We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day was amazing!”
Review of New Park Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Park Manor
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 3 June 2012

For my birthday my wonderful friends had booked us a surprise 28th birthday spa day at the New Park Manor Spa and I'm so glad that they did! I had never been to a spa before and would love to go back to this one and try out others too. The spa was beautiful, modern, serene, clean and classy. The indoor pool was perfect, large, clean and the views of the surrounding New Forest countryside is just amazing. There are two saunas and steam room, an indoor hot tub and a hydrotherapy lay down hot tub, all are clean and modern. There is one Canadian hot tub outside on the terrace, there was about 7 other people outside on the sun loungers and we think the Spa would benefit by having a second outdoor hot tub. Three of us had a 30min back and shoulder massage, and one of my friends had a file and polish. There were two beauty therapists that day each carrying out two treatments each. The girl who carried out the massage for myself and my friend was great, the massage was perfect and 30 mins long. The other girl was rushing to finish her shift we think, the massage she did for my sister was rushed and the manicure finish for my other friend was poor, the nail colour was smudged and not applied properly, that was a shame. Regardless of two of the treatments not being up to standard our Spa day was close to perfect and I would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KirstyBobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Lovely hotel and the spa was just amazing! However i cannot understand the shower facilites. The roof over the bath was sloped so never mind by 6 ft boyfriend being able to stand up, but i'm only 5 ft and I wasn't even able to, never mind the fact that the shower head wouldnt have stretched that far anyway. Agree with other reviewers that showering in the spa is the way to go, unless your leaving at 6.30am departre and the spa is not yet open.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel as we were visiting Peppa Pig World for my son's third birthday and had seen that the hotel had been taken over by a child friendly hotel group. Stayed in room number 1 which was a lovely suite with a lot of space. Even if some of the room (in particular the bathroom) was a little tired, i would caution the new owners against modernising too much. The whole point in staying in a hotel which is hundreds of years old is that the floorboards should squeak and the plumbing should be a little unreliable. I would hate to come back to find Next wallpaper and ikea furniture everywhere! It was a very hot day and so sleep was a little disturbed (But anyone who complains about a lack of aircon in a building like this wants shooting!!) The food was excellent, the staff were always helpful (Steve, Lee, Claire and evrybody else) and the little one was very well looked after (including a birthday cake made by the hotel delivered to our table at breakfast with all the staff singing him a Happy Birthday). There are indoor and outdoor pools as well as lots of toys for little people. Will definitely be back but hope that the new owners modernise it in keeping with the property's history.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodyTwoShoes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed with my wife for a Sunday night getaway-from-it-all. We were relieved to find that the hotel is set back nearly a half mile from the busy main road. Although the access road passes through a busy equestrian centre the hotel stands quietly in its own beautiful grounds. An initial hiccup over an email request was quickly solved by Claire on reception who looked after us very well from there on.

We stayed on the first floor in a smallish but very nice room with an absolutely lovely view over the gardens into the forest pastures beyond where we could see horses and deer. House Martins building a nest above our widow frame were a constant source of amusement. The room is in a traditional style which lent it character that you don't find in modern hotels. The tea and coffee making facility in the room was the best we've ever seen! OK the shower over the bath wasn't very good and paint was peeling around the windowsills outside but it was very clean and comfortable. And although we really missed a full length mirror overall we were very pleased with our room.

The main communal rooms were all furnished to a high standard with nice decor and classic looking oil paintings galore.

The evening meal and breakfast were very good. The restaurant seems rather quiet, even the toddlers having meals were good as gold or maybe subdued by the atmosphere! There were certainly plenty of things for small children to play with in the gardens.

The most memorable feature of our stay was of tranquility which was just what we wanted for our short break and if that is what you are after then we can thoroughly recommend New Park Manor

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I visited the hotel and Spa this week and had a really relaxing time. Claire on reception was extremely helpful and looked after us very well during our meal in the Lounge. I also visited the Spa where Maria was also really friendly and helpful.
Great service and had a great time

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and altho there were a few hiccups in the room the staff more than made up for it! Claire Field in particular was simply outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for her!
We had children for our afternoon tea party and the creche was great for them...the member of staff in there was fabulous! All the staff in this hotel were exceptional! If you are looking for a forest get-away with a spa and want to take your kids then this is it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. The hotel, spa and it's grounds are all without exception great. From the moment we saw the building, we could tell it was well looked after. The hotel, rooms, lounges, bars and restaurant are superbly turned out and the staff were helpful beyond the call of duty. We ate in the restaurant the first night and were rewarded with very high quality food, wine and coffee. The spa was clean, well maintained and never short of towels or fresh water. The outdoor hottub was brilliant.
We walked to Lyndhurst to eat one evening but couldn't find a taxi for the journey. I called the hotel and a cab was arranged to pick us up in a couple of minutes.
A first rate destination whose management clearly think of what their guests want instead of waiting to be asked like most places.
Also, proper filter coffee in the room is a cut above.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveandkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,813 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,988 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
4.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Park Manor

Address: New Park Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £100 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Park Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Park Manor, a luxury family and dog friendly spa hotel in the New Forest. Relax in our spa, play croquet on the lawn, enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or some family time in our gardens. New Park Manor offers the perfect destination for anyone wishing to explore and appreciate the unique mosaic of woodland, heathland and wetland that comprise the ancient landscape of the New Forest. The New Forest, Britain's most popular national park, was created by William the Conqueror in 1079 as a royal hunting area. In 1611, King Charles II chose New Park Manor as his favourite hunting lodge and his royal coat of arms is still displayed prominently above the fireplace in our award-winning Stag Restaurant. New Park Manor was carefully adapted for use as a country house hotel with 25 bedrooms and opened in 1970. Interesting details such as acorns and oak leaf patterned doors and original furniture and fireplaces can still be seen throughout the building. These commemorate the debt owed by King Charles to the oak tree which hid him from Cromwell's men on his escape to France in 1651. Today, New Park Manor is a beautiful, stylish country hotel, where the traditions of days gone by still live on and many original features can still be seen around the hotel. Bedrooms range from the splendor of our Muntjac our signature Family Suite to the contemporary style of our Forest rooms. Over recent years, our facilities have expanded to include a heated outdoor pool, croquet lawn, and our award-winning Spa which included a heated indoor pool and outdoor Canadian hot tub overlooking the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your New Park Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Park Manor Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel New Park Manor
New Park Manor Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing