were loads of buttons along the side to make the jets work, was great. The crystal steam room was lovely and the sensory showers were like nothing I've done before. Also, the tepidarium was something new and a nice way to dry out before returning to the pool. I loved the huge crystal in the steam room and all the star-like lights around. Beautiful.

We meant to make it out of the hotel for dinner, but were tired, so went to the French bistro. We ordered a bottle of wine, but they didn't have it. However, the waiter recommended another that was lovely. Our meals were traditional French and though not totally amazing, were very yummy and made with free-range, organic and/or local foods, which was, again, appreciated.

So, yes, we really enjoyed ourselves and though I usually like to try new places, I would definitely go back again. It's not cheap, but to try to go somewhere else of comparable quality, there only seemed to be even nicer places that were much more expensive or places that didn't seem nearly as nice at all and were almost as expensive. So it seemed a surprisingly good value for money for the standard of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

An enjoyable 2 night stay in a comfortable room, but we would expect more for the price. We were surprised that bathroom toiletries were not replenished when the room was serviced on the morning of Day 2, There was no turn down service in the evenings, no chocolate on the pillow touch here. Newspapers, other than the Independent were chargeable, no mini bar etc. Breakfast was pleasant but no omelette chef, no cold meats other than salami and little bread choice (no rolls). Our room suffered badly from noise from the room above - we could hear their TV and footsteps all night - along with their laughter and conversation.
Most staff were very helpful, save the Duty Manager who was not helpful regarding our complaint about the overhead noise. The Manager has subsequently offered us a 50% rate reduction and free bottle of bubbly if we return, but I suspect we will find other better value places instead, there are plenty around!
We ate in the Manor and the Zen Garden restaurants, both meals were very nicely prepared and served and very tasty, but again quite pricey.

Room Tip: Don't have a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

From the first minute to the last we did not meet one member of staff who were anything but smiling and helpful; from check in through housekeeping to restaurant. Some more expensive hotels exude an air of aloofness but certainly not this lovely place. Nothing is too much trouble and this feels very much like a home from home. My only advice is to be careful not to get too comfortable and stay inside - the area is so beautiful remember to go out and explore it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highexpectati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for two nights over the weekend with a couple of friends. Our room was clean and roomy though lacked a minibar fridge or coat hooks on the wall. We experienced all three restaurants and would highly recommend the Zen and main restaurant where the food was of a very high standard. The hotel is a bit warren-like but this did not detract from the spa experience which was great fun and well worth the money. The hydrotherapy pool and saunas were fab and the treatments of a good standard. There is something for everybody there. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,801 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing