We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best family hotel we have ever visited”
Review of New Park Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Park Manor
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Travelling with two small boys (5 years and 2 years) plus a dog and without a husband was causing me some anxiety prior to our weekend at New Park Manor. It was however, such a fantastic experience. The staff were so welcoming to all members of the family, they were entirely at ease with noisy, busy boys and difficult dogs. We were made to feel very at home on every level. The food was good, the childrens' menu had a great selection and the spa was modern, extremely clean and smart. The kids club was very popular with the boys and there was so much to do outside and in the games room we didn't even get to use the cinema room.

Nothing was too much for the staff and their attitude to service was impeccable. I am currently booking our second weekend there and thoroughly looking forward to it, in particular the Sunday morning when your children are collected from your room and taken for breakfast, affording you a luxurious lazy morning. I am not sure there is another hotel on the planet that welcomes and looks after your children (and dogs) to the extent that New Park Manor does.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi there, thank your for taking the time to write your review and I'm so pleased that you all had a great time with us. I'm even more pleased that you have just booked to come back and see us for your birthday very soon! Daisy can't wait to see Tatty and have some garden fun and runs too. See you soon.
Steve & the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for the weekend whilst attending the Goodwood Revival and the Southampton Boatshow.

It's a lovely location set well back from the main road between Lyndhurst and Brockenhurst in the New Forest. The grounds are well presented, nice place for a gentle stroll around.

The rooms are split into two areas, the new building or the old. Having looked at the newer rooms, they are a bit too "travel lodge" for my liking, the older rooms have much more character.

Last time we stayed we had a lovely four poster room, this time we had a cheaper room, that had the basin in the bed room, with a bath and wc in the ensuite (no shower). Room quite small, but adequate - just a bit over priced at £220 per night.

The real let down for us was the standard of service in the restaurant. The waiters just didn't seem to know what they were doing; I ordered poached egg and kippers for breakfast, the waiter returned from the kitchen and apologized that they didn't have any capers left! When the kippers came there was one kipper filet (artificial dye) with one egg. My partner order fried eggs and black pudding, came with two eggs (as requested) but with half a slice of black pudding and half a small tomato - this is just cheap.

My partner ordered roast vegetables with cured meats the first evening for dinner - on the plate was some roast aubergine, two slices of salami and two slices of chorizo (cut with an axe by the look of it). Not very good. Although when we complained they gave her free eggs benedict for breakfast the next day.

In summary, the service was very friendly, just a little incompetent. The restaurant a bit complacent, and the whole lot a bit overpriced. This is a shame - we stayed here a couple of years ago and it was much better.

We didn't use the attached spa this time, a couple of years ago it was very good, we especially enjoyed the couples mud treatment...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read that there was an issue with service. As I understand it, the dish that you ordered was a starter which was why it came in the portion size that it did but I am pleased to hear that the team rectified the issue for you. I am sorry to read that you feel that our new rooms are not to your liking but would like to assure you that our design team have worked hard to produce a high quality room, bringing in pieces from Italy to compliment the decor.
Best wishes
Steve & the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel as one of a party celebrating a 50th birthday. We had such a lovely time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the dinner in the chef's dining room, which followed the prosecco in the hot tub, was delicious. Breakfast was lovely, such a treat to read the paper and not have to rush off. I had a back, shoulder and neck massage in the spa which was wonderful. We were not even aware that there were children in the hotel (we had left ours at home) as they are entertained in the den or cinema, there is plenty of room for everyone and it really just feels like a lovely home, very welcoming and relaxing.

Thank you to all of the staff who made our stay so lovely. We'll be back!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Hollojelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hi there, I'm so glad that you all had a great time with us, it was a real pleasure to have you all stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the lovely spa and dining the Chefs private dining room. Hope you can all come back and see us again soon.
Steve and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Booked at very late notice, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff at this lovely hotel. Furthermore, they upgraded us on arrival which was a very nice gesture. The hotel itself is very well equipped and and carefully accommodates for both families with children and couples. The Spa is amazing and they have two swimming pools. This is the most luxurious dog friendly hotel we've come across, as it seems to be very hard to find hotels of a high standard to accept pets. Steve and his team are a tremendous asset to the business as they all went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay....and not to forget to mention, the delightful Daisy, lady whippet of the manor.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhunter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Hi, I'm really pleased to read that you had a great time with us. Thanks for the great feedback too, I will be sure to pass it on to the team. Hope you get chance to come back and see us again soon.
Best wishes
Steve & the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay, a rare experience for us to holiday without any kids and it was a real treat. Loved the chance to swim each evening in the Spa pool, before dining in the hotel. Stag menu the first night, a cut above our usual dining experience, sumptuous food. Had a lounge menu main the second night and it was prepared and presented with the same care, another delicious treat and the chef was willing to share one of his secrets on getting it cooked to perfection. Found the staff friendly and helpful throughout, with the manager setting the example by greeting guests and ensuring all was running smoothly. Our room was the basic double under the roof in the old part of the building, some quirky slopes to the roof and floorboards as befits the age of the house, very compact, but adequate to the task with a comfortable bed and crisp cotton sheets. The excellent weather and Spa facilities meant we didn't need to spend more time in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Hi Andrew,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I'm really pleased that you had a great time with us, and hope that you can pop back to see us again soon, may be even with the kids next time!
Best wishes
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My daughter held her wedding at the hotel on 1/9/12. It was the most fantastic day, the hotel and staff were brilliant, lovely people who could NOT have been more helpful if they tried. They did my daughter proud.
We had the ceremony, the wedding breakfast, the evening party, we stayed overnight then had breakfast the following morning, everything was top class, I would give them top marks for everything.
I would like to add a very big thank you to everyone for making my daughter, my son in law and everyone elses day perfect. Oh and also a big thank you for making Farleigh's (my dogs) weekend great fun, he was exhausted for days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCB738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Hi Mrs Bowden. Thanks so much for your lovely comments. I think that we all enjoyed the day as much as you all did too. It was such a pleasure to have you all here and a real privileged to be part of the big day. Lee didn't stop smiling all day and all night......I only just managed to stop him wearing a cordless microphone! Glad the dogs had a great time too, Daisy was pleased to make some new friends and have someone to run around with for while! Make sure you all come back and see us soon.
Steve & the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just got back from a short break at the New Forest. We had a Forest room bed breakfast and evening meal. The rooms are not huge once you add a Zbed but we were hardly in the room. Nice decoration , could do with air con as it got a little hot at night.

We had a great time and all the staff were very friendly. The ladies at The Den looked after my daughter for couple hours Friday, Saturday and then Sunday morning they picked her up at 8am so us parents could have a lazy breakfast. We used the indoor pool both days and our daughter could join us from 3pm till 6pm . Evening meals were very nice and great selection of wine. This place is not cheap but I thought we got great value for money.
The grounds are well looked after and its a nice base to explore the wonderful forest

Would stay again and recomend to friends/family

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Hi there. I'm really pleased to read that you all had such a lovely time with us. Hope you get chance to come back and see us again soon.
Best wishes,
Steve and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,800 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
837 reviews
5.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
4.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Park Manor

Address: New Park Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £105 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Park Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Park Manor, a luxury family and dog friendly spa hotel in the New Forest. Relax in our spa, play croquet on the lawn, enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or some family time in our gardens. New Park Manor offers the perfect destination for anyone wishing to explore and appreciate the unique mosaic of woodland, heathland and wetland that comprise the ancient landscape of the New Forest. The New Forest, Britain's most popular national park, was created by William the Conqueror in 1079 as a royal hunting area. In 1611, King Charles II chose New Park Manor as his favourite hunting lodge and his royal coat of arms is still displayed prominently above the fireplace in our award-winning Stag Restaurant. New Park Manor was carefully adapted for use as a country house hotel with 25 bedrooms and opened in 1970. Interesting details such as acorns and oak leaf patterned doors and original furniture and fireplaces can still be seen throughout the building. These commemorate the debt owed by King Charles to the oak tree which hid him from Cromwell's men on his escape to France in 1651. Today, New Park Manor is a beautiful, stylish country hotel, where the traditions of days gone by still live on and many original features can still be seen around the hotel. Bedrooms range from the splendor of our Muntjac our signature Family Suite to the contemporary style of our Forest rooms. Over recent years, our facilities have expanded to include a heated outdoor pool, croquet lawn, and our award-winning Spa which included a heated indoor pool and outdoor Canadian hot tub overlooking the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your New Park Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Park Manor Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel New Park Manor
New Park Manor Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing