We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location. OK, but expensive for standard of the hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely location. OK, but expensive for standard of the hotel.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I was staying for a work conference, so didn't get to use the spa, however, I felt that the standards of decor, food etc were not to the standard I would expect for the typical room rate, which was £169 per night according to trivago.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EmCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent comment.

I was sorry to learn that on this occasion you felt the Hotel did not meet the standards that you expected. It is through such feedback that helps our business to progress and move forward so that we may satisfy all our guests’ expectations in the future.

I very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future where perhaps you may make use of SenSpa and all that is available at Careys.

With kind regards

Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,421
    608
    236
    90
    45
See reviews for
223
1,486
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dibden Purlieu, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Why? Because it is a beautiful setting, great rooms and a fabulous Spa. The staff are genuinely friendly and do their best to help and the restaurants are excellent.
When I have raised the slightest concerns in feedback, they have been noted and acted upon by the manager. You can't ask for better service than that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robrat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us in The New Forest. All feedback is vitally important and is always reviewed as we strive for an ever evolving guest experience.

With Kind Regards

Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa for a one night spa break. The SenSpa was lovely, would highly recommend the spa but only if you pay to enter the Hydrotherapy area.
Lots of different rooms and areas to explore and relax in. We both enjoyed our treatments, a hot stone massage and a full body massage. Both therapists were extremely professional and talented. The hotel location is lovely and feels like a real getaway. The room we stayed in was very old fashioned but was nice overall.
I was very disappointed with the restaurant. We had dinner in the Zen Garden. Food was massively overpriced and quite clearly microwaved. Not enjoyable. The waiter who served us made us feel uncomfortable and was not very welcoming.

The breakfast the next day was nice - well organised and good quality food.

Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langley2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay here at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa. Our Thai Chefs and the waiting staff in the Zen Garden are renowned for their exquisite Thai cuisine; I am however on this occasion saddened that they did not meet your requirements. I can however assure you that all cuisine is cooked fresh to order.

Thank you also for mentioning the highlights of your stay. I will pass your kind comments onto the team who all take a genuine interest in our guests to ensure their stay is comfortable and relaxing. I very much hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great time on a 3 night break here. Staff were lovely, hotel facilities are great, and food at all three restaurants was excellent. We went on some beautiful walks in the forest, direct from the door of the hotel and spent the rest of the time relaxing in the spa and hotel grounds. Staff in the Thai restaurant were exceptionally friendly (they did see us all three days for breakfast and lunch!) and food was delicious.
The hotel room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and nice view out the window. My only comment would be that the bathroom could do with upgrading - it looks like a hotel bathroom from the 90s (no problem with functionality) whilst the furniture and decor in the bedroom looked much more modern and new.
We'd definitely come back to Carey's Manor - either for a 1 night stay if there was a good deal on last minute, or more likely to book for another couple of nights in the future, knowing we were going to get such good quality and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and value your feedback greatly. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stopping one night on business made me think I should return for a leisure break. Ideal for a spa visit on the edge of the new forest and 15 mins from the coast there is plenty to do and see. It's not cheap but it is top class.

Room Tip: I know room 58 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again, be it on Business or Leisure.

Kind Regards
Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Overnight stay pre cruise. The most friendly helpful staff. Good bistro. Good breakfast. Lovely setting. Nice from overlooking garden.One bad point. No draft beers or lagers in hotel. How can that be? £12 for a pint of bottled cider and paint of bottled ale doesn't go down well with northerners!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We hope you had a most fabulous cruise. We are currently considering our options as to what offering should be made in draught beer. We hope to have draught available in the near future.

Kind Regards

Thomas & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our fifth visit to Carey's Manor and where I chose to go for a big birthday away from it all. We were greeted on arrival by jovial porter Ray who settled us in and parked our car. The room in the manor house was small, slightly tired looking, but as good as always, with great toiletries and everything one would wish to have in a room. The food is always excellent in whatever restaurant you choose. We particularly like the Zen Thai restaurant where the food is exceptional and I was greeted with birthday chocolates. The Manor Restaurant is lovely too, very traditional with an extensive menu, beautifully cooked and presented. The breakfasts served in the Manor restaurant are the best ever - one couldn't wish for anything more.
The service throughout the hotel is second to none - no way could it be improved!
Carey's Manor has the most perfect spa and pool and is for me the icing on the cake. The pool area is superb, the water just the right temperature and it sparkles like diamonds. There's also a sauna, steam room and a large Jacuzzi too. The highlight for me is the Hydrotherapy suite where the showers replicate thunder and lightening and rainstorms from around the world from tropical to ice cold - there's even snow if you need cooling down! The hydrotherapy pool itself is the best in the area with bubbles and air beds beneath the water to unknot tired muscles and relieve stressed shoulders and neck. It's perfect. So far I have not experienced the treatment room but I have every confidence in saying that I am sure the treatments are superb.
We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We like staying in the Manor House itself but the beds are only 4'6" which is smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTFDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,703 reviews
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,807 reviews
5.7 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
349 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Property: Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing